We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We have visited Torquay many times but this is the first time we have stayed at the Derwent. The Hotel is well located for buses and the town and beach are within walking distance. We thought the hotel was a bit dated but the room, although very small, and all the public areas were very clean and tidy. We enjoyed the food which was varied and always well presented. The wait staff were efficient and friendly as were all the staff. There are two lifts but one seemed to be permanently out of order. We had an enjoyable short holiday and if we return to Torquay in the New Year we will more than likely stay at the Derwent again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamSaffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for your review. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    425
    144
    41
    29
See reviews for
347
308
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here in a group of 8 and this is our fourth year running. We always choose the Derwent for its hospitality and food. The entertainment is great year in and year out.
This year we had room 308 and it was very comfortable with enough room for the both of us. We had a hair dryer and all the usual bits tea, coffee, shampoo etc.
when we checked in the receptionist was very polite and told us how to get to our room. There are lifts to all floors.
KB sounds is a regular for entertainment and we were glad to see him here again this year.
The waiter (Connor) at our table could not do enough for us so we all left him a good tip for Christmas.
The food this year was excellent as always. There is a bus that takes you straight into the town centre for shopping and the harbour is only a 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor seems to be the quietest and is easy to get to by lift or using the stairs. Rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TjCarter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Sadly returning to the Derwent was a disappointing experience, dated rooms and poor quality food are the main reasons for our disapointment. The pool area and Ball Room are still of a good standard but due to numbers we were not able to enjoy the Ball Room as all seats were taken. The staff were kind but lacked enthusiasm and atmostphere in the dining room was missing. Sa Doubt we will return as other B&Bs/hotels in Torquay offer a better experience for alot less money. Quality not quantity needs to be addressed here. The Derwent has lost its grandness.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for your review. I will pass on your comments to my management team. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This was our 2nd year at the Derwent Hotel for a Tinsel and Turkry weekend we went with a lot of our friends who invited us again and again what a brilliant time we had.
The entertainment was excellent the food excellent.We played 10 pin bowling table tennis and darts,the pool was very inviting our friends went in for a dip and had a great time.
The room was lovely and comfortable we will be going again next year.
We would like to thank the Management and Staff for a wonderful weekend and look forward to seeing them again.
Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year
Vince and Sue

Room Tip: first floor nearer the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay this year. In the summer we did B and B. this time we did the festive weekend. Dinner on both nights was good but Friday dinner was superb - presentation was worthy of masterchef! Breakfast was excellent too. The service we received all weekend was very good especially in the restaurant considering the amount of people there. Corridors look a bit dated but rooms were good - clean and the bathroom was really clean -I always look at bathroom first and that gives me a general idea of how the hotel rates. The only thing I wish we had gone in a bigger group not just my husband and I as we felt a bit lonely - two 50 something's waiting to see father Xmas was probably a strange sight but there was a free raffle involved and tea and mince pie!! Entertainment was good especially the entertainment team on Friday night - very cheesy but fun. We enjoyed it so much we bought vouchers for our daughters for Xmas

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Had lovely long weekend at hotel with friends. my 4th visit,
the food was excellent a big improvement on my last visit, The staff very helpfull and the entertainment very good. The only thing i thoght was outdated and i was not happy with was having the sink in the bedrrom. I would definately go back but i would make sure i would have my sink in bathroom

Room Tip: ask for a room with sink in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Have just returned from a festive break. This has become an annual event for us and our friends. A great start to Christmas. The bedrooms were warm and spotlessly clean. We always enjoy the games room and played 10 pin bowling & snooker. The entertainment team work very hard and put on an excellent Christmas show.
The food is always excellent. Overall a great place to stay and fantastic value for money, we wouldn't stay anywhere else if visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltonHousebnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing