We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DANCING AT THE VICTORIA IN TORQUAY”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
verwood
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DANCING AT THE VICTORIA IN TORQUAY”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We recently spent a few days at a tinsel/turkey dancing holiday which we certainly enjoyed.
It was a first visit and we found that the staff could not do enough for you and really enjoyed their work.
The bedroom was pleasant and large, recently decorated with comfortable beds.
The breakfast was good and adequate with a variety of choices however the evening meal lacked fresh vegetables mostly frozen produce.
The hotel has a super swimming pool which is free to use however if you want to use the gym you will have to pay extra.
car parking is no problem and is free and the hotel is in a complex of four hotels which you can use for your entertainment
The price of our holiday was very reasonable and we will visit again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahallverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    232
    78
    26
    4
See reviews for
153
170
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a great weekend here. The room was very comfortable , the food good, the dancefloor
exellent. All the staff - reception,dining and roomservice were very cheerfull and friendly. We
shall be returning again in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linedancer656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthen
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We will be going to the victoria hotel on the 18th of november this year,a land mark for us as this will be the 30th visit to the tlh,it really is like super glue,because after you experience,the service the ever helpful staff,and the whole buzz of the place it really has everything for every one,be careful you will get stuk to the place .howell and ivy williams.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland N.Z.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Good position for visiting local Torquay. Meals were good value.
Service was good and staff pleasent. The room was basic but perfect for anyone just wanting facilities to 'come home to ' after a busy day sight seeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maungatapere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is another of those places that really deserves 3.5 stars.

We stayed for 5 nights on the second floor. The hotel is quite near the sea front, with an easy stroll to the centre of Torquay and it's also possible to walk to Babbacombe to enjoy the more interesting amenities there.

Our room was OK, and certainly well worth what we paid. It was clean, big enough, and there were biscuits on the hospitality tray. It was always serviced very well, and there was a folder of useful information and a good TV. The bed was a problem - quite a small double bed (although there would be enough space to provide a wider one), with a hard mattress that made the other person bounce high in the air whenever the first one moved or turned over. So sleep quality was unfortunately not good. The bathroom layout was a little odd, and we needed to close the door and climb around it and the bath to get to the basin. The bathroom also desperately needs more shelves and hooks. The shower (over the bath) was powerful and the temperature was easily adjustable. No toiletries except for soap and a wall-mounted dispenser of all-purpose stuff. White towels, which were changed when we wanted.

Our room had a locked door, which led into the next room should we have wanted two adjoining rooms. Had anyone been in the adjoining room, the gap around the door meant they would have been able to hear everything we did, and vice versa. We were nervous that the room would become occupied, but luckily it wasn't.

Breakfast met our requirements. There was a buffet with a selection of cereals including muesli; prunes; yoghourt; rolls; freshly-made toast; and often fruit salad. There was always a huge pot of porridge at the buffet; this usually looked crusty and grey although it may have been perfectly lovely for porridge fans. (We wondered what they did with the leftovers at the end of breakfast . . .) The buffet also held a wide selection of cooked breakfast items, but of course some of these had sat at the buffet for a while. Tea or coffee were brought to the table, but there was also a self-service coffee machine with much nicer coffee.

Dinner was inclusive with our stay. We found it adequate but uninspiring, and were having to repeat the vegetarian options after a while. Vegetables were generally not fresh or well cooked, and were obviously considered an afterthought. Dinner was a three-course meal plus bread, and basic salad items were always available. There was always enough to eat. And of course, we were paying less for bed, breakfast and dinner than we might have paid for B&B in similar places, so could consider it a bonus.

Both breakfast and dinner were served in a beautiful restaurant, which created a sense of occasion, and service was good.

As the Victoria is one of four comprising TLH resorts, we had free access to the two large pools, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. They were good, but are in need of refurbishment and a thorough scrub. The gym was available at a small extra charge (3-day tickets are available, making it even cheaper) but as the price for the stay was so low, I did not mind paying this. The gym was up-to-date, clean, and very good. The changing rooms for gym and pool were slightly basic, with no hanging space in the lockers and no shower gel in the showers. The ladies' toilets for this area had a terrible stink on the day I tried to use them - after that, I found others, as the smell was stomach-churning. For another small extra charge, there are exercise classes - the Zumba was well worth this charge.

The hotel also has large bowling areas, ballrooms, a loud underground games/slot-machine room and other facilities, including a number of bars. Free wifi is available most of the time in downstairs public areas, but not in bedrooms.

Service was good. The whole experience felt a little like stepping back in time (but luckily still with ensuite bathrooms!), but none the worse for that. The four joined-together hotels create a maze in which I frequently got lost, and we are sure there are parts we never discovered!

Room Tip: Make sure no-one will be in an adjoining room with shared door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boraxwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the 1 bed apartments attached to the Victoria hotel with my Wife & 2.5 year old daughter for 3 nights half board. Great welcome, the room was ready early and they let us check in. Food was very good value and a tasty, room was basic but good. The hotel is a great base for Torquay and although we went during a dance week the dancing groups were very friendly and loved our daughter watching them dance.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for 20 years or more and have always enjoyed the facilities which have improved greatly over the years the only downside to our stay last week was that the breakfast and the service in the restaurant in the morning were not up to what we have come to expect

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHB1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Property: TLH Victoria Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing