We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a lovely few days at the Victoria Hotel which was helped by the weather but even if it had poured with rain there was still plenty to do. great room, food, and staff. Not one thing wrong, looking forward to the next stay. Well done TLH.

Room Tip: Victoria rooms a little better than the Derwent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jannymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for your review, i am so pleased that you enjoyed your break so much, we try very hard to make everyones stay a great one, look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

My rambling club have just returned from a week's walking based in The Victoria Hotel. Very conveniently located with parking for cars and coaches - prior reservation desirable tosecure space. Hotel has 4 floors, with lift, and an excellent restaurant with largely self service breakfast as well as waiter served evening meal. We found the food very much to our liking, with at least 3 choices of each course. Located up a slight hill, the hotel is around 15 minutes walk from town centre, with buses passing the front entrance. If a quiet room is necessary, I would seek a room away from the road where there is a night club called Rainbow ( or similar) which seems to attract stag parties with consequent noise. Overall, we had a good room and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Sadly no air con. but seek a room away from main street,and possibly inwards without sea view - it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0bJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Its great to read that you and your party enjoyed the break with us in Torquay, hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This will be my 12th visit to this cluster of hotels, I have tried them all and the service, food and cleanliness is excellent value for money. The inclusive use of the hotels facillities is fantastic and the entertainment team work hard to keep you entertained. This is ideal for families or friends weekend breaks or a romanyic weekend away.
be careful if the hotel has its ballroom s booked though or you will be stampeded by dancers.

Room Tip: its worth paying the extra to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenhPlymouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you love TLH and what we have to offer, we hope we continue to see you back with us for many more years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is my 3rd visit to the Victoria with a walking group that I belong to. Each time I have had a room at the back which tends to get very hot and although the window opens there is no breeze coming through, I have not complained but if I go there again I will request a room at the front. The rooms are a little tired looking but it would cost such a lot for them to be updated and then of course the prices would go up. The staff, nearly all of them eastern european are wonderful, so polite and hard working, go out of their way to help. The facilities are great. I really enjoy having massages and facials. The food is OK, it is so hard to please everyone, some of my group declared it delicious and others said it was not good, I thought it was OK.
I played ten pin bowling for the first time in years and came second, it is great value for money and would def come here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front which has a sea view and a bit of breeze when you open the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brumlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your walking holiday, i thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they all try really hard to always make our guests stay an enjoyable one. hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We visited the Victoria hotel for another dance weekend. We arrived in the sun and left in the sun which was amazing considering the weather over recent weeks. We had a room at the back of the hotel this time which was a bit noisy at times as we seem to have been over the delivery door and a lot smaller than usual, also the bathroom door stuck so trying to get out was a bit of a problem, apart from that the weekend was excellent. We danced in the ballroom by reception this time and this room was very nice although very hot, no air conditioning so we had to open all the windows. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The evening meal is a bit basic unless you upgrade and pay extra for the meals, some improvement to standard meals could be made. Breakfast is always good, hot and plenty of it. Overall a very good weekend, going back again in November for another dance weekend, hope the weather is good for that also.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking front much better, larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,061,971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us, I am pleased to see you have enjoyed yourselves, we will look at the points you have raised, I am glad you were able to enjoy the sunshine, hopefully we will see plenty more of it this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed at the Victoria for a short weekend break in May. Polite efficient staff greeted us upon our arrival. Room was better than expected, good size very nice on suite and the sea view was an unexpected added bonus. Food was good and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly.
Would definitely stay here again, great value for money and looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We had room 306 a great sea view , some noise from the main road but the sea view more than made up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, i am pleased that you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Another wonderful visit to The Victoria, with my two grand childrens, although it was only for 4 days, I really need much longer, but it wont be long until July when I return with a group for 8 days. Everything was perfect, grand children behaved, room, food, drink, entertainment and I won twice a Bingo which is a first. Thank you everyone again and a special thanks to Chris, Windsor Bar for the new bottle of Noilly, x x x

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodersOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfeasey, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Glad to see you have enjoyed yourselves, it was great to see you again, i will pass your thanks onto chris, the bottle of noilly is waiting for you, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
620 reviews
0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £68 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing