We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the Derwent from 28/03/14 - 31/03/14. This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel. We love the relaxing atmosphere, location and the Spa. Staff are always friendly and hotel is always clean. The food is also good. Great value for money. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev_Shaun_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just back from 3 nights at the Derwent, not a bad hotel but not brilliant either. On arrival I parked in the car park to the side of the hotel, next to another TLH hotel, The Victoria. There were approximately 8 spaces which, I thought, for such a big hotel was totally inadequate. On checking in, the receptionist, although very friendly, didn't ask for my registration number or offer any information on the car park. I found out 2 days later that there was a much bigger car park at the back of the hotel which would have saved me a lot of effort in parking and trying to get out of the tiny spaces!

The rooms are great, spotlessly clean and décor is more than adequate. Best thing was the shower though, hot and powerful. However, the corridors are horrendous, narrow with uneven floors which made it very difficult for my 84 year old mother to negotiate. The floorboards are also VERY creaky, which doesn't bode well for a good night's sleep when people are coming back to their rooms in the early hours. Also, there was a good 1.5 inches shaved off the bottom of my bedroom door which let the corridor light in and didn't help the noise situation. Added to this was the fact that every time my neighbour had a shower or flushed the toilet it was like a tornado had hit the room. I could also hear the conversations of people next door and across the corridor.


The ground floor rooms are good, nice comfy sofas in the foyer, dining room nicely furnished and the social areas are quite nice. Didn't try out the pool but it looked good.

The food didn't start well but got better as time went on. The breakfasts were definitely not up to scratch, I had undercooked fried egg on the first morning and the sausages were awful, like Tesco value sausages. The second day I just had scrambled egg and some toast which was ok but on the last morning decided to try the cooked breakfast again minus the sausages. This time my fried egg came complete with eggshell. I was amazed as the hotel warns guests about norovirus and has a hand sanitizer at the entrance to the restaurant but eggshell contains the salmonella virus, surely mistakes like this should not be happening?

The evening meal was better, although the fish cake on the first night was really bland. The chocolate and orange gateaux made up for it though. Plaice and chips on the second night was adequate but the last night meal of poached cod in white wine sauce was really good, credit to the chef for that one.

Now to the weak point of the hotel - the entertainment. I'll be honest, I'm not a fan of this type of hotel but I booked it as it is easier, when holidaying with a pensioner, to stay on the premises rather than go out looking for something to do in the evenings. Started ok with a few games of bingo, then we had a guy called Kevin who came on and - well - I don't really know what the act was. It seemed to consist of asking people for requests and playing them on his laptop. Oh he also blew up a few inflatables and made 'jokes' about them. To give Kevin his due, he seemed a really nice guy and was very popular with the guests, I just don't know what he was supposed to be doing. Anyway, he was miles better than the next act, a comedian, who has to be the unfunniest comedian I've seen in a long while (and I've seen loads of them, famous and not so famous). He said he wasn't going to be like modern comedians who swear all the time (not strictly true) which is fine as long as you're funny. Perhaps it's just me as other people were laughing like drains all through the act. I was worried when he came on and said he was like Jethro, another unfunny comedian. The next night was much better when the young people from the entertainment team put on a 'Viva Las Vegas' show. They were all very talented, great singers and dancers and I was quite impressed. Only weak link in the show was another comedian, Steve, who was great when he was singing but again, the comedy let the hotel down, another unfunny comedian. The last night Kevin was back with his 'act'. He was better this time, dividing the room into 2 teams and having them guess the intros to songs. Good fun but Kevin, please realise we're not all pensioners and also, that not all pensioners like this type of music. I'm not a youngster but I was so looking forward to some Rolling Stones, Beatles, T.Rex, Roxy Music etc etc, I'm sorry but Frank Ifield and Helen Shapiro don't do it for me (or lots of other middle aged people and young at heart pensioners).

For me the saving grace of this hotel is it's staff who were excellent throughout our stay. Special mention to Mike, our waiter who was brilliant, and to the young members of the entertainment team.

Room Tip: Any room which has a full length door and doesn't lie on a creaky corridor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula121065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here a few times with family and will return again.
The rooms are a little dated but nice and clean .
Loads to do for kids .
The staff are lovely and the food is gorgeous. The worst thing is the parking not enough spaces .

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Pollyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Derwent in March for five nights. On arrival looked adequate for a two star hotel and we parked fine (car park to the rear). Room was a good sized double with a good sized bathroom - great shower! Seemed clean enough on the surface. I then noticed the carpets around the edges hadn't been hoovered properly, for a long time as was thick with dust! It was the same on all the corridors. As the days passed I don't even think our room was hoovered at all, or the sink cleaned.
The food wasn't bad at all for a two star, just could've been warmer. You do feel rushed to finish your food, we don't all need to get the best seats in the house for bingo! I did point this out to the restaurant manager and he very politely had words with the staff, and we weren't rushed again.
The entertainment was great, especially The Las Vegas show, who were fantastic. Great singers and very funny too.
The facilities are excellent and there's so much to do with being linked to the other hotels.
We wouldn't stay at the Derwent again due to poor cleanliness.I don't worry too much if carpets are a little threadbare, but please just clean them properly! We've stayed in many two star hotels, better value and spotlessly clean.Would consider the Victoria if we returned to Torquay.

Room Tip: Just make sure it's clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank williamredruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for posting your review. I have discussed your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager. We rarely get any negative feedback regarding our cleanliness, but take all feedback seriously. Our rooms are audited each month to assess our standards. I am glad that you enjoyed the other elements of your break. We were fully occupied during the Easter holidays and feedback in general has been very positive. We hope that you do visit our complex again on a future occasion. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Derwent Hotel 7th until 11th April 2014, this must be our seventh or eighth visit to TLH. Our stay was very enjoyable, and super value. The staff were so polite and helpful, the food in the restraint was very acceptable for a 2 star hotel, and the evening entertainment in the Starlight Lounge was good, although we've seen Viva Los Vegas three times now. Now looking forward to our next visit to TLH, Torquay.

Room Tip: We accept what we get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyjones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for posting your review. I have discussed your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager. We rarely get any negative feedback regarding our cleanliness, but take all feedback seriously. Our rooms are audited each month to assess our standards. I am glad that you enjoyed the other elements of your break. We were fully occupied during the Easter holidays and feedback in general has been very positive. We hope that you do visit our complex again on a future occasion. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Went as two couples,The whole place is superb,that,s why we all keep going back.Everything is just right.There was one small problem though that needs to be put right,we will not be able to return before July,so here goes,
Have a happy retirement Stuart from the bar,thanks for all the years of fun and laughter you have given us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Stuart will be missed. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Only stayed one night. Room was lovely with a super king sized bed and bath and shower and lovely and clean. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren and the floors are a bit creaky but that didn't make any difference to us. The evening entertainment was really good and we also spent part of the night in Alberts Bar which is below the hotel where there was karaoke on, with some excellent singers. Would definitely go again and try and use all the other facilities available as they all look lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bed as my daughter stayed there and got a small room with a smaller double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your review. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 86 in Torquay
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#31 of 86 in Torquay
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 86 in Torquay
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing