We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendiferous stay at the Derwent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendiferous stay at the Derwent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

A small group of us (4) decided to take a weekend break somewhere cheap n' cheerful and the Derwent was the choice for us!

This hotel is billed as a 2 star so going into this I wasn't expecting to be wowed, literally just a place to rest my weary head at night. The room was lovely, bathroom more so as it was impeccably clean and I have OCD. Hats off to the cleaning staff there, give yourself a pat on the back or if the manager is reading my review make sure your cleaning staff give themselves a pat on the back.

For facilities I was impressed as the games room below decks was massive with ping pong tables, snooker tables and amusements to keep myself entertained. Swimming pool again is a damn good size, the lifeguards need to keep their eyes peeled for stray plasters however. I saw one or two and plasters are just as deadly as sharks, plasters are silent killers, get rid of them.

Onto breakfast now and the range is plenty with your typical British breakfast. The toast is unlimited so hoard your kids up on that if you wish to save money on doughnuts and ice cream parents. No Marmite though, 50% of all guests staying at the Derwent loves Marmite and this needs to be addressed.

The Derwent was a great place to stay for a short break, parking isn't a great place though, honestly get there early to find your spot otherwise there will the inevitable argument with the better half.

If there is one thing the Derwent could probably do to knock that 2 star to a 3 would probably make your labyrinthine corridors smarter, there is mismatched carpet and various brightnesses of lighting which isn't nice on the eyes. I understand there is nothing you can do about the width of the corridors but at least make the loooooong journey to my room less arduous. This hotel also needs to desperately put up some clear and clean directions to get around the floors. It's like trying to find an exit at Ikea just without the furniture.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    407
    134
    38
    29
See reviews for
337
291
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We've have just returned after our second stay here. We were in a party of 8 adults and 7 children ranging from 1 to 9 years of age.
The hotel is one of 5 owned by the same company (I think) that all back onto a large, safe garden, outdoor pools, bars and adventure playground.
The Derwent is a bit tired in places but the owners are working hard to update it. There are many improvements visible from last year already. Don't let this put you off as the staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble, particularly with the kids.
The layout takes a bit of getting used to as there are lots of narrow staircases and only 2 lifts. You can get quick access to the rooms from the carpark by using the fire escape over the small bridge from the carpark.
The indoor pool complex is really good with a 25m pool, smaller pool, toddler pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. The changing rooms are a bit tight sometimes when it's busy but we tended to change in our hotel room and walk down to the pool with towels.
The entertainment is geared towards children until 10pm and they had lots of fun every evening.
Our room faced the street and was quite hot. Sleeping with the window open is noisy at times.
The food menu is fine with a good choice and smaller options for children. Service is very quick and efficient.
The location is good being only 200 yards or so from the seafront. There is a good bus service into town and beyond - we took the number 22 to the Model Village which took 20 minutes. The land train that circles the town centre picks up at the door too.
Overall this hotel is very well geared towards families and kids are accepted for being kids. Very good for the price and we had an excellent break once again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back on the first floor as the front rooms are a bit noisier due to the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shagnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Staff at the derwent hotel were faultless,my wife is slightly disabled and I found everybody l dealt
with very helpful.Although there were two lifts available to use you still had to negociate several
sets of stairs especially moving within the complex from one adjoining hotel to the other.( the derwent hotel is part of a four hotel complex joined together by long corridors and several sets of
stairs) Drinks were fairly expensive and the bars within the hotel weren't always open during the day,so you had to do alot of searching through the long corridors.Swimming pools and pool areas
were clean and well placed to catch the sun,plenty of things for kids to do as well! Hotel room was excellent,clean ,tidy although the general interior of the hotel could do with a bit of modernisation but as we all know that would put the prices up so it would be counter productive.
Car parking was excellent and there was a choice of several you could choose from dotted around the large complex.Entertainment was average and it wasn't always what was listed for any given time but all the kids that were within the hotel seemed to be having a great time!We
were only bed and breakfast but what we had was well presented, well cooked and portions were
as big as you wanted in fact second to none that l have experienced within the same settings in this country.Torquay beach was a little disappointing and to say it is the english riviera is somewhat misleading to say the least.The small area of sandy beach you could use didn't have
many amenities nearby at all everthing seemed to be around the harbour itself although when
you got to the harbour there was everything you might need in abundance i.e. bars,shops, cafes'
restauraunts and other attractions you could visit although l thought these could be a bit pricey!
Travelled on the road train which was £3.40 return and you could jump on and off wherever but
beware it was always full when you wanted to get back on it,but that's life!l found taxis expensive
£4.60 from the harbour to the derwent hotel and it was barely a couple of miles.Beachfront was
flat but once you come away from the sea area it is nightmare city for wheelchair pushers,very
very hilly.

Room Tip: better views from the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Excellent accommodation for the price. Comfortable, clean en suite bedroom. Plenty of choice of breakfast and evening meals. Pleasant and engaging staff. A full range of internal activities for old and young alike.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Baby changing facilities are terrible here.

I took my son here swimming and had to change him on the floor as they had no baby changing besides the one in the disabled toilet. Bearing in mind the disabled toilet is also a shower room for them. So the floor is soaking, everything is soaking!! Your expected to wait 30 minutes to change your childs nappy whilst someone finishes in the shower and gets dressed.

Ridiculous!!

However the food is nice and the pool is lovely.

Helpful?
1 Thank OllieAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our regular group holiday to the Derwent and it again never disappointed!! The staff as always were happy and helpful, food and entertainment choices were great and Jason Garside the hotel manager was very hands on with daily tasks and as always was available to chat to. The running of entertainment was professonal and well planned but our favourite evenings entertainment was Kevin of KBSounds with his unique sense of fun and off the cuff quizzes, dancing lessons and general fun and laughter. We will all be back Jason!!!CHEERS!!!!!

Room Tip: I have always had a front bedroom it is noisy early in the morning but not unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flossyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have just returned from a few nights stay at the derwent hotel. Although the food was really quite good and the rooms clean this hotel really needs a lot of T.L.C The carpets on the corridors were very worn in had black tape over some joints although I expect that this was better than people tripping up over frayed areas.At most times parking was a nightmare although it is advertised with parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillys w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have spent the last few years upgrading our bedrooms, which is almost complete. Before responding to this review I have checked the timescale and I can confirm that the corridor carpets that you have mentioned in your review are programmed to be replaced prior to this December. We have delayed doing this whilst the bulk of our bedroom refurbishments have taken place. Parking is free and operated on a first come first serve basis. When our 250+ car parking spaces are at capacity we offer free offsite parking within 100yrds of our property. Blue badge holders are able to reserve spaces prior to arrival with our reception teams. I am pleased you enjoyed our food and that you found your room to be clean and well maintained. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#32 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing