We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel”
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Carlton Hotel
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab Hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We went to Torquay to visit family & also to take our 3yr old to see the Fireman Sam at the Princess Theatre by the harbour. We already knew of the Carlton Hotel & stayed there before but about 6yrs ago. we enjoyed it then & really enjoyed this time aswell. The room was great nice & spacious, double & a single with a sofabed aswell. Very clean, although a bit noisey from road traffic as situated on the front of the hotel. The staff were excellent, very polite & accommadating. The facilities of the whole complex were fab, our 3yr old really enjoyed swimming & down in the arcade, where they have a soft play facility (struggled to get him to leave!). If we go down to Torquay again we are definately gonna stay there again. First class!! (Wish we had longer so I could of used the spa - next time I will!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezbear1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Thank you for your review and the 5 star overall rating!

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and happy to read that you will definitely choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Torquay. Hopefully next time you can take advantage of our great Elemis Spa and indoor Health and Leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    243
    63
    18
    7
See reviews for
228
134
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Our 4th trip to tlh but first staying at the Carlton which I have to say is a very comfortable hotel. We had a Riveria Front family room for 5 and it was very spacious and clean with a great view of the Sea. The facilities as usual were great and most of our time was spent in the Aztec pool (my only complaint is that we had to pay £1.00 per swimming towel which I felt as a hotel guset should have been provided free of charge).
The hotel restaurant was of better standard than the victoria where we stayed previously and our children were able to choose from the main menu which was good as they get fed up with the chicken nuggets usually on offer, and their portions were almost the same size as the adults which was great for growing boys! the waitress was very attentive and good with the children (only complaint was the time it took the wine waiter to get to the table for us to place a drinks order.
Breakfast offered us a great selection for everyone and we had lunch in the Albert bar which was good value for money under £6.00 for a main meal!
The children love the Toby club just a shame that they only take kids upto 9 years as we were left with one child to entertain!
Lovely break and we will return most deffinately to the Carlton Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skamitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your half term break at the Carlton Hotel.

It is great for me to read such positive feedback about the facilities and service we offer our guests, not only adults but also the whole family. I will ensure my team read your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

i booked this 2 night midweek break for myself and my husband when he arrived back from a 6 month tour in afghanistan. After reading the reviews I was happy that we would have a good stay and enjoy the spa treatments included in the package I booked. Upon arrival, I cannot fault the reception staff, friendly, helpful and had all the information we asked, and as a rule this was the same of all the staff.
The room was immacualate as was the rest of the hotel complex. All the staff we talked were polite and chatty and gave a wonderfully relaxed yet professionally run feel to the hotel and facitilies.
The food was gorgeous with a good choice at both the evening meal and breakfast meal. The waitress we had and the wine waiter were both attentive without being itrusive.
We had also booked spa treatments which were of exceptional value and enjoyment for the price we paid for this midweek break. Although price was not the reason for us booking this break, we will definately look at coming back again in the future and will be recommending it to friends and family.
Although we did not bring our children with us this time, we have seen families here and the facitilies certainly lean themselves to family stays so we would not rule this out in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tori1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2011
Thank you for your review of The Carlton Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed yourselves, especially in the circumstances of your partners return from Afghanistan, which made the break even more special for you both.

Our midweek Spa breaks are very popular all year round, but particularly so around Valentines. This is something we will definitely repeat next year.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We visited this hotel for a weekend as it was my friends birthday and mine in a few weeks. I use a wheelchair as I have walking difficulties. Even though the hotel didn't have disabled rooms we were given a ground floor room. They also didn't have shower cubicles only baths however, they supplied a swivel bath seat which suited fine. The whole complex was ramped but there were a few steps to get into pool and spa. The spa was entered via the pool area as it was in the basement. Overall all was done to make us feel welcome and nothing was a problem. We would certainly go again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie50090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I am happy to read that you had a great stay with us at the Carlton Hotel and Spa.

It is also pleasing to read how well my team looked after your requirements by providing equipment and advice to make your stay more comfortable.

We are continually upgrading the complex to improve disabled access and facilities and this will be on going. We are currently reviewing the option of creating a fully disabled adapted room at the Carlton Hotel and I would hope this is something we can introduce in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Good food. Great pool. Bedrooms too hot though. Had to leave window open constantly.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BProsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

hotel was extremely hot, the staff are your best assett cherish them, entertainement was good most enjoyable

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink_worldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Food was excelent
Service was good
Room was fair
TV reception was poor (set buzzed)

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bern11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

We are currently upgrading out TV’s to new flat screens, which have all freeview channels and an excellent signal. However all our televisions should be receiving a good signal and not buzzing. If you would like to contact me at the hotel and inform me which room you stayed in, I will ensure this is looked into and replaced if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,813 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Property: TLH Carlton Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing