We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel dinners ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel dinners ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The showers in both of our rooms were good. Games room and swimming pools were ok. Breakfast food bland but adequate.

Generally shabby furnishings; dirty carpets; rusty fittings etc. We didn't feel strongly about these and it's a fairly cheap 2-star hotel so maybe fair enough not to expect too much.

But not enjoyable to be honest. Too noisy, too hot, beds uncomfortable and . . . we'd made the huge mistake of booking half board. The food in the evening was absolutely dreadful. Examples: (1) so-called Minestrone soup was actually tinned tomato soup with some pasta dropped into it. (2) chicken & sweetcorn soup was tinned chicken soup with added tinned sweetcorn. (3) Roast beef was thoroughly dried out from overcooking, which might have been saved by some decent gravy but no: that was packet stuff watered down (so this was basically mildly flavoured hot water with dry roast beef. uurgh. (4) I just can't describe the vegetable curry, it was so awful. I love Indian food, and this had no Indian connection whatsoever. In fact it had paprika in it I think. Two mouthfuls was two too many.

So, even though we'd already paid for the evening meals beforehand, after the first three evenings (believe me, we really tried to like it) we ate out every night after that.

Don't stay here. But if you must, only book B&B.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose a room at the back. Much too noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I am genuinely surprised by you food comments. You only have to read other reviews to know that this sort of feedback is minimal. I have discussed your review with our Head Chef who will take this as constructive feedback. Our Head Chef has been with us for over 20 years and remains committed to providing an excellent food offering. We will be continuing with upgrades to our public areas in the coming months once the main summer season is over. Our 7.5acre site is for the most part very well maintained and has been modernised over the last few years. The few remaining dated areas will soon be refurbished to a modern standard. This investment is continuous and as a family business we remain committed to this approach. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    414
    139
    39
    29
See reviews for
340
297
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Positives:
Staff - very friendly and helpful
Leisure facilities - great inc swimming pools
Food - Very good for this kind of hotel

Negatives: We visited with an elderly relative who uses a wheelchair - corridors were very narrow, lifts were too small and awkward to navigate the chair into them. Not very suitable.
Décor is very dated
If you get a room on the street side - ask to be moved - the noise from 5:30 from delivery staff is incessant

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We have access statements on our website relating to our four hotels. The other 3 hotels on our site have wider corridors. This may be useful information should you choose to visit us again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just got back home after our first stay at the Derwent Hotel. Could not fault the hotel, facilities brilliant, staff very friendly, our room was nice and clean. The food was excellent I think I have put on 5lbs but take that as a compliment to the chefs.
The pool was rather cold but we did not have to get up at a stupid hour to put our towels on the sun beds. Something said for English holidays. We would definitely go back, would love to take the Grand children. Well done and thank you.

Jane Dowell

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is quieter as you are off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Ash
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is graded as a two star,which slightly confused me I thought hotel gradings were based on facilities. The complex has everything you could wish for, two indoor pools,,sauna,steam room,gym,and a indoor entertainment venue which has tenpin bowling,snooker & pool tables and an amusement arcade,plus two outdoor pools.
There is also a playground for the kids. The rooms were ok for the price which included tea & coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV. The breakfast was good with an ample selection, although it was a little chaotic at peak time.great night time entertainment which ranged from singers & comedians to Kareoke.
The only small complaint that I could mention is the squeaking floor boards due to the hotel being quite old,but apart from that my stay was spot on,(even the sun shone)
If you are going to Torquay you will not go wrong with this complex

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Really nice play to stay. The pool facilities are really great the jacuzzi was nice and hot. 2 indoor pools to choose between 1 being very big.
Great location, up a hill a bit from sea front but it's only a short walk.
Lovely breakfast and nice bistro cafe.
Rooms quite small but ample for what we needed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1m9y92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

All I can say was I'm glad I picked stay at this hotel! Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights for a relaxing holiday while my partner was in germany.
You get what you have paid for. I didnt realize how big this hotel actually was.... the pool is lovely and clean (the ones inside and out), always a life guard on duty.
The hotel was really clean couldnt fault it at all. The breakfast was super... nice wide choice!
The staff were brilliant especially on my stay when I was ill during the last bit I couldnt thank them enough for what they did for me!
I would definitely stay here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether its couples, families etc it was worth every penny. Definitely got the thumbs up from me guys!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We knew this was a 2 star and were not expecting too much when we made the booking, but as a last minute decision to travel to the area we had very limited choice. Yes, the place is dated and needs a bit of a facelift. Yes, the dining room for breakfast seems a bit like some sort of huge cafeteria. On the positive side our room, though small and basic, was clean and the beds comfortable. Both the indoor and outdoor pools are a great bonus. Parking was onsite. It is close to the beach, harbour, shops and restaurants. Staff were very helpful. Overall, this was a good base for us to explore the area from.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front, if road noise bothers you then ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EBG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing