We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TLH Carlton Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$405
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$155
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$147
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
278
258
73
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
258
73
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaztec spaspa weekendaztec bistroline danceleisure complexevening entertainmentstarlight loungesoft playgames roomother hotelssteam roomoutdoor poolrestaurant staffhalf term breakriviera roomfamily roomten pin bowling
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

All staff we met were friendly and helpful.

The five hotels on the complex are all connected together which gives a bit of a Frankenstein's monster feel to the place with long corridors, winding ramps and twisting stairs all in a mix of styles and states of decoration.

Each hotel has its own dining and entertainment facilities but you can wander where ever you wish. We only tried out the Carlton 's restaurant on the 1st of a 2 night stay and the food was very disappointing, bland at best and overcooked or reheated. It did not even have the merit of being cheap at £60+ for 3 children and 2 adults not including the drinks. Our wine was nice though!

It was not possible to obtain food between 3:30 and 5pm anywhere on the whole site on Saturday afternoon despite all the facilities boasted. My wife was told she could use vending machines for crisps and chocolate when she and my daughters emerged from the pool.

Talking of the pool, this was good with areas for serious swimmers and toddlers alike.

Our family room was clean and pleasant but very warm and the one small window which we had opened only a few inches (H&S considerations) so we could not adequately ventilate the room. Having very thick quilts only made the task of getting any sleep that much more difficult.

In conclusion, we stayed at this hotel because of the family room which was of a good standard but would not stay again because of the room temperature and the difficulty in getting any sleep. If you do stay, go out for dinner into Torquay (book because they all get busy at peak times), use the pool and don't expect anything too exciting for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajpadgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you to the reviewer for their detailed feedback and interesting review, we always listen to and encourage customer feedback to continually improve what we offer our guests.

I apologise and am disappointed that the reviewer did not enjoy their evening meal in the Carlton Hotel Restaurant. We provide a 4-course Table d Hote menu with A la Carte options, all prepared in house by our team of Chefs and plated fresh to order. We ask our guests to fill out a comment card rating their stay and I am pleased to say that for July 2010 88% of our guests rated the evening meal as excellent. When Dinner, Bed and Breakfast is pre booked during the summer children eat for free in the Restaurant, which many families comment is excellent value for money.

As the Reviewer highlights our 4 hotels are joined together so that guests can go between the hotels and use the facilities and entertainment in all of them. This is something that is quite unique and that we are proud of and many regular visitors to TLH stay with us because of this flexibility and choice available to them. The reviewer is correct when they state there are corridors and different décor in each hotel because of this.

I apologise for any disappointment during their stay. If they would like to discuss anything further I would be pleased to speak with them and I can be contacted at the Hotel. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great hotel. Staff very helpful
Good entertainment. Very comfortable rooms.
Lovely food with plenty of choice.
Plenty to keep all ages entertained.
Very good evening entertainment.
Great location
This is our 3rd visit and we will definately be back

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you to the reviewer for their feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

upgraded to sea view room from standard which was a bit tatty, new room was nice, food generally very good, only complaint not enough vegetables, also watercress served every evening., all staff very helpful and friendly, thought the stairwells could do with redecorating, possibly in lighter colours. pools nice , my wife enjoyed swimming there. would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horace92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you to the reviewer for their feedback and comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will come back again.

I have noted your comments about the vegetables and Watercress and I will pass them onto my Head Chef.

We have a rolling programme of re decoration of rooms and public areas and I am sure that on future visits you will notice improvements continually being made to the Hotel and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

A lovely hotel, friendly staff excellent facilities great location a superb indoor pool one of the best in this country I've seen and the breakfast was faltless , will defenately go back this year if we can get a family room for a little less,their rates are too high for Torquay but that only fault I can find , well done hope to visit again

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoxKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2010

Thank you for the feedback, it is always great to read when guests are impressed by the food, service and facilities we offer.

Our rates at the Carlton Hotel are based not only on the rooms and meals but many things, which other hotels in Torquay do not offer like outstanding leisure facilities, a full entertainment programme and excellent customer service. We understand that in the current climate rate is very important to our guests, which is why we always aim to offer our guests a great holiday experience and value for money.

Our own website and reservations department have all our great special offers and the best rates so it is always worth looking for the latest accommodation offers.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This is our third stay at the Carlton Hotel and it was every bit as good as previous times. We booked a Rivieria Room with beautiful views across the bay and enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep! The leisure facilities are superb, especially the indoor pool complex with sauna, steam room etc. Also, being part of a complex of hotels, it was nice to have a choice of nightly entertainment. The hotel staff are very friendly, efficient and even remembered us from previous visits! The quality and choice of food was excellent. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2010

Thank you to the reviewer for their comments.

I am pleased to read that their latest visit was just as good as previous stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews