We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend with friends”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We did a all inclusive weekend with about 20 of our friends it was a great weekend. Entertament was good and the food was amazine, waiter staff was very good.
We are thinks of going back in january but will take our 9yr old son as it as a lot for children to do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

had a great weekend there yet again,
great staff,food and entertainment
had a great room 4th floor (they have 2 lifts
the veiw was great it looked over the harbour,
and across to brixham lovely very lucky
remember it's a 2 star .
but you will have a fantastic time.

Room Tip: room 408 4th floor great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybelly1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This is a Butlins Upgrade! Would be great for families with all the provided games rooms, i.e 10 pin bowling, inside and outside swimming pools etc., to keep the children interested.
Rooms are very clean and tidy, endless corridors to walk through to the other hotels in this complex. Good value for money. Would not choose this Complex if we were staying in Torquay as a Couple, but as we were meeting up with several others it was great and very reasonable for 2 nights away. The reception staff at the Derwent were very polite and smiley!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Third Floor at the very end of the corridor looked larger (looking over the street) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelAngelo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for posting your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

I had 3 nights half board .this hotel was very good had indoor swimming pool ...I found the food was exellent .all a carte ...also they had nightly enertament I would come back here again..it was close to the beach and town very good

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for posting your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Some people seem quite picky over holidays spent At The Derwent. Myself my family and friends have been staying at this hotel every summertime for the last 14 years or so. We always have a brilliant time, we are looked after by a great team of people, the rooms are always clean and tidy, we use as much of the available facilities as we can cram in and the entertainment is always good including the entertainment staff who obviously work very hard and for long hours and always have to be energetic and happy even when they dont want to be. We love our holidays with TLH!!

Room Tip: you shouldnt worry about what the room is like because if you used as many of the facilities as is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flossyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you. We like the Big Band Weekends too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My best friend and I stayed at the Derwent Hotel last weekend. The room was clean, the bedding soft and comfortable and the food was very good. The hotel corridors are endless but who cares when your room is clean and comfortable and the food is fab. It isn't a 5 star but it is excellent value for money and more. The Big Band was absolutely fabulous. Thank you for a lovely weekend. Also thanks to our waiter "Michael", excellent sense of humour, you are a star.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

this will be the 4th trip to this hotel the rooms are basic but the staff are really helpful
swimming pool is fantastic and its nice being able to use the other hotels in this chain without walking miles for variety, the spa facilities are nice and quite cheap for treatments would recommend this hotel for a nice break

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you for your review. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 85 in Torquay
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 85 in Torquay
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,572 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £59 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing