We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygiene”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Although we had a pleasant stay we was very dissapointed to find the duvet cover had 2 medallion size blood stains on the top side a blue runner was placed over and tucked in so impossible for the maid to of not noticed this also found the lifts were very small to fit my husbands wheelchair comfortably staff very friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Reviewer
I am really pleased you had a pleasant stay and found our staff to be accommodating.
I am however really disappointed that the stain on the sheet has been missed by the Housekeeper, the Floor Supervisor and the Head Housekeeper. It is not often that I receive negative feedback regarding housekeeping standards. I would like you to rest assured that any shortfalls in standards raised either during a stay or after departure will be treated with the attention and urgency they deserve. I would request that you contact me at the hotel to provide more detail as to what room you occupied and the date you stayed. This can be done by email or by contacting the hotel. I hope that you feel able to provide this information. This allows us to identify any training that may be required, but I accept that our checks in place to ensure standards are maintained have failed on this occasion. I offer my sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for TLH Derwent Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Have just returned from a 5-day break at the Derwent. We have stayed here regularly over the past few years and always look forward to our visits. The rooms are very comfortable and the standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is very good. The food is lovely with plenty of choice. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there is a very welcoming atmosphere. This break was drinks-inclusive from 6-11 pm, which we found excellent! The house drinks list offered a good selection, all of which were very good. The entertainment is always good here. Kevin of KB Sounds provides great evenings of fun and mayhem, and he gives plenty of opportunity for ballroom, old time and line dancing. The in-house entertainments team are also very good - on this last visit they put together an excellent Las Vegas show. The entertainment continues until midnight with late night disco. There are plenty of quiet corners around the hotel for reading etc, and when the weather is good the sun terrace by the pool is great. There is also a lovely indoor pool. If you want a bit of pampering, visit the Aztec Spa for a treat - so relaxing! You can get a very good snack or meal in the Aztec Bistro. The hotel is very well situated for both the shops and the sea front, and there are regular buses to Paignton and Brixham, as well as services to other places if you prefer to leave the car in the car park. If you fancy a super cream tea, visit The Singing Kettle just down the road from the hotel - scrumptious! The hotel does look a little tired in some places, but on this last visit several of the bedrooms were being completely renovated. Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook Belgrave Road, which can sometimes be a bit noisy with the odd bit of traffic du...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojan2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thanks for your review. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Have visted this hotel many times over the years . had no problems to report . all brilliant . only trouble was that some rooms had the basin in it not in the bathroom. food good . service good. why have i got to keep adding more to this review.

Room Tip: ask for a room with basin in the bathroom not the bedroom
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thanks for your review. We are removing the basins from the few remaining rooms that still have them and creating walk in shower en suites. We are fully upgrading the entire room as this occurs. We have 175 rooms and are not too far away from completing that part of our improvement works. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Derwent from 29 April to 2 May. We had four days of glorious sunshine, a huge family room for two of us, and clean bed linen after two nights, lovely food and very friendly staff.
I've been to the hotel several times before but had never tried the Bistro. What a find! Lovely generous portions of good quality food, we actually regretted upgrading to half board as we would have happily eaten our evening meals there.
We will definitely be returning for another lovely break soon.

Room Tip: The road can be quite noisy from early morning, I always take earplugs with me so it doesn't aff...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bee1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for the review. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

stayed at the derwent sat and sun eve of bank hol weekend. was allocated rm 162. has had a refit of sorts, new carpet, wallpapaer and paint but same old curtains i think, did not match at all. furniture a bit of a mish mash as well! comfy beds. 3 of us staying room slept 4 so plenty of space. bathroom same as before a little dated but very clean. staff as usual were helpful food was fine, with plenty of choice. entertainment was good, both for the kids and older ones. weather was amazing which always helps. looking forward to our next stay which will berfore the end of the year. over the last 7 years we have stayed a couple of times a year for short breaks that surely speaks for itself. take into consideration what you will pay and the facilities on offer, always great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

just returned from derwent hotel in torquay what a nice place . handy 2 get 2 other places the hotel is rated as a 2 star but could easly make a 4 star good food nice staff very helpfull rooms were cleaned every day if i had 2 say anything bad about it the only thing i would say is that the eventime entertainment could do with improving and have some more lifts as 2 was not enough

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for your review. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Derwent from 12 to 15 April 2013 this was a surprise birthday present from my daughter. We had a lovely few days stay here. The room was small but with plenty of room for our clothes, a nice bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities, which were replenished every morning. Nice and clean and warm. The entertainment at night was okay, not brilliant but watchable. The food at the Aztec was brilliant, the side salad and dressing were gorgeous. Staff all friendly. Hotel is close to the harbour, a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and we will hopefully make a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I really pleased you enjoyed our bistro, found our staff to be friendly and want to visit again. I have noted your comment regarding our entertainment and have, possibly wrongly, assumed that you travelled with the other reviewer from Wales who also rated our entertainment poorly. Again we will take your feedback into account when planning our entertainment offering in future and would direct people reading this response to my fuller response to the review of the 21st April 2013 that concerns our entertainment offering. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
610 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,947 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing