We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TLH Derwent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$405
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$155
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$147
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,191)
Filter reviews
1,191 results
Traveller rating
490
458
160
51
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
490
458
160
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstarlight loungeten pin bowlingentertainment teamaztec bistrokb soundsalberts barindoor bowlsaztec poolstar hotelother hotelstlh groupfamily hotelland trainkids clubtable tennisevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,120 - 1,125 of 1,191 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Great hotel for only being only a 2*, great food, great service (porters, waitress` etc). We never got bored - indoor/outdoor pools, sauna/steam room, pool, darts. I would recommend to all people singles to families they cater for all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hungrhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

When we arrived at reception we had the most friendliest of welcomes and the receptionist explained all about the hotel to us.
The upstairs corridors and rooms do need a good lick of paint and the carpets were a bit threadbare with black sticky tape patching up the holes. We were lucky to be right by the top of the stairs and lift on the first floor,but others would have a long treck to their rooms at the far end of the narrow corridors.
Our Standard family room (112)was a decent size. The only thing that spoiled it was the tiny bathroom.(Photo on my review on TLH - can't retrieve it at the moment )We were unable to open the door fully as it hit against the bath and it felt very claustrophobic when using the toilet. The sink was actually in the bedroom as there wasn't space for it in the bathroom! The air extractor in the bathroom was so noisy that I though a delivery lorry was outside early one morning.
Other than that the room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.

Guests can use all the amenities of the other hotels and as it is all undercover,there is always a great range of different things to do both day night,even if it is raining.
The entertainments team were excellent and activities were taking place throughout the day for younger children,teens and adults.
The massive indoor pool had plenty of space for everyone to swim and also a smaller pool which was popular with children. A sauna,steam room and jacuzzi and all of the pool area was very clean.
There is an excercise studio as well as a gym which had a small charge ,but we didn't have time to use them.
A nice big games room with proper ten pin bowling.

There is a nice outdoor pool and sun terraces on different levels. Must be lovely on a sunny day,but unfortunately we had rain all the time.

We ate evening meals in The Aztec Bar which overlooks the swimming pool . Prices weren't very cheap but the food came out well cooked and plenty of it. On a Wednesday night there was a special of '2 main meals for the price of 1'

In the evenings the main family entertainment was taking place in The Starlight Lounge. It started with bingo with tickets cheaply priced and with great cash prizes for winners. Everyone tended to start the night in the Starlight lounge for the bingo and then went off to various different entgertainment venues around the hotel for ballroom dancing,line dancing,quiz nights,race nights,karaoke etc.

All of the staff in whatever areas of the four hotels were really pleasant and friendly from The managers to cleaners.

There is a hairdressers downstairsin The Derwent and also a laundarette which could come in useful for longer stays

A big thankyou to the TLH entertainments team who worked really hard all day and night to make for a great holiday.

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone,especially those with children and teenagers. With the clubs getting them all together they soon make friends.

Although this was our first holiday at TLH most other people we spoke to had been at least 5 times before.One family had been going for 15 yrs so they must be doing something right!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffordJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

all i can say is about the derwent is bloody brillant , the hotel on arrival was second to none the staff were excellent and the food really out of this world with waiteress service to match , the swimming pool was brilliant my only down point about the swimming pool was no lane for swimmers as i like to swim and i kept stopping for kids bumping into me no fault of there own mind you they have to have fun aswell , the entertainment staff were brillant catering for the kids as adults a like well done derwent hotel youv'e made me wanna come back next year thankyou very much

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigrob1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I stayed here with my partner and 3 children, and even though the weather was awful, there was always something to do in the hotel. The Derwent and its sister hotels go to a lot of trouble to make sure that guests are made welcome and have an enjoyable holiday experience. The good quality food and the brilliant swimming pools also rate highly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Me and my daughter love this hotel we have stayed here 6or7 times over the last 7or 8 years the facilities are first class for children and adults alike whether you are stopping at the Derwent or her sister hotels there is loads to do for the kids whatever the weather and the food and entertainment are first class the staff entertainment night is especially good. The only downside was the room we had was a standard room which while the cleanliness was spot on by the cleaning staff the room itself that we stayed in looked a bit tired and could have done with a bit of a makeover but i would certainly go back to the Derwent and i no my daughter would.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAZ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews