We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!!!!”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

we stayed here visiting family in the area and couldn't be happier that we did. the staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and had all the basics you would need. it was very hot in the room but we didn't mind as the weather was so good and because of this we made great use of all the facilities on offer, I went to the spa and relaxed while the kids were at the kids club and hubby went for a swim, perfect!! we have already booked to go back next summer and got a discount.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    243
    63
    18
    7
See reviews for
228
134
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

When checking in, asked how our room was the receptionist looked wary and replied with 'uh its alright' that should have given an indication of how run down the place is.
Don' get me wrong the staff were generally lovely, but the rooms and hotel badly needed a refurb, smelly discoloured carpets and shabby rooms really just aren't what you want in a hotel.
The room we had didn't have any air conditioning, which wouldn't normally be a problem but was so stuffy in there it was hard to stay in there for long, however when asked reception did provide us with a fan. The bathroom was grey and dreary, felt a bit cautious getting in the shower!!
We had dinner at the hotel as it was part of our spa package, food was average.
The spa bit of the hotel was clearly the newest part of the hotel and did look very nice, however my partners skin felt rather irritated after using the swimming pool facilities.
To top our stay off we had a mouldy youghurt in the morning during breakfast, the excuse was that they were brought in from their 'sister' hotel and apparently they do not hold their stock in the fridge.
Overall a very dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-GM, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for feedback, and apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at the Carlton hotel, as it is very rare that any of our guests leave disappointed, particularly people staying on our spa breaks, for, as you rightly say the quality of our spa is second to none.
I would like to apologise that you didn't find the room up to our usual high standards and if you had mentioned it at the time we would have happily moved you to another room, our staff are very approachable and could have sorted your requests. I hope you visit us again in the future to give us the opportunity to put things right, and if you wish to discuss anything directly with me please feel free. Ben Raven Carlton Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was really excited to be going to Devon on 1 trip whilst we where in the UK from New Zealand. Well what a let down, thread bare carpet, lino folding up in bathroom, no air conditioning it was 30 degrees and could only open the window approx 5 cm. Could hire a fan for $10, but they had to check if they had spare ones. The 1st floor corridors where that hot it smelt like a residential home. When i walked into the room family room we had booked the dressing table area was thick dust and had hair all over it, so i pretty much cleaned before we did anything. The pool area was supposed to be no glass every person was carrying glass jugs and glasses, even if you asked for plastic you where given glass. I moved the poolside bed into the sun on 2 afternoons to find heaps of rubbish that others had left. The hotel certainly needs an upgrade, 1stly the website, new carpets, decor, air conditioning, and the pool area needs to be kept clean etc...the only bonus was the new spa pool inside which we used.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Next room extractor fan in their en-suite sounded like a double rotor helicopter landing in my bedroom. Then when that finally went off at about 11.45pm the snores coming through the wall kept me awake until 3am not great with having to get up for work at 6am! The noise from the room above was also unacceptable, sounded like the dance troop Stomp were performing. The bed was very old and uncomfortable and the avocado bathroom had not been touched since being put in around 1980. Gets one circle as the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben R, Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback and I am sorry that you experienced such an interrupted nights sleep. I only wish you had informed us on check in that you had an early start to your day.
We would have happily located you in a quieter area of the hotel or even moved you to one of our sister hotels. We are a very versatile complex at TLH and we cater to all types of travellers. It is very difficult for us to deal with problems as a business if we are not made aware of them at the time. Our staff pride themselves on being able to deal with any issues and as you say are always friendly and willing to help.I hope we can be somewhere you would think to stay in the future and if I can be of any assistance then please get in touch.
Ben Raven - Carlton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As a family of 4 we have just had a lovely family holiday. The hotel was clean with plenty to do if it rains. My children are 4 and 7 and they really enjoyed themselves, they loved the pools and the evening entertainment. The staff were friendly . The room was big enough for our base to explore, with plenty of storage space for clothes, the only problem being it was very hot. The hotel location is perfect we didn't use the car once during our stay, the beach was in walking distance. We booked the breakfast and evening meal option and the food was good. We would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had my birthday weekend here recently and it was an enjoyable experience. The facilities were very good, we enjoyed the breakfast and the staff were helpful. I agree with other reviewers who said the rooms are in need of updating, but the main thing was the beds are comfortable and clean. The room was a bit too stuffy but we were provided with a fan which helped a lot. I would recommend it for a break in Torquay, despite the couple of negative points. Overall it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Attended a function at the Carlton hotel and spa in June and couldn't fault it at all - perfect location - amazing views over to Brixham - service was 1st class and food amazing would recommend this venue for wedding or similar event.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooflebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing