We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TLH Derwent Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South View(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nethway Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Riviera Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
489
457
160
51
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
489
457
160
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstarlight loungeten pin bowlingentertainment teamaztec bistrokb soundsalberts barindoor bowlsaztec poolstar hotelother hotelstlh groupfamily hotelland trainkids clubtable tennisevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have been visiting the Derwent Hotel for over 20 years and even now my children are grown up they still find plenty to do at the hotel. It feels very home from home, with a very safe, comfortable environment for children and adults to have a great holiday. I have visited all times of the year and I have to say Christmas time is a must!! The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the hotel caters for all needs. It's a fantastic place to visit no matter what the weather as the indoor facilities are excellent. The food is of good quality and the service is second to none. The car parking is well organised and the rooms are very clean and welcoming. It's definitely worth a visit and I look forward to many great holidays there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the car park are much quieter than those on the road side but are equally as nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

All round brilliant holiday. We received a warm welcome from the receptionist and received excellent service from the staff throughout our stay. The room was newly refurbished, clean comfortable and the housekeeping staff cleaned daily to a very high standard. The breakfast was
very tasty with plenty of choice. The Aztec pool and bistro were excellent and we had great fun playing table tennis, snooker and ten pin bowling in the games room. We enjoyed the karaoke and live band at Alberts Bar and loved the real ales which were available. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The service given by all the staff in the TLH group is second to none cannot rate them highly enough
We stayed at the Derwent for 8 nights 19/7/2013 cannot fault the value less than 800.00 for BB&EM where else could you get value like that with the amenities the hotel has
Our room was a little bit of a disappointment (163) being a little on the small side (think London hotel)
and the bathroom was tiny We also had no view except a brick wall and the room was so hot do wish hotels would put in windows that open more than a few inches - we are grown ups and can be trusted not to fall out - and the rooms on the fourth floor have windows that open
We requested a fan which was promptly delivered and was offered a possible room change on the Sunday but as we don't travel light could not be bothered
Saying all this we have stayed at TLH before (Carlton & Derwent) so we know room sizes vary and they cant all have good views so we were just unlucky I did get a peep at the newly refurbished rooms and they looked great (but you may loose your bath)
The rooms was spotless - no problem with linen - just put towels in bath a replenished each day
The restaurant was excellent bearing in mind this is a two star hotel - the meals were very good and compliments to the chef and all the serving staff
We don't tend to use the amenities in the evening as the ball rooms can get stuffy when its hot but Alberts or the Aztec bar are great for a drink outside and enjoyed the alfresco evening Thursday - shame its only once a week

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and a top floor if you want a view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Once again TLH hotels and the Derwent gave us a fantastic holiday . not our first time at the Derwent and won`t be the last ! food as always was excellent with good options for breakfast and evening meal , the service we had from staff was also outstanding . the facilities at hotel are excellent with the Aztec pool being a favourite of mine, the aztec bistro is also well worth a look for an afternoon snack/meal . An excellent sized room and bathroom on floor 2 which we have requested again for next year. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, service was excellent.

Room Tip: Request an ex standard plus room/twin room as these are far more spacious than a standard double.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We visit every year and this year was as good as always! The weather helped! Pool and facilities excellent, the only thing was our room was very hot even with window open, I know you can't do anything about this just saying. The Bistro serves very good food at reasonable prices with a wide selection of drinks. All in all will a very good stay, certainly be returning again

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank KarenMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews