We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wilts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Valentine Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband i love staying at The Derwent hotel, the staff are all so helpful and pleasant, from the receptionists to the waiting staff to the entertainment staff. whoever they are they look after you all the time. the vast age range of guest could be hard but the team cope with it very well. I can't wait for our next visit in June. Thanks all who work hard at the Derwent. Peter 7 Lillian errington

Room Tip: We like the 4th floor but have stayed on other ones as well it realy depends on what you like and wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiddieWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    414
    139
    39
    29
See reviews for
340
297
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

It is a friendly and well run hotel to suit every age group. All the staff were fantastic being very helpful and friendly every minute of the day. The rooms were excellent being spotlessly clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee should you need it in your room. The hotel's restaurant manager was very polite, very efficient, and very helpful along with all of the catering staff and the food was excellent with a varied menu to suit all tastes. The entertainments team were bubbling with enthusiasm and did their best to get everyone involved. There was quizzes, bingo, dancing, and even a free afternoon tea was given every day during our five day break. The TLH Leisure Centre offered so much and it is well worth a visit as it has so much to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Room was awful, tv didn't work and no hot water so had to have a cold shower and food was horrible , the hotel is supposed to be a four star rating but I wouldn't give it more than one star! Everything needs updating and repairing and room was nothing like the website phoros

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boomtiaylilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

as in all hotels there is good and bad, the Derwent was mostly good, a coach load of us pensioners had 5 days there, the room was one that had just been renovated, the beds were very comfortable but we had a rotten view of a load of old mattresses. the bathroom had a new shower but lacked a shelf to put things on, the food was excellent and varied, and superb staff, on the drinks side the all inclusve was ok and you could pay pay 50 pence for branded drinks if you wanted to, now the entertainment,it was ok unfortunatly for us pensioners we had booked half term if only we had known and it was full of unruly kids, dashing about all over the place, even during the bingo sessions which the managment didnt seem to care about,there didnt seem to be enough tables but plenty of chairs in the main entertainment room, it is a pleasant walk into town , if we booked again we would make sure the kids were at school, this is one of the reasons we like to book with Warners, "adults only".

Room Tip: rooms are being renovated, rooms at the front are noisy compared to rooms at the back, if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington U.K.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Staff met the coach as we arrived and our luggage was taken to our rooms.
Tea and Coffee were being served at 3-30 pm and as we arrived at 3-15 pm we were able to take advantage of this after our long journey.

February is not the best time to visit the seaside but the Hotel was warm and the activities in the hotel were plentyful.

Our group will certainly consider another winter break at this Hotel,
all the Staff were very obliging and the food was excellent.
Well done the Derwent.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple with two children ask for room 243 plenty of storage and three go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

A short 3 night trip away with my parents and 2 little boys, Had a lovely time, the kids especially enjoyed the swimming complex, water was lovely and warm, spent hours in there! Jacuzzi was also very nice!!!
Food was delicious, every evening was different but all was really good!! Staff very helpful!!
The only reason i gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that some of the corridors were a little creeky but i believe they are doing some of the hotel up.
Kids also loved the soft play and games room, we didnt make much use of the kids club but the one evening my son went he thought it was great!!!
Only a few minutes walk to the beach and about 15 min walk to local shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csmithyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

A very enjoyable 5 day break, although our room was clean and comfortable I was surprised to see the wash basin in the bedroom instead of the bathroom, not a good idea! Couldn't fault anything else, the food was excellent and the staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and smiley and nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment was excellent every evening. Would have given 5 stars had it not been for the wash basin...sorry!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMayneord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing