We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 4 day stay!!”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great 4 day stay!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have stayed at the Derwent many times & I feel that the overall standard has improved greatly. Food was very good, the rooms redecoration is excellent, the entertainment was wonderful & the comedian Hank Sherman went down a storm!
Kevin of KB Sounds was his usual superb entertaining self. He had the room jumping & he brings so many people back to the Derwent Hotel. He is a great asset to the TLH resort & long may he reign!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    419
    142
    39
    29
See reviews for
342
302
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blewbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at this 2 star hotel over a weekend so that we could attend a function at the Riviera Conference Centre which is 2 minutes walk away.
The hotel is somewhat dilapidated, with thread bare carpets in a number of places, particularly the stairs ,and the creakiest floors in the hallways that I have ever come across! There are at least 4 floors of rooms, with the hotel being much larger than one imagines. The lifts, 2 of them, are very small so when the hotel is busy you have to wait quite a while. The rooms seem to be miles away from the lifts and I had to take two suitcases up at least 10 stairs on the way to the room from the lift. I am an OAP so found this difficult.
The room was clean and the beds comfortable. There are coffee and tea making facilities which were welcome. , and the flat TV had an excellent picture.
However, the main problem was the noise of people walking/running past the room late at night. The corridor flooring is so creaky it became a real problem. Not so much early on but after midnight towards 1.00 am when people were returning to their rooms we were woken up purely by people walking past the door.
The restaurant was rather like a dining hall , with people queuing to go to dinner at 6.30pm.
However on the plus side the staff at the hotel were very pleasant, the food was good and plentiful, and the other facilities, the swimming pool, bars etc which are shared with other hotels adjoining which are part of the TLH Group were obviously popular.
Last downside was the difficulty in parking. This was a nightmare. We eventually found somewhere close to the hotel and didn't move the car for the whole time we were there because of the worry that we wouldn't find any where to park again. The time it took to get two suitcases from the room down a flight of stairs, along corridors,down with the lift, up two or three further flights of stairs and then to the car in the car park and back again in reverse using the lift was at the least 10 minutes. Not the end of the world, at least we parked in the hotel car park, but not satisfactory .
I wouldn't use this hotel again. However it's good value for money, the children will like the pool and entertainment, and the staff are very friendly, so if you can put up with noise from the floorboards, threadbare stair carpets and long distances from Reception to the room then it could certainly prove ok.

Room Tip: front of hotel rooms facing the road may be noisy from traffic late at night,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliasmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post you review. The hotel is undergoing investment over the next 12 months to move it forward to a three star product. We hope that you return and see the fruits of our labour. Your comments are all duly noted. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked for a three night break away,what a great four days we had,just had to ask to extend our stay,would have stayed longer but the hotel was fully booked thereafter.Anyone looking for a trouble free break will be looked after here.Food,?,well i am a big food fan ,Huge Breakfast!!,all well presented,just ask and its on your plate!!.Egg Bacon,Sausage,Hash Brown,Fried Bread,Beans and Tomatoes,with toast and all of the cereals including porridge!, with tomato juice,orange juice,.The fruit starters included orange,grapefruit and prunes,.The usual bread roll and toast made up your start to the day.The staff were so efficient and friendly,they made the day start so well.The facilities in this Four Hotel complex are second to non,The pool area is such a joy,Bowls? well it has a full sized inside arena.,very busy,Ten pin bowling.?two lanes,Pool tables?,numerous,darts? yes,Slot machines are there if the need takes you.What else can i say,if the weather turns ,you can just stay inside,so much to do.The evening meal is just so filling,we did manage to finish the three courses just once!,This hotel has only a two star rating,BUT a five star in our opinion for the food alone,it will i understand be gaining a third star this year,(much deserved)if the chit chat is correct !.Thank you all for a great stay,we will be returning in the very near future BUT we will be asking for a rear of building room as the front one we had was a bit noisy with the delivery vehicles,(our ONLY fault),enjoy your stay folks,i am sure you will not be let down.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

“If we’re going to the conference in Torquay on Friday 28th February, and travelling down to have a night over on the 27th, my dad’s birthday, why don’t we take him with us as a birthday treat?” This was my wife’s idea of a fun 89th birthday for Fred, her dear old dad who is far from nimble these days.

As some other friends and colleagues had already booked a stay at the Derwent Hotel for the event we were all due to attend, and the prices to stay there seemed quite reasonable, I booked a double for my wife and I and a single room for good old Fred. After a pleasant trundle down the M5 from the Midlands, also giving a lift to a friend who had previously stayed at the Derwent, we arrived just before the 3 pm checking in time for the hotel.

The car park is to the rear of the hotel and due to the hill you park on the top. Leaving my wife and father in law in the car I went to check in which was when I realised the Derwent, which s a warren of a place, is not really the most disabled friendly place to be. After asking about getting my doddery old father in law, and his wheelchair in to the hotel, I was instructed to take him in through the fire door from the car park to the lift. Getting him and his wheelchair into the small lift was another challenge which due to a bit of bad planning by me left me on the wrong side of the lift unable to reach the buttons. Suddenly the lift set off and we arrived on the wrong floor where I had to ask a chap to press the button for the second floor for me.

Despite this initial setback our rooms were clean and looked as if they had been freshly decorated, the beds and furnishings were good and to add to it the staff were really friendly and helpful too. They helped us by providing a raised toilet seat for Fred as he found the toilet too low. All we had to do was ask and within an hour it was there in his room.

There were six of us in all staying there that night, one had previously booked an evening meal and the rest of us were there on a B&B basis, that was until five of us decided to all have dinner in the hotel together, which the head waiter started to arrange for us but then we added the sixth when our other friend decided he wanted to join us - again this was no trouble for the hotel staff even though we had sprung all this on them with little notice.

Regarding the food, the evening meal is a three course meal with not a great choice on the menu, however, the breakfast was excellent with a good and plentiful choice.

As stated the Derwent Hotel is a maze of a place, it has two swimming pools and we even stumbled across an indoor crown green bowling area where two games were being played at the same time. All this is in addition of several bars in the hotel and an outdoor swimming pool too.

Other than the tricky business of getting my father in law, and his wheel chair around this warren of the hotel, I really liked and rated the Derwent and think it is deserving of more than just two stars - we will certainly return to the Derwent, if and when we have the good fortune to head back to Torquay

Room Tip: As this is an older hotel the layout of the place is not the best for disabled visitors, but not imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review. We have a full accesss statement for each hotel on our website. This is a useful tool if you are think of staying with us and have restricted mobility.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Derwent as part of the TLH group (along with the Carlton, Toorak and Victoria) shares certain facilities with the other hotels e.g. the indoor swimming pool. So it's perhaps important to consider and rate those aspects that relate to each hotel individually, aside from the shared facilities.

Positive aspects of the shared facilities include the indoor pool which is much larger than in most hotels. I did find it a little odd entering one communal changing / locker area even if there are individual changing rooms to dress and undress in. The showers are also communal so you need to shower in your swimmers before changing. Towel hire is £1 per towel so if you want to avoid paying this take your own.

Each person must comment on the hotels as they find them but it seems odd to me that the Derwent and the Toorak are both showing an average 4 rating. Having previously stayed at both hotels in my opinion the Toorak has far superior bedrooms and restaurant facilities. Of course the room rates for each hotel reflect that.

The bedroom was clean and tidy but small with limited storage space if you are coming for a two week holiday. The en suite shower cubicle may prove to be a little challenging for the 'larger' person. The bedroom walls are very thin and the floorboards very creaky as are those in the corridors. That said the bed was comfortable and I managed a good night's sleep. I found this category hard to rate as 'Poor' seems too harsh but the size of the rooms, the creaky floors and thin walls do warrant a below average rating.

Most disappointing was to see the corridor and stair carpeting badly worn to the point of being held in place by duct tape in one area. Well overdue for replacing. There are small lifts to the bedrooms otherwise the stairs are narrow and steep.

Breakfast felt more like a school cafeteria than a dining experience. There was a long queue for the hot food and only one chef serving. The food wasn't being individually cooked so why not put it out on the hot plate for guests to serve themselves? Or is this to prevent over gorging? I noticed some guests taking cartons / jugs of juice to their tables rather than filling their glasses at the serving stations. Perhaps need to use juice dispensers to prevent this? Having been told on arrival that it was self service it seemed strange to be joining a queue. The cold selection of fruit, juices, yoghurt and cereals was good.

A pat on the back for the staff in the Aztec Bistro and bar. Having arrived there on a deadline for eating before going to the Theatre they handled the order promptly, efficiently and in a friendly manner. Nice to have sandwiches with real as opposed to cardboard ham too. Thank you.

The location is handy within a 10-15 minutes walk to the seafront and the Princess Theatre. There is on site parking with a reasonable sized car park. This did appear to fill quite quickly so I wonder how it copes at the height of the summer season?

Overall the Derwent is pitched more at the budget end of the market and looks to maximise the number of available rooms at the expense of room size. As long as you remember this when booking you have less chance of being disappointed. I would use the hotel again although if I were staying for any length of time I would personally prefer to pay extra and stay at the Toorak.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and my self stayed there for 1 night and took the extra £10 each option for the 3 course evening meal, to be fair that was a total mistake as the food was shocking, after complaining we had our money back, the breakfast wasn't much better in our opinion, the room was dated but clean, and I can't really recommended the hotel to anyone

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our restaurant food during your 1 night stay. Thankfully this is not the experience of the vast majority of people that stay with us. I can only assume that you negative experience is an isolated one. I will pass on your comments to our Chefs. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had a 3 night stay over valentines weekend, our room was clean well decorated and serviced daily,
Food was excellent with a varied choice of meals and again the service was excellent.
Great entertainment at night also.

all in all very good value for money, we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and it had been fully refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing