We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year makes!”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Further to my last visit to the Derwent Hotel being rather disappointing, we decided to go again over the New Year to join friends. The hotel has much improved since our last visit {Dec1 2012}. The overall interior look now meets expectations, the staff are kind and really friendly and the food quality has really improved. It was a pleasure to be waited upon by such professional young people and our room was really clean and comfortable. I would now have no problem recommending this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are working hard at improving our general appearance as well as investing over 1 million pounds in our property this year. We hope that you visit again and see further improvements that are already taking place. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    430
    148
    43
    29
See reviews for
353
317
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have stayed here several times, the last time we were disappointed, rooms were looking tired and outdated. As we need a family room, we were pleased to see the room had been redecorated and modern touches have been put in place. As always the food was lovely and portions more than adequate. The facilities are outstanding, with indoor and outdoor pools. The entertainment staff are keen and keep you entertained with a daily timetable. If you do not want to leave the hotel, there is lots on offer, you can even watch people playing indoor bowls. My only complaint would be with the Play area and games zone, this was unfinished and things missing with areas fenced off. It maybe if we return this too has been updated!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 625Elsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We try hard to keep getting better, this will never end. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

2 star not a chance!!! 5 star attention to detail and 5++++ staff. Fantastic food throughout the break, entertainment was so brilliant the entertainment team, and professional act's were so good,The Gala Buffet evening superb. We felt special as did all the guests, something going on all day, excellent swimming pools, on new years day, The Torbay Lions Club put on an afternoon of racing making money for a specially adapted bicycle for an amputee. Enjoyed ourselves so much booked before we left for next new year. Thank you for one of the best New Years breaks we have had for a very long time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
It was fantastic. I know I shouldn't say so myself but it was a great break full of familiar faces. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We are having a fantastic time here at the Derwent Hotel, last nights New Years Eve party was fabulous the entertainment team were rocking and they really pulled out all the stops so we could have fun. To the staff here at the Derwent thank you for being so good at your jobs you deserve every accolade going. Mr Garside you have a great team and to the resteraunt staff and the chefs tonight's buffet was perfection. So to the cleaners,bar staff, reception staff, chefs, waiting staff and Jim Bowman a very big thank you. To the guys and girls on the entertainment team you rock.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiddieWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you. I remember you from New Year. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

we have stayed several times for girlie weekends , as always the service was excellent. the staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you. always very clean. the food is fantastic highly recommend the Derwent and the surrounding hotels in the TLH group.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miche999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I found myself needing a room in Torquay at very short notice within walking distance of the rail station, and booking.com came up trumps with this place. I paid £30 per night bed and breakfast for a single room which I thought was very good value as I booked on my day of arrival. I was probably not the target customer for this hotel at the time of year but I was made to feel welcome.

The lady on reception was pleasant, and seemed keen for me to use the inclusive facilities. Lifts were dated and slow - I would recommend using the stairs unless you are carrying luggage as its much quicker. The room was clean and adequately furnished. The bathroom was a little dated but everything worked. TV with a wide selection of channels, and I slept fine in the room.

Breakfast was fine, I was impressed that when I went down on the second morning the guy who seated me the previous day remembered my name, and I was also impressed by service from Daniel at breakfast. The food was good too for an inclusive breakfast.

The hotel is part of a complex with 3 other hotels with a courtyard style outdoor swimming pool between them, which I imagine would be popular for family holidays in the summer. As it was winter, one of the hotels contained an "Aztec" indoor swimming pool and spa which I made use of. The pool especially was very nice. The spa was a little tired but there is a sign advising it will be replaced in the new year.

All in all I would be happy to stay here again. I encountered no problems, but I believe if I had the staff would have been very keen to resolve them, as overall the staff in this hotel seemed to be some of the most enthusiastic I have seen in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you had an enjoyable break. We are working on bedroom refurbishments. I hope that you are able to visit again and see the improvements we have made. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent 4 excellent nights at the Derwent Hotel, and as always had thoroughly good time. The facilities are excellent value for money. Very clean hotel and good choice of food and plenty of it. There is a variety of entertainment to keep you occupied, such as line dancing with Chris, Quizzes, Tea and biscuits and Bingo followed by a variety of dancing with Kevin of KB Sounds. Then, back to bed and await the breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Whether you are in a room at the front or the back, you still have a quiet, pleasant and most of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Happy New Year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
598 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing