We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TLH Derwent Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South View(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nethway Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Riviera Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
489
457
160
51
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
489
457
160
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstarlight loungeten pin bowlingentertainment teamaztec bistrokb soundsalberts barindoor bowlsaztec poolstar hotelother hotelstlh groupfamily hotelland trainkids clubtable tennisevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have 2 small children and have stayed a few times and we all love it ... most stress-free break away we have. Plenty of things for the kids to do, super games room with a lovely play barn for the smaller children. Great location, wonderful food. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room which was great but it's a real trek up to those rooms, not ideal when you have suitcases and children! But the room was very good, spacious and everything we needed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

One word - Fantastic! been staying at TLH for 20 years, good size rooms, good breakfast, lovely choice of food. Entertainment WONDERFUL!! Indoor pool, soft play area, what more could you ask for? even free afternoon tea! 20 out of 10 !!!! Very Happy Customer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We love going to the Derwent, it is home from home for us and our two young children. We have got to know the staff and all the things that go on in the hotel and surrounding areas, as we try to get there at least twice a year and sometimes have even gone back for the odd night just the two of us without the kids! The staff are always pleased to see us again and they always ask us if we are coming again soon. Nothing is too much trouble. We love this place as the family rooms are always clean and tidy and of good size, the food is excellent and the facilities are second to none. We will be back in the new year! See you soon. The Coster Family

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Parking was difficult - too many rooms and not enough spaces. We drove round and round for 40 minutes to find a space.

We were a bit worried when we arrived and there was hand sanitiser outside the main restaurant - it didn't create a very good impression!

The bedroom and the bathroom were disappointing. The bedroom had 4 beds in it - a double and two singles. It was obviously that the bedclothes on the singles hadn't been changed as they had hairs and crumbs in. The bathroom was so pokey that the sink wouldn't fit. Perhaps this was why the restuaurant had hand sanitiser outside?! The bathroom was so narrow that it had a smaller than usual door. The bathroom suite was olive green!

The room was next to a creaky fire door so we were woken up every time guests went to and from their rooms.

On the positive side- the pool facilities and the Aztec bistro were excellent. The service was good. The breakfast was fine.

You get what you pay for and we didn't pay all that much...£88 plus dinner in the Aztec.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Food, facilities and room very good. All in all a very good 4 day break with good entertainment or quite areas which ever you require.
Leisure and 25mm swimming pool, jacuzzi. steam room and sauna all very good along with the snooker, pool and 10 pin bowling area also. Something for everyone

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews