We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable break”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

To be honest walking into the hotel from car park thought carpets looked dated but reception was more modern . Rooms were good size and nicely decorated. I always look at bathroom to gauge quality of hotel - there was no mold at all - a very good sign and the shower was amazing fast and hot. Restaurant was huge which worried me a bit but breakfast was served from two serving stations and was very good. Swimming pools amazing Will Definately be back

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

my husband and I only visit this hotel once a year as my dad likes it, they have started to refurbish it, new furniture in reception, not that you can sit on it, lots of students at the hotel again and they are constantly lounging on the furniture around meal times so that elderly visitors my dad is 80 have to stand up while they sit.

We had a decent room although the bathroom very old and tatty. Dad had a single room and they are very basic, not even biscuits or hot chocolate as in the other rooms. Ours was a family room but was a very long walk through about 7 doors and even up stairs, how would a family with a pushchair cope with this?

Evening meal meal very average breakfast good, service a bit lacking unless you go to the Aztec Lounge, Marcio the manager brilliant. He even remembered my Dad from last year and made an effort to be friendly to everyone but kept busy at the same time.

Entertainment fair, overall the price is very good £42 per person a night but I would rather pay £10 extra and get the place a bit smarter and a more appealing menu.

We will visit next year but hope for some more refurbishment. There needs to be wheelchair access at the front of the hotel as none at all

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orourkeBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have developed lots of areas this year. We have a new outside relaxation area with grassed lawns and Play Park. We have just extended the Aztec Bistro seating area and we have refurbished lots of our bedrooms at the Derwent, we guarantee this will continue over the coming years. We hope to see you again next year. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Hotel nice, Staff friendly, leisure facitlites fantastic, and great for kids, however the drinks were stuppidly expensive, you need to re-mortgage the house to afford the drinks. We booked our holiday 12 months in advance for myself, husband and 4 year old son. After we had booked my mother and father-in-law booked to come with us. About 3 weeks before we were due to go the hotel rang and said that some students were staying at the hotel, and therefore they moved our room away from them, which sounded great. However they put us in the furtherest room away from anything, and to get to it, we had to walk past all the roms the students were staying in, this wouldn't have been a problem other than the student sat in the corridors to the rooms so we had to step over them (they never offered to move and did not speak a word to us) also the lounge area to meet up with your family in the morning to go in to breakfast was taken over by any where upto 20 students every morning, so us as paying holiday guests could not use the lounge facility, despite the fact that all the students could have met up in the concert room (about 5 yards away) to arrange there days with the supervisory staff. We don't have a problem with the students being there but I think a bit of thought and consideration of the holiday guests would not go amiss, and a bit better planning. Also my mother-in-law is disabled with an electris wheelchair, which one more we found a student sat on it, and we had to ask him to get off, not a single word of an apology did he say.
We had a great holiday, and it is fantastic for children, but the student situation did spoil it for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very similar and of a good size, although our bathroom was very tired looking, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We feel our drinks prices are still way below most hotels and inline with most responsible high street pubs, so I am sorry you felt they were expensive. We will include your comments in our review should we accommodate some foreign exchange students in future although the vast majority of feedback has been positive regarding their conduct whilst with us. Kindest regards Jason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Food is Excellent, Nothing is to much trouble for the staff. The Entertainment is Fantastic, The Facilities are Brilliant, The staff are Friendly. We Will be returning to the Derwent Hotel as this hotel is great for all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raza007s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you very much. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We regularly attend this hotel. It is fantastic value for money. My 3 and 5 years old love the children's entertainment. The children wish to say thanks to Jodie and Tom at Toby Club for making this weekend so much fun.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank LucyHarryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you. I will pass on your kind words. Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Car Park – Plenty of spaces, unsecure, bad first impression due to very old fashioned signs.
Struggled to find reception, although reception lady was lovely and efficient.
Found room okay, although it was a long way and 7+ doors. (to be fair, presumably fire doors, which are necessary)
Room fine, clean with coffee etc facilities. Small TV with poor reception. Décor needs updating, odd bits of maintenance needed. Shower power good.
Dinner very poor. 6:30-7:45, so very crammed in, as so many people were squeezed in, in a small space. Waitresses/Maitre d’ very nice, although unfortunately my boyfriend couldn’t understand the waitresses accent. Décor nice and modern here. Paid £7.50 extra each to have steak, this was not cooked how we’d asked. We had paid for dinner bed and breakfast, so drinks were an extra, and we’d decided to put these on our room – waitress had to get me to sign for them whilst I was in the middle of my starter. (Why not just keep this until the end of our meal?) Both wanted vanilla ice cream for dessert, but they had ran out.
Bar – Very nice bar man, chatted to my boyfriend loads whilst I went up to the room and got our registration card. Drinks choice plentiful. Decor fine, seats not great. Big TV showing Wimbledon was nice, and massive windows to see the pool through.
Games room – pretty cool, loads of arcade games, pool and snooker tables, another bar, air hockey, ten-pin bowling. Really great idea, although you had to pay for everything, and it wasn’t even cheap!
Sleep – people walking along corridor outside very loud, even if they weren’t talking – floorboards creaking, doors banging – all easily heard due to very thin walls/doors. We decided to have a lie-in instead of breakfast (after dinner we doubted it’d be worth getting out of bed for). At half 9 – half an hour before check-out, housekeeping (I assume) knocked once and started to walk in the door, until I said something.(Why not start housekeeping after check-out time, especially for guests checking out that day?!)
Check-out – same lady as check-in, very nice, quick, smooth.

We were only here for one night, and as a young couple, definitely not the clientele this hotel aims for. This place would probably be great for a family, with plenty of activities to entertain the kids, as well as the elderly. Unfortunately it just isn’t the kind of place we were after, and I will definitely go for a cute little B&B on the sea front if I’m in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNorthmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We will use some of your comments to review some of our processes. If you are looking for a more romantic, quiet break as a couple you should try one of our three star hotels on our site. Kindest regards. Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Despite being some of the youngest people there - had a great stay. Food wonderful, entertainment good. Accomodation clean, tidy and cleaned daily. What more can you want

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mincey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
632 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing