We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I have stayed at the Derwent Hotel on several occasions, always vwith good memories.
On this last visit I was a little surprised to find that we had a different waiter/waitress every night of our stay and this led to a feeling of ' I wont be here tomorrow so never mind ' The same could not be said of the morning waitress who was very attentive to our every need.
Otherwise our stay was most enjoyable and just as we have come to expect from TLH

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terblack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    426
    144
    41
    29
See reviews for
347
309
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicstershire
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the Derwent Hotel, very freindly staff, and very helpful. The rooms are basic but very clean, dont need any more than that after all you only sleep in there.The food was second to none,, and once again service was very good, The entertainment package is also very good, we thought the TLH team worked very hard on their routines
All in all we can say, that our stay was wonderful, and we will be certainly be paying
another visit, 2 start hotel, with 4 star service,WELL DONE TO ALL AT THE DERWENT HOTEL,we hope to see you all soon with kindest regards
Mr and Mrs Woodcroft

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Was good although the meals could inprove a little. Also the Derwent is looking a little tired now and requires a complete makeover

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2010
Review read.
I have noted your comments regarding our food offering during your break. I would like to state that we receive very positive feedback from the large amount of comment cards that are returned to us by our guests. This said we are always reviewing what we do, and how we do it. If you would like to provide more detailed feedback by post to myself at the hotel this would be really useful.
As a family owned and operated Hotel Resort we are committed to continual improvements. We have just refurbished our restaurant and outside pool areas, as well as the development of our Aztec Spa, Swimming Pool and Aztec Bistro within the last few years. Some of the works that has just been carried out have been to meet changing pool legislation.
As these works are now complete we are in the planning stages of refurbishing our Reception areas, and we will be continuing our bedroom enhancement programme.
We hope that you revisit us in the future and see these changes once they have taken place. I am sure that you would agree where we have refurbished areas in the last few years it has been to a very high standard. Kindest regards. Jason Garside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Rooms on front of hotel early mornings Re deliveries

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONTYPOOL
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Students should be under more control and not allowed to run wild in the eary hours.

Because of the access steps more use should be made of the lower ground floor disabled access to the street, we didn't discover this way in/out until the last day.

Generally we enjoyed our stay any we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Dining rooms are exceptionally clean and inviting. Food good. Parts of the hotel are in need of a facelift but overall very nice. Would certainly stay at the Derwent again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norma4661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This Hotel is friendly efficient and fun and is the reason we keep coming back

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hevmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,815 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Property: TLH Derwent Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing