We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good dance weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another good dance weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel manages to deliver good food and clean accommodation year after year for a reasonable price. The staff are friendly and helpful and the whole complex has something for everyone. There are 4 hotels with several swimming pools and a bowling alley. There are also large rooms to cater for parties weddings and of course their dance weekends. These cover dancing from Square dance to Ballroom.( see their website)( For square dancing see the British square dance association site.)

Room Tip: We always stay in an apartment as these are away from the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we hope we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    226
    77
    26
    4
See reviews for
150
166
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Enjoyed our Easter weekend greatly. Usually stay in the Derwent but decided to try the Victoria for a change. Accommodation was spacious especially the two family rooms used by our daughters and their families. With a range of grandchildren from 1 to 14 the Arena games is superb in that the baby play area is within the area where the other children were playing pool and table tennis. The food was very good and nicely presented. All the dining room staff were helpful and attentive. This is the best group of family hotels in seaside resorts we have visited in that all 4 hotels are interlinked and the facilities of each can be used by all. The evening entertainment was good and the Aztec pool was used by all. The general Torquay/Brixham and Babbacombe areas give all plenty to see and do in the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmhoneywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am glad to see the whole family enjoyed themselves, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Moors England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were members of a lawn bowls team spending 5 nights at this TLH hotel. Our room was very large indeed in an older part of the hotel but with all the modern facilities you could expect. The meals were very good with a nice variety and choice of dishes throughout our stay. There was some good entertainment of an evening and plenty of opportunity for dancing or just playing cards. Since the hotel is linked with two others, there was a good choice of bars. For us the bowls facility was very attractive and rolled well. We were able to play games against other teams holidaying in the leisure complex.
The position of the hotel complex is excellent, being within 5 minute walk of the sea front and 10 minutes to the town centre. Being of more mature years we were able to use our bus passes to travel around much of the Torbay area, visiting in particular Dartmouth, Brixham and Newton Abbot - all within an hour's bus ride. Do not miss the opportunity to visit Greenways, the Agatha Christie summer residence now owned by the National Trust.
All in all a very satisfying trip well supported by the good hotel and leisure centre.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the front are very spacious and not noisy from local traffic (unless they are rubbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Logmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased your bowling tour ran well and all enjoyed, I was pleased to see you also found the time to enjoy some of what Torquay has to offer, its an amazing place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our 3rd visit in 12 months after this was recommenced to us by friends. It’s the perfect location to enjoy both the indoor activities that they provide; bowling, games rooms, soft play, two lovely indoor swimming pools and also the outdoor fun; beach, crabbing in the harbour, boat trips to Brixham etc. We even had the pleasure of seeing Seals swimming off Babbacombe beach which was brilliant! The staff are all helpful and very welcoming and at such good value for money it’s hard to stop yourself returning!

Room Tip: For a small additional cost you can ask for a 'sea view' room which is worth it. The views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
What can I say, looking forward to many more and thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do a brilliant job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here over the Easter holiday. We are a family of 5, with children aged 11, 9 and 7. The accommodation was spacious and warm. The food very good (it was cheaper to stay dinner bed and breakfast rather than B&B), and drinks reasonable. A pint and 4 soft drinks coke or lemonade were £8.60, water was also on the table. The pool was lovely and we swam daily, the children hired the aqua jets on three days - i managed to wrestle one for a go as well which was great fun! The soft play area and games room gave my husband and i time for a rest and coffee. Our middle child went to Toby club in the evenings which she enjoyed, bingo was on daily (not our thing but very busy with other guests). We walked to the beach and Torquay harbor daily. I will defiantly stay again and recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
So glad to read you review, it sounds like you all had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yelverton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

double room the size of a broom cupboard, ensuite tiny, so much noise we got about wo hours sleep per night,staff were not interested when asked to be moved.

Room Tip: use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay, all our rooms are of good size, I am sorry you felt the staff were uninterested in your problems, it is very unusual I hear comments like this, we would always aim to rectify any guest issue at the time, however if we were full this would have been difficult for the staff to do, if you would like to contact myself at the hotel I would be happy to discuss your issues with you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

A great hotel, Location good, Rooms spacious and well appointed , All very clean and tidy, public areas. Food was good, No complaints. Cant rate entertainment as this was a special weekend for Riviera swing, The bands and entertainment laid on by the organisers was fabulous. I loved the cinema screening of the old films, and the dancing lessons. Cant wait for next year,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmabetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your great review, this was new at the Victoria this year and we are to looking forward to next years event in February, hope we see you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Property: TLH Victoria Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing