We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic family time”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We are frequent visitors to this hotel. We went with my parents and 15 yr old son. The leasure facilities are fantastic and the hotel is walking distance to golf, tennis and crazy golf.

The food if anything has really improved and we could not fault it.

My only small critisism is the entertainment is all geared up for the the children, even at Pontins etc the kids are walked out at a certain time... I remember the days when Kevin used to do the entertainment and I could get up to dance with my then small son to a waltz etc

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foalks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for TLH Derwent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just returned from out fourth Autumn half term break at the Derwent. As ever the staff were great and really helpful, special thanks to our waiter Daniel, Graham, helpful receptionists and the maintenance staff for switching over our television so we could watch DVDs in our room.
As ever, lovely food and plenty off it, plenty of entertainment if you wanted to join in and lovely clean rooms. We will no doubt be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were a party of 6 one of which is disabled could not fault the hotel and accomodation it was all excellent. The food was brilliant always something on the menu that we all liked sometimes more making it a hard choice.

The entertainment was brilliant catered for all ages.

The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aps949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have 2 small children and have stayed a few times and we all love it ... most stress-free break away we have. Plenty of things for the kids to do, super games room with a lovely play barn for the smaller children. Great location, wonderful food. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room which was great but it's a real trek up to those rooms, not ideal whe...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

One word - Fantastic! been staying at TLH for 20 years, good size rooms, good breakfast, lovely choice of food. Entertainment WONDERFUL!! Indoor pool, soft play area, what more could you ask for? even free afternoon tea! 20 out of 10 !!!! Very Happy Customer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We love going to the Derwent, it is home from home for us and our two young children. We have got to know the staff and all the things that go on in the hotel and surrounding areas, as we try to get there at least twice a year and sometimes have even gone back for the odd night just the two of us without the kids! The staff are always pleased to see us again and they always ask us if we are coming again soon. Nothing is too much trouble. We love this place as the family rooms are always clean and tidy and of good size, the food is excellent and the facilities are second to none. We will be back in the new year! See you soon. The Coster Family

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Parking was difficult - too many rooms and not enough spaces. We drove round and round for 40 minutes to find a space.

We were a bit worried when we arrived and there was hand sanitiser outside the main restaurant - it didn't create a very good impression!

The bedroom and the bathroom were disappointing. The bedroom had 4 beds in it - a double and two singles. It was obviously that the bedclothes on the singles hadn't been changed as they had hairs and crumbs in. The bathroom was so pokey that the sink wouldn't fit. Perhaps this was why the restuaurant had hand sanitiser outside?! The bathroom was so narrow that it had a smaller than usual door. The bathroom suite was olive green!

The room was next to a creaky fire door so we were woken up every time guests went to and from their rooms.

On the positive side- the pool facilities and the Aztec bistro were excellent. The service was good. The breakfast was fine.

You get what you pay for and we didn't pay all that much...£88 plus dinner in the Aztec.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,947 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing