We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break.”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Visited for the first time last week.It certainly wont be the last.The staff were so helpful,efficient & friendly,food was lovely&plentiful,pool &spa was just the tonic needed.
Next time we are going to try one of the other hotels in the complex as only slight niggle was room was small but can not be faulted on cleanliness & facilities.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nini2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for TLH Derwent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel as part of a short-mat bowling package. The facilities were excellent and the food was very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would certainly recommend this hotel. In our opinion excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel were quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you. Hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed with my mum and my granny. Food was lovely with lots of choice. Very good value for money. Close to town. Room small but everything that is needed is there. Only bad side in my grans opinion no biscuits with tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Arrived at the Derwent Tuesday 9th April, and what a great place. We have stayed at a few hotels in Torquay and the Derwent by far is the best, the rooms were good a few little things could be done to improve them, but that aside very clean and comfortable.
Thought the food was good and tasty. Great things for kids to do, pool was amazing but a bit cold.Its a definite must for any families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are in the process of fully refurbishing our rooms. This has resulted in some unwanted actuations of our fire alarm. We have hopefully now taken measures that will prevent this happening moving forward. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Recently spent two nights at the Derwent Hotel was not disappointed, clean comfortable warm rooms, excellent food, friendly efficient staff, lots of activities available, will definitely visit again. Happy to recommend to couples and families regardless of age.
Good location, our room overlooked Belgrave Rd and we had a comfortable night, just down the road to the sea front.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shonnyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

another trip to the derwent, about our 5th, great place to stay food well beyond expectations of the 2 star rating.everybody friendly and eager to make stay pleasure. swimming pool is lovely both indoor and outside but as we go usually early or late in year the indoor one is brilliant plus jacuzzi, steam room and health centre. the entertainments staff put things on during day as well as shows in the evening,sometimes its a themed weekend with variety of acts. its short walk into town orbeach is at bottom of hill. our grandchilden love it here so much to do. we are booked in for 6 days in june and new year, last year we did xmas there it was great, accommodation good we usually manage to same room our thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: we like the higher rooms facing sea
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margarete780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have stayed at The Derwent Hotel four times now and each time we have been more than happy. Excellent facilities especially the swimming pools and the games room. Plenty for children to do on a rainy day. Good choice of food on menu and of a high standard for a hotel of this rating. Rooms clean if a little dated. Reception area also in need of modernisation. Overall a very good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 539LornaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,947 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing