We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to going back”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have been visiting the Derwent Hotel for over 20 years and even now my children are grown up they still find plenty to do at the hotel. It feels very home from home, with a very safe, comfortable environment for children and adults to have a great holiday. I have visited all times of the year and I have to say Christmas time is a must!! The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the hotel caters for all needs. It's a fantastic place to visit no matter what the weather as the indoor facilities are excellent. The food is of good quality and the service is second to none. The car parking is well organised and the rooms are very clean and welcoming. It's definitely worth a visit and I look forward to many great holidays there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the car park are much quieter than those on the road side but are equally as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

All round brilliant holiday. We received a warm welcome from the receptionist and received excellent service from the staff throughout our stay. The room was newly refurbished, clean comfortable and the housekeeping staff cleaned daily to a very high standard. The breakfast was
very tasty with plenty of choice. The Aztec pool and bistro were excellent and we had great fun playing table tennis, snooker and ten pin bowling in the games room. We enjoyed the karaoke and live band at Alberts Bar and loved the real ales which were available. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The service given by all the staff in the TLH group is second to none cannot rate them highly enough
We stayed at the Derwent for 8 nights 19/7/2013 cannot fault the value less than 800.00 for BB&EM where else could you get value like that with the amenities the hotel has
Our room was a little bit of a disappointment (163) being a little on the small side (think London hotel)
and the bathroom was tiny We also had no view except a brick wall and the room was so hot do wish hotels would put in windows that open more than a few inches - we are grown ups and can be trusted not to fall out - and the rooms on the fourth floor have windows that open
We requested a fan which was promptly delivered and was offered a possible room change on the Sunday but as we don't travel light could not be bothered
Saying all this we have stayed at TLH before (Carlton & Derwent) so we know room sizes vary and they cant all have good views so we were just unlucky I did get a peep at the newly refurbished rooms and they looked great (but you may loose your bath)
The rooms was spotless - no problem with linen - just put towels in bath a replenished each day
The restaurant was excellent bearing in mind this is a two star hotel - the meals were very good and compliments to the chef and all the serving staff
We don't tend to use the amenities in the evening as the ball rooms can get stuffy when its hot but Alberts or the Aztec bar are great for a drink outside and enjoyed the alfresco evening Thursday - shame its only once a week

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and a top floor if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Once again TLH hotels and the Derwent gave us a fantastic holiday . not our first time at the Derwent and won`t be the last ! food as always was excellent with good options for breakfast and evening meal , the service we had from staff was also outstanding . the facilities at hotel are excellent with the Aztec pool being a favourite of mine, the aztec bistro is also well worth a look for an afternoon snack/meal . An excellent sized room and bathroom on floor 2 which we have requested again for next year. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, service was excellent.

Room Tip: Request an ex standard plus room/twin room as these are far more spacious than a standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We visit every year and this year was as good as always! The weather helped! Pool and facilities excellent, the only thing was our room was very hot even with window open, I know you can't do anything about this just saying. The Bistro serves very good food at reasonable prices with a wide selection of drinks. All in all will a very good stay, certainly be returning again

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank KarenMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just come back after a wonderful week at the Derwent hotel. This was our first visit to TLH hotels and we were very impressed. We stayed dinner bed and breakfast. The food really was good you have your own table every day so you know where to go. There is a choice of meals and an option for children but they are very accommodating and you can order any combination on the menu. Our room was large and has plenty of cupboard space.
The complex itself is vast and we took some time just exploring! Our girls 9 & 6 used the Toby club and loved it, in the evenings the children can be left from 7:15 till 9pm and Mum & Dad can have some time to themselves.
We had a lovely holiday and would recommend it to all. Also the staff are all very good -enthusiastic entertainers, friendly bar staff and polite waiters and housekeepers.

Room Tip: The hotels are large so if you any mobility problems or you're carrying a baby around check wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had another excellent family holiday here! Our children had a fantastic time and made new friends, learnt to snorkel (in the Aztec pool with an extremely patient teacher), used the outdoor pool everyday ( such good weather), learnt to line dance.....so many things to do.
Our room was lovely and clean, maid service was excellent but did notice that we didn't get biscuits any more in the room! Afternoon tea is still served in The Derwent around 3.30, lovely.
The food choices again were very good with something for every one.
Love walking down to the harbour in the evening and the new 'Torquay Big Wheel' is a great attraction, the views over the harbour and to Brixham and Paignton are fantastic and its quite well priced.
My only complaint would be the amount of foreign students staying at the hotel, we were warned about them on our previous trip and never had any complaint This time they seemed to be hanging around on the landings late at night, not very comfortable when you are trying to get back to your room with a young family.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor along a corridor and up some stairs (room 364) which is fine if you are act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
619 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,497 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £69 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing