We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a short 3 day break food very good quality and quantity, and staff excelent from bar to bed room reception to dining, room had been re furbished so was good but a little small,
Swimming games room great, jacuzzi does need some serious work done on it, lets them down a bit.
Looking forward to a return in the spring with friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIESPRINGETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to say that the Jacuzzi should be replaced in January 2014. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have visited this hotel in the past, and once again I must say it has been a wonderful few days away. Yes the hotel may need updating in certain areas but one one thing they do have is first class staff and the restaurant food is of high quality. If you do get the chance go and see the comedian midweek worth seeing, rooms are clean and tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLS4315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It was my 21st birthday weekend and my partner booked the derwent hotel last minute as a suprise, we come to torquay regularly with our families and have used the facilities before at the hotel but never stayed there, facilities and restraunts were lovely and food was at a very reasonable price, staff were so friendly.. And had a lovely male receptionist which worked there over night advise me and my partner on the best places to go on a night out in torquay, the only down fall was the room. It was so small and the floor was on a slant it felt as it we were going to sleep upside down we stayed in room 338 and wish we had complained that night as it really was a disappointment as we were only there one night it wasn't a big deal, if we were to go back to the derwent I'd definitely querie the room if it were given one like last time. Paid £92 for one night to sleep in a box room over looking the dust bin area. Other than that lovely hotel, lovely facilities and really friendly staff

Room Tip: If given a room that you do not approve of ask to be moved, me and my partner wish we had. If we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your review.We are in the throes of a major refurbishment program. All of our bedrooms including those that have not yet been refurbished should be clean and well above the minimum 2* requirement. We strive to be much more than our 2* grading and for the most part we are. We hope that within the next 12 months we are in a position to apply for our next star, once our refurbishment program is almost completed. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our party of 5 had a wonderful 4 day break.
The food was good - the service was excellent from reception to dining room - the evening entertainment was above average.
The trip was undertaken under difficult personal circumstances but proved more enjoyable than we had hoped for due to the understanding staff.
Congratulations to all concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have visited this group of hotels over the past 25 years and always enjoyed our stays, we have recommended this hotel to our friends who also have enjoyed it.We enjoyed all the hotels but our favourite is the Derwent,The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the restaurant staff and manager outstanding and food likewise.Daphne

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here before 3times! Absolutely brilliant weekend ,introduced friends to the complex they thoroughly enjoyed it as well.Downside is parking !!! will get even the most patience of us in a mood, really needs to be addressed possibly get in touch with the Riviera Center to come to some agreement to use part of their car park at the complex's most busiest times as an overspill.
Anyway wont put us off as we have already booked to go back in March 2014 for Beatles weekend,cant wait! [ i really do mean that, may have another trip before March as there are plenty more variables before then .
p.s.Thanks to all the staff from reception to bar staff,cleaners.waiting staff you helped made our stay even better.Just a quickie to the management please get on to your bosses for more drinks inclusive weekends free, your competition in the area are offering this,.. also on a self drive basis .Anyway thanks again see you soon.

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms do tend to have a lot of traffic noise .Some people give the Derwent a slating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for a week. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the wait for the lift could be rather long due to it not holding many people. It was easier to walk down. The food was excellent as was the service. There was so much on offer in the hotel, catering for all ages, we were spoiled for choice with things to occupy our time. The room was clean and not overly large but we didn't actually spend much time there. The hotel was within walking distance of the sea. We would most definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winnie2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 86 in Torquay
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 86 in Torquay
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £63 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing