We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor relation to the other TLH Hotels... Very disappointed.”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I wanted a place to stay with the family to celebrate my graduation with the Open University this weekend and having had excellent stays at the Victoria and Toorak hotels on a number of occasions including over Christmas, I'm sad to say this weekend was a very saddening experience. The Derwent rooms are very dated and it appears have no soundproofing. The double-glazed windows wouldn't shut fully... Thus letting in the noise when the club over the road kicked out. The door to the room had over an inch missing at the bottom letting in the noise of the constantly squeaky floorboards and corridor door slamming. The back of the room must back on to the squeaky wooden staircase from reception. Four coachloads of excited child rugby players also arrived at the same time leading to a school dinner experience in the restaurant and the inevitable shouting in corridors til all hours. Finally, the beds were rock hard so even when the noise went at 4, sleeping wasn't easy. I paid £160 pounds for the one night and fail to see how that could be justified.
On the plus side... Location and Car parking were ideal, reception staff polite and efficient and food was edible. Sadly my view of TLH has been tarnished and will not go back if the only rooms available are in the Derwent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BriseeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. During your weekend we did host mini rugby groups (under 12's) This event only takes place once a year and to date these groups have not caused us any negative feedback as they are very well behaved. We are vigilant whilst they are with us and it is my understanding that the children had a 10pm curfew. If you felt that your break was not as good as it should have been due to their presence, I welcome your comments in writing to myself at the hotel. I will then have the opportunity to put it right for a future occasion. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

we have been going to the TLH group of hotels inc the Victoria and derwent for several years now and every stay has been as good as the last, the food is excellant, staff are very helpful and friendly, everything is just brillant and until we have a bad stay then we will keep going

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your kind words and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

my friend and i decided to have a girls weekend away and on her past experience decided to do a 2 night stay at the derwent on one of their deals. from start to finish the whole experience was excellent. from the parking space for the disabled, the friendly reception staff. we had a lovely room with a seaview, very clean and comfortable ,only criticism was the moving floorboards in the bathroom.excellent shower. dining room very pleasant with very attentive and pleasant staff, the surroundings were bright light and comfortable. the food was excellent and a reasonable choice, with wine available as well. evenign entertainment was good ,and also a lovely aztec bistro where drinks and and meals could be purchased at a very reasonable price. although there were lots of other activities available we did not use these, apart from the pool and jaccuzi which we did feel was a little tired and really needed a good clean. there was alovely terrace to sit on which we used as it was sunny and comfortable. avery nice outdoor pool and sun terrace area which i'm sure would be great in the summer. all in all we had a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend and i can thoroughly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the side aspect on main street so good view of the sea. was not at all noisy ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Disabled spaces can be booked in advance of arrival for ease. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have been visiting the Derwent for many years and again it did not disappoint. My only gripe is that they advertise a self service meal each evening, which is not actually self service and the plates for this are extremely small meaning the adult men in our party had to go twice which made them feel greedy and embarrassed. On the whole though a great break for all.

Room Tip: Rooms on back are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was the first time we had stayed at the derwent and wanted to say how much we enjoyed it.

The hotel was lovely and although the rooms and hallways are a little shabby it's nothing too serious and shouldn't detract from the overall experience.

The location of the hotel is fab and it has a big carpark round the back. The food was really good too. We stayed with breakfast & evening meal included and it was fab. Three courses from a choice on the menu or if nothing takes your fancy then there are addition choices at a premium (£7.50).

I had a day at the spa which was amazing! By far the best bit of the three days we were there. Also tried the indoor pool which was nice but super hot! Not that great for any spectators as you'll sit there roasting if your not taking a dip!

Bars were nice and snake were decent enough. Staff were friendly and we had a fridge put in our room as our five month old daughter needed her milk storing. The hotel were really accomodating.

Couldn't comment on the entertainment as we were all in bed by 9pm but there seemed to be plenty of choice. Bingo at 8.30 then a kids bit and then adults bit started about 9.30

Overall though a really good experience for us all and we'll go back again if we fancy a cheapy break by the seaside.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsWhitbreadSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

2 star hotel - 5 star food. All the staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble for them. Facilities were fantastic and we never did find the 10 pin bowling lanes!!! Bedrooms a bit 'tired' but spotless. The hotels entertainment team put on a Broadway Musical Show which was fantastic. Had 5 days here and would definitely consider returning. Newspapers were even delivered to your bedroom door! Overall a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

First impressions of the Derwent is quite good, the lifts however are far too small and the last place anyone would want to get stuck. The chairs and sofa's in reception desperately need replacing as do some in the Carlton as they are threadbare. The bedrooms need to be decorated as a matter of some urgency,we were in room 111 and we had a bathroom with a corner bath, there was know hand rail to help you in and out, anyone with mobility problems could not use either bath or shower whilst at the hotel. Most of the corridors need redecorating, evening entertainment was mostly for families with young children, there are people that are older and we dont want to watch childrens games. When KB was there he did a full hour of childrens party games, and absolutely nothing for the grown ups, surely this should be split in half so that everyone is entertained. In other venues on the resort was poor there seemed to be something for the elderely and children, if you were not in either catagory you were not catered for. The entertainment team show, Broadway Express, was on the whole quite good, except WHY DOES THE PERSON IN CHARGE OF THE SHOWS THINK THAT IF IT IS BLARING IT MEANS ITS GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!! All entertainment is too loud for the size of the Starlight lounge, its not the Albert Hall ! The lockers in the Aztec zone are in an appalling state of repair with few keys with arm bands, we had to leave our things in an open one, and trust that nothing got stolen. However, the facilities offered are good. The price of drinks are ridiculously expensive! But the food in the Bistro was of good quality.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the first floor,as soon as you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairegrps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £54 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing