We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired rooms but great time as always”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“tired rooms but great time as always”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

have used the group of hotels, victoria, carlton, toorak and derwent, for several years. so thats all g ood! hotels facilities are all very good. plenty to see and do. food was very good at the derwent. plenty of choice and very speedy service, busy bank holiday weekend. good beds in room, but overall decor is very dated. bathroom needs good refit, although clean. tv was from a mueum! did nor like small plastic shelf unit including built in electrics for kettle. not very safe with kids. will be back though asap. did have good nights sleep and thats all the room is really for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    430
    148
    44
    30
See reviews for
354
318
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

stayed 18/8/12 for one week myself, wife and granddaughters had a brilliant time, staff allways helpful and polite, food was of a very high quality,childrens and evening and entertainment was first class and the indoor pools are excellent our granddaughters spent hours in there and made many friends, will definately book again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the car parks much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just returned from another great short break, along with my sister and brother-in-law, at this hotel. Yet again we had a lovely time. There's plenty to do without even leaving the hotel,so an ideal place to be especially on a rainy day. Everything from quiz time to treating yourself to a massage. Although the hotel room I stayed in was lovely and clean, spacious and with a great sea view, it was a little 'tired'. However, value for money considered, it was spot on. The staff have become more like friends, particularly in the dining room and Bistro. The breakfast is excellent with great choices from continental to good quality full english and the evening meal also has a good selection, in fact I'm sorry to say I couldn't actually manage a starter or pudding most evenings as the main course was more than adequate. I could go on and on about this hotel but just to say that I've lost count the number of times I've stayed at this lovely hotel and that I can't wait to return should be confirmation in itself as recommendation.

Room Tip: If you are normally stay in a single room, try upgrading to a double. There's loads more space a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Recommend it to anybody with a family - good food, good fun, plenty of entertainment, spotlessly clean. My son to be three year old soon is still asking to go back, he enjoyed it that much. We have booked again for next summer!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just returned from another great time at this lovely hotel, this is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Derwent resort in Torquay.
We were lucky enough to get one of the newly refurbed rooms (room 401), which was spotless, a great size with a lovely view of the pool and over Torquay. All areas in the resort were spotless with staff constantly cleaning and making sure everything is just right and all were very friendly and happy. The indoor and outdoor pool areas were great as was the play area down stairs with 3 full size snooker tables, a couple of pool tables, table tennis and ten pin bowling and plenty of video games with a nice bar area too. I didnt use the enormous indoor bowling green but this looked seriously impressive through the windows.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of staff to make sure your needs are taken care of and again all staff were really helpfull and happy.
I cannot recommend this place enough and feel my review doesnt do the place full justice because it is that good, thankyou to all staff who made my stay great wish I could have stayed longer than 3 nights.

Room Tip: Room 401, its at the top of hotel overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesScooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The standards of customer service are something to behold - nothing is too much trouble and they do it with a smile. The hotel is part of a 7 acre complex and has just about everything you could want. We were a couple and we got the last room ion the hotel - the quality of the room did niot match the price being charged but I guess the facilities made up for it. Several indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts and other activities were available. Quite a good location and I noticed that buses stopped right outside the hotel. It's on a bit of a hill and so that may not suit some.

The other guests appeared to be extended family groups and this may be the target market.

Parking is very tricky but the hotel staff helped as much as they possibly could.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We all had a great time, there is so much to do with children, our 7 year old son rushed us at meal times because he couldn't wait to continue playing. The rooms are fine but could do with a little tidy up on paint work, however all really adequate. The staff were really friendly and helpful and always smiling, so they must enjoy working there. The hotel is a short walk from the sea front and the little train stops outside. will come again. Catching the ferry to Brixham is a must - its like a mini St Ives.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubble04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing