We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visited the Victoria as part of a ballroom dancing group who have been coming to the hotel for some years. We were very pleasantly surprised with the whole package. The food was good and the staff were very attentive and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and a reasonable size for the money. The hotel specialises in dancing parties and the ballroom(s) are excellent. The 'other' leisure facilities consist of tenpin bowling, pool, snooker, indoor bowls, indoor and outdoor pools, spa etc. The hotel is one of 3 which are interconnected as the TLH group so the shared leisure facilities are very good indeed. If you are a dancer or a bowler there are special weekends held throughout the year at very competitive prices.

Room Tip: Our room was over the main entrance to the hotel on the 2nd floor. Our room was very warm (even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    238
    81
    30
    5
See reviews for
161
179
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gweek Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent an exhausting, but informative dance break here with Lynette Boyce. The Hotel has been newly redecorated and looks all the better for it. From the reception staff, through to room service bar staff and waiters, everyone made yo feel as though you were family!. Cheerful and smiling all the time, they really went the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Some of the facilities in the adjoining hotels( there are four altogether in the complex) were under refurbishment, but the main Aztec pool was available. It is superb as well. You are not supposed to take room towels there, but you can Hire one from the pool staff for £1 a session!. Just bought a £3 one from Primark.Hotel food is good especially the breakfast. My wife thought dinner meals were a little bland but I thought everything was fine. Lynette's advanced Ballroom event is well worth it with lots of tuition, but the whole complex caters for all types of dance as well as indoor bowls( 10 lanes) Will be going again for our 4th time next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonardancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haleowen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

husband and I spent xmas and new year break here - total of 10 days. Met lots of people who return year on year. Xmas even the owner came round to every table to say merry xmas. All the staff lovely.....really looked after you - rooms very good - beds comfy.
Breakfast has plenty of choice....................evening meals could have more choice. Waiters are hard-working and really look after you. I dislike veg but after 10 days of not much in the veg bowl even I was missing a few peas!!! granted there is a salad choice you could add.
We had a lovely time with the shows and non-stop evening dancing. Kevin and Sid n Roz worked their socks off and put on firstclass shows.
I enjoyed the massages in the spa.............and swimming pool is a plus.
We have visited here over the past 7 years and shall def go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dot b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Recently visited the Victoria as part of a 53 member dance group for a Friday - Monday stay.
The hotel is part of a TLH Leisure complex, comprising 4 hotels with shared facilities.
These facilities include swimming pools, indoor bowls/games and cabaret etc.
The rooms were clean and well serviced each day. The breakfast menu excellent, and the dinner menu choices catered for various tastes. The table service was first-class.
Any queries we had were quickly answered by the staff.
Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided each afternoon at no extra charge.
The hotel even provided us with inclusive, bespoke packed lunches for our return coach journey home.
On behalf of our group, I would highly recommend this hotel for any variety of holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewsviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

After six visits this hotel still maintains good value for money. Up-graded on this occasion as the original room overlooked a courtyard. The rooms are comfortable and the staff very pleasant and cheerful. Breakfast is good but the dinner menu is unimaginative the only complaint I would have.
Excellent indoor facilities.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We are a group of 21 women from Nash Cons skittle team all different ages who have just had a lovely experience weekend in the Victoria Hotel Torquay.There was lots to do which accommodated our different age groups. All our rooms were nice & very comfortable, with good views which was worth paying a supplement for.The restaurant and food was very good and so was the service! All the staff was very accommodating & helpful especially the reception, and Tina was especially helpful when we had a problem. I would also like to mention the entertainment which we enjoyed very much. Just wanted to acknowledge the sales team at the beginning when choosing our weekend Helen & Sue who helped us with lots of advice.Just to have a phone call from Helen to see if everything was ok I thought was good.
Thank you one and all!
Linda x

Room Tip: Pay a supplement for a view well worth it. floor 2 and upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaroy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just come back from a wonderful stay at the Victoria. We were self catering with family as we had our grandson with us and he is a really fussy eater. Even though we were self catering we had places to eat within the complex without having to go out at any time to look for food. The Albert's bar served a beautiful steak, best one I have had in a long time, my grandson also enjoyed the pizzas on offer. The Aztec had a lovely menu, we had the fish and chips which was one of the nicest pieces of fish I have had in years. In fact I had it again the second night we ate there.
The swimming pool I enjoyed very much. They have rails around the smaller pool which I thought was great if you have limited mobility like my wife.
Entertainment at night was also good. All in all we had a lovely holiday and will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Property: TLH Victoria Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing