We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have just returned from a 4-night midweek break at the Derwent. We have stayed at the hotel before and find it a very friendly, comfortable hotel. It is a bit tired in places, but that wouldn't stop us from staying there in the future. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with everything you need, and the food is very good with plenty of choice on the menu. We had one or two issues with the bedroom housekeeping service on this visit, but that was unusual as on previous visits we have not experienced any problems. The entertainment at the hotel is very good, in particular the evenings with Kevin of KB Sounds. He is brilliant, and is one of the reasons why we love going to the Derwent. On speaking to other guests, we found that they felt the same way too. The facilities at the Aztec Spa and the pool are also very good. The Derwent is ideally situated for both the shops and the sea front, both being within walking distance. We look forward to returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Belgrave Road tend to be a little noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rojan2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have mentioned to my Head Housekeeper that you have raised some shortfall. This is unusual, as you have pointed out. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    423
    143
    40
    29
See reviews for
344
304
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

2nd visit to hotel, traveled down by coach for a weeks bowling, this was unfortunatly spoilt by the weather but the facilities and staff at the hotel rescued what could have been a total washout.
The only negative would be the waiting time for the lifts as I was on the 4th floor and there is only 1 of the two lifts that go to the 4th floor.
Room was very clean and had a lovely sea view.
All staff very helpfull, especially resturant staff and reception. A special mention for Sarah the bowls co-ordinator as she had to make arrangements for us when the weather let us down.
Already booked for next year

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thanks for your review. Sorry about the weather. We look forward to seeing you next year. Kindest regards. Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

having just spent 5 days at the derwent, we shall never go back. the room and the service was quite good, but, the food was shocking. there were no croissants for the breakfast, i don,t like a cooked one and i had fish just the one day and it was bone dry. the evening meals were terrible and i only enjoyed the one, and that was when i had the starter (potato wedges, chilli con carne and sour cream) for my main course as well as starters. i am not a fussy eater but, the last twice we have been to this hotel, the food has gone downhill. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torquayaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our food offering usually gets very good reviews. Indeed reviews from the same week have been very positive regarding the quality and choice of our food. I am truly sorry this was not your perception as we spend a lot of time trying to get this right, and for the most part is very successful. I have passed on your comment regarding the dry fish at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We travelled on a coach tour by Dunwoods from Nuneaton in the Midlands. Whilst we have been on holiday to Devon many times and love it always, we had not stayed at the Derwent Hotel before. I must say we were pleasantly surprised at the level of service provided. The staff were all helpful and courteous, and the food was excellent. The choice of menu was fine and all meals were beautifully presented. The weather was warm and sunny which was a bonus, but I'm not sure we can credit this asset to Derwent! It was only when we got home and re-read the holiday brochure in detail that we realised we had in fact paid for an all-inclusive break which included drinks - hence the green wristband! Next time we shall be more informed and make more use of this facility - there will be another time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your very nice review. We can accept the credit for the good weather as we have postioned ourselves in the sunny spot in Torquay. We hope to see you again. Kindest regards to the Midlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Traveled on a coach tour last week and although it was very wet and windy out doors the hotel was great. The room which was on the 4th floor was a bit disappointing - small with dark bathroom, but it was clean. The lifts did seem too small for the number of people using the hotel but we were on holiday so whats a few minutes to wait.
The dining room was very pleasant and the staff were excellent especially Ola, who was very efficient without being over intrusive. The food was good and well presented. The choice of dishes was adequate. The 10 pin bowling was an added bonus and we really enjoyed the evening entertainment especially the Broadway night.
The outside of the hotel desperately needs a make over. Some maintenance and paint would be very welcome. However this did not spoil our stay in any way. We would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor - very quiet. Down side - small room, dark bathroom in need of refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donkey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We completely refurbished the rear of our building last year whilst replacing all of our windows. We will be programming the refurbishment of our frontage soon. Again thank you for posting your review. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

very pleasant stay. stayed at the Derwent for the past 20 years with family and never been let down. This stay was just myself and my husband. We have seen a number of changes over the years. The dining experience is not as grand as it used to be, however we did a bargain break and part from one evening we had decent meals and efficient service. The rooms and pool area need a bit of TLC, although we had a decent size room which was light. We had all inclusive this time and that was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our food offering. The restaurant was refurbished and modernised last year, which saw the introduction of air-conditioning throughout. When modernising we did remove the table clothes from all tables to create a more contemporary feel.
We have an ongoing programme of refurbishment and upgrade in our bedrooms and public areas across our resort. This will continue over the coming years. I am glad that you felt the all-inclusive package offered good value. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I wanted a place to stay with the family to celebrate my graduation with the Open University this weekend and having had excellent stays at the Victoria and Toorak hotels on a number of occasions including over Christmas, I'm sad to say this weekend was a very saddening experience. The Derwent rooms are very dated and it appears have no soundproofing. The double-glazed windows wouldn't shut fully... Thus letting in the noise when the club over the road kicked out. The door to the room had over an inch missing at the bottom letting in the noise of the constantly squeaky floorboards and corridor door slamming. The back of the room must back on to the squeaky wooden staircase from reception. Four coachloads of excited child rugby players also arrived at the same time leading to a school dinner experience in the restaurant and the inevitable shouting in corridors til all hours. Finally, the beds were rock hard so even when the noise went at 4, sleeping wasn't easy. I paid £160 pounds for the one night and fail to see how that could be justified.
On the plus side... Location and Car parking were ideal, reception staff polite and efficient and food was edible. Sadly my view of TLH has been tarnished and will not go back if the only rooms available are in the Derwent.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BriseeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. During your weekend we did host mini rugby groups (under 12's) This event only takes place once a year and to date these groups have not caused us any negative feedback as they are very well behaved. We are vigilant whilst they are with us and it is my understanding that the children had a 10pm curfew. If you felt that your break was not as good as it should have been due to their presence, I welcome your comments in writing to myself at the hotel. I will then have the opportunity to put it right for a future occasion. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
545 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing