We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our second stay at the Derwent, and it won't be our last. Tremendous value, and fabulous facilities. The rooms have been upgraded since last time which is a bonus. The food and the staff were excellent as before. Something for all the family to do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soprano30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have been to TLH for several years now, and have stayed at all 4 of the hotels within the group. We are always drawn back to the Derwent due to the variety of food and how well it caters for our kids. We normally do a short back but chose to stay for 7 nights in August and had a fantastic time. Entertainment/Food/Service was all excellent. It certainly does not feel like a 2 star hotel and with the continued refurbishment going on I think they deserve at least a 3 star rating as they are definitely on par with the other 3 hotels in the group.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have stayed in the Derwent Hotel for last 5 summer holidays and last 2 Christmas's.
Sadly this time was our last.The hotel is not up to the standard of previous holidays.
The food was not as good as previous years. The hotplate was cleared 10 mins before the end of dinner.The adult entertainment was embarrassingly poor. I will commend the team who looked after the childrens club as first class as always.The Starlight Lounge and The Med Bar had no air conditioning was so hot that we retired outside before collapsing.I spoke to a manager who was unsympathetic and didn't give any answers. A lot of the good staff seemed to have jumped ship.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Lynne, I am genuinely sorry to read that you did not find this visit to be a good as previous ones.
I will address your comments. Our Head Chef has been with us for over 25 years and the Restaurant Manager for over 15 so I am disappointed that you felt the food element of your stay was not as good, all indicators are still suggesting improvements year on year from our comment cards and other feedback. I have already passed on your comments in this area. They should not be clearing any food until the end of food service and my Head Chef was surprised to hear this may have happened.
The entertainments expenditure has only ever increased each year and our Entertainments Manager Zoe has been with us for over 5 years, again I will pass on your comments which will be taken into account when reviewing next year’s programme. We have increased our daytime entertainment offering this year with the addition of scuba jets, a climbing wall and new children’s play area to name a few.
It is true that we are having issues with our Starlight Air-conditioning. This was upgraded less than 12 months ago to provide better cooling and heating. We are currently waiting on several parts that have failed and are still under warranty. I am truly sorry this has affected your stay. In regards to the Mediterranean Bar this has never had air-conditioning and does not usually cause an issue. We have had extremely hot weather recently which has caused this to be mentioned. If this pattern of hot weather in the summer continues, and we hope it will, we will review this.
I was surprised to read your comment “the good staff seemed to have jumped ship”. The following is however true. My previous Front of House Manager found love in Wales and visits occasionally. Netty was with us for over 25+ years and her deputy is now our Front of House Manager. One of my Duty Managers, a previous restaurant manager Melvyn also retired after 30+ years service.
I will take up your feedback with the Duty Manager you saw regarding the Air-conditioning and their perceived customer service.
The vast majority or 80% of our staff are the same people as a year before. Some have moved departments and some have been promoted to other parts of the business, this is true of most years as we try to develop our people.
We care a lot about customer service and we care about how our staff and guests are looked after. We also care when we get it wrong. As your view is the only one that matters to you we care that we got it wrong in your case. I hope that you do decide to visit again and give us the opportunity to reinstall your faith in us.
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lovely clean hotel food very good only problem found some of the rooms are a little small location was very good the pool was very clean and the entertainment was very good for children staff could not do enough and the reception staff were excellent car parking was a bit difficult at times but secure

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed at derwent befor not as impressed as before room was good food good.Entertaiment one good night out of six .have been spoilt in the passed very dissapointed. spoke to people who thought it was good so this is what i think.

Room Tip: Third floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We visited this weekend and arrived early Friday afternoon. The rooms were available from 3pm onwards although we were told we could check in earlier. The reception staff could not have been more helpful. Although our room was smallish, it was clean and comfortable. The facilities were second to none and the 2 star rating was well below the standard we would have expected for a hotel of this quality. We were amazed at the array of activities catered for and the restaurants provided a high quality of food. The staff were extremely helpful, hard-working and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. We have not visited Torquay before but would book this hotel every time from now on. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Road side rooms are noisier but more going on outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

As soon as we pulled up outside the hotel to see the smokers congregating outside I had a bad feeling, the condition of the hotel looked poor and needed renovating.
We checked in and had to pay upfront, we were given our key card and went to find our room 269 on floor two. First impressions were very basic like a throw back from the 70's, very old fashioned furniture and fittings.The bathroom needed a full refit. On closer inspection the room really was dirty, the walls were so dusty that a previous guest had drawn what looked like a penis in the dust, the walls had brown splashes all over the place.
In the bathroom the extractor fan was clogged with dirt,dust and other bathroom anomalies.
The hotel itself was again so old, the carpets were so worn in areas it had been taped and because of wet weather pots were placed on floors to collect rain water. The staff seemed polite and busy, we paid £88 for one night on a Saturday with breakfast included which is probably the highlight of our stay.
The owners need to spend some serious cash to bring this place into the 21st century.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbaby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 85 in Torquay
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing