We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spot on again!”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

stayed at the derwent sat and sun eve of bank hol weekend. was allocated rm 162. has had a refit of sorts, new carpet, wallpapaer and paint but same old curtains i think, did not match at all. furniture a bit of a mish mash as well! comfy beds. 3 of us staying room slept 4 so plenty of space. bathroom same as before a little dated but very clean. staff as usual were helpful food was fine, with plenty of choice. entertainment was good, both for the kids and older ones. weather was amazing which always helps. looking forward to our next stay which will berfore the end of the year. over the last 7 years we have stayed a couple of times a year for short breaks that surely speaks for itself. take into consideration what you will pay and the facilities on offer, always great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

just returned from derwent hotel in torquay what a nice place . handy 2 get 2 other places the hotel is rated as a 2 star but could easly make a 4 star good food nice staff very helpfull rooms were cleaned every day if i had 2 say anything bad about it the only thing i would say is that the eventime entertainment could do with improving and have some more lifts as 2 was not enough

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for your review. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Derwent from 12 to 15 April 2013 this was a surprise birthday present from my daughter. We had a lovely few days stay here. The room was small but with plenty of room for our clothes, a nice bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities, which were replenished every morning. Nice and clean and warm. The entertainment at night was okay, not brilliant but watchable. The food at the Aztec was brilliant, the side salad and dressing were gorgeous. Staff all friendly. Hotel is close to the harbour, a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and we will hopefully make a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I really pleased you enjoyed our bistro, found our staff to be friendly and want to visit again. I have noted your comment regarding our entertainment and have, possibly wrongly, assumed that you travelled with the other reviewer from Wales who also rated our entertainment poorly. Again we will take your feedback into account when planning our entertainment offering in future and would direct people reading this response to my fuller response to the review of the 21st April 2013 that concerns our entertainment offering. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was our third short mat bowling weekend at TLH, and it seems to get better each year. Rooms are very clean & tidy, the food is very good and all staff friendly and helpful. The other facilities available are plentiful. All in it is a very good value. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Booked this hotel for 27 family members dinner bed and breakfast, for one night.
The youngest being age 5 and the oldest nearly 80. Cannot fault any aspect of the hotel, from the food, ten pin bowling disco, quiz and cream teas arranged for the afternoon , nothing was to much trouble for any member of staff.
Our rooms were immaculate, and very warm.
They truly ensured that my mother in law will never forget her 70th

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona_WCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Room very small, however adequate. Food excellent. I have to agree with other reviewers that the evening entertainment is awful. The 'entertainers' joke between themselves and appear just to be performing for their own enjoyment not for the guests. Sometimes out of tune and really quite boring, we managed 15 minutes. If the management could get the entertainment right this would be a 5 star resort.
I have noticed that when the management respond to feedback they ignore the negative remarks. Instead of ignoring the feedback, why not do something about it?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your stay with the exception of our entertainment. Our general feedback regarding our entertainment is very good with over 84% of our customers rating it as either good or excellent. I do not always give a specific response to entertainment feedback, other than acknowledgment, as it is generally subjective. If we do receive a substantial amount of negative feedback regarding a specific act or relating to the appropriateness of an act given our wide audience we would review that act and respond to that feedback with specific action. We provide 365 days and nights of activities and entertainment. You have stated in your review that you only stayed for 15 mins; this would make it hard to give a full review of our entertainment offering. We do however take note and value your feedback. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

feels more like 4 star than 2 wish you had stellar lager but staff very pleasant and will definatley visit again great facilities evening entertainment was great fun great for public transport conveinient location for shops and walks

Room Tip: we were on 2nd and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 86 in Torquay
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing