We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good........in parts!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good........in parts!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Victoria has a lot going for it, but lets itself down in so many ways. It is a largeish hotel with good facilities for family and social activities. Some of the bedrooms are spacious, but the single rooms leave a lot to be desired. Some are very tiny and stiflingly hot!! A feeling of claustrophobia caused by the cupboard size feel to the room. If you are a single adult traveller, then I suggest you ask for a good deal on a small double room. Even the small doubles need a cool fan in the warm weather........so HOT!
The food is.......well....ok. There is nothing actually wrong with it, if you enjoy 'ready meals'. I am not saying that you are served a ready meal, it just tastes as if it could be. You know the sort; meat that is rather tasteless. You never smell the gorgeous aroma from the kitchen of a roast dinner (or any other meal) being cooked. Strange that. Could it be that the cooked meals have been mass produced else where, warmed up on site and served? Only the Victoria could answer that, and I may be totally wrong.......just my supposition.
The family entertainment is well received and there seems to be a lot going on for busy, happy children and teenagers. Shows and entertainment for the grown ups too. Entertainment wise I think people are well served.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road, it is SO NOISY!! Ask for a fan, when checking in. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shevlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Victoria, as you are probably aware the TLH Resort is made up of four hotels but I can assure you that each of the hotels operates its own kitchen and indeed each hotel operates a differant menu, the Victoria kitchen is a split level and operates on two floors with the lower kitchen cooking the food and the upper kitchen which is directly above serving the food, I hope this answers your question on where the food is cooked. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the entertainment and you felt our facilities kept our younger guests fully occupied. Once again thank you for your comments and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    226
    77
    25
    4
See reviews for
150
166
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just been to stay at this hotel for a week with my family. We paid to have a family superior room which said we got a front facing room. The room itself was so basic its untrue. There were only three of us in there and it was tiny!!! The room was on what they called the front, but if I was honest we should have paid less than the normal rooms as the noise from the karaoke bar on the corner was terrible!!!!! The beds were like board and was so old and hard and had no mattress protesters on them. The meals were not good either. We were there only a week and the meals were repeated three times in that short space of time with very limited choice. The entertainment was terrible and so unprofessional!!!!! no wonder no body stayed in the main entertainment lounge at night. One night at 11 oclock the fire alarm went of. lots of guests were stood on the corrider wondering if they should go out, and once the alarm had gone of not one member of staff came to tell us everything was ok, it took a guest to go up to all the floors to tell everyone. Infact the only staff we did see were the staff in the dining area which I must say were lovely!!!!!!
This hotel is not cheap and I don't know where they got the star rating from......needs to up its game...give it a miss.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your coments regarding your recent stay at the Victoria, I was disapointed to read that you did not enjoy your break but cannot understand why you did not raise these points during your stay as we would have done everything possible to put things right for you, our menu is designed to cover a period of 14 days to try and make sure we do not duplicate dishes during breaks and with a choice of 3 starters and 4 mains each evening do not understand your comments regarding a limited option also we are always happy to discuss options if nothing on the menu suits. We offer 4 differant caberet options every evening at this time of year and normaly receive good reviews I can only apologise that you did not enjoy them. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but do wish you had let us know at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having stayed in this hotel around 8 years we decided to visit again. The room was nice and clean, nice view of the beach. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Plenty of activities for everyone. We love the Aztec pool and new cafe area. The food was lovely but my only complaint was they wouldn't leave much time in between courses at dinner and always felt rushed.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdnaJ541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of your recent stay with us at the Victoria and firstly I was pleased to read that you felt your room was nice and clean and that you enjoyed the view of the beach from your room and that you thought we put on plenty of activities. I have passed on your comments to the team as they really do try to ensure our guests enjoy their breaks and are always pleased when their efforts are recognised. I can only apologise that whilst you enjoyed the food you felt the service was a bit rushed, if you had mentioned this to your waiter or waitress they would have been quite happy to allow a break in between courses. Finaly all I can add is do not leave it another 8 years before your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked last minute for 2 adults and 2 children (6 and 9). We all had a great time. Although the hotel in places does need a bit of sprucing up the facilities for children are fantastic and if you get the good weather as we did it really does feel as if you are abroad. My only gripe would be that the outdoor pool needs to be warmer, it did put a lot of people off, including my children at times.
Entertainment team work really hard. Also need to say how impressed we were with the waitresses at meal times, nothing was too much trouble and were so friendly, they really are a credit to the hotel. Kids are already asking when we can go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RotherhamWalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at the Victoria Hotel and firstly can I say how pleased I was to read that you all had a great time and that you found our childrens facilities to be fantastic. I must admit I have a real aversion to cold water so I will ask somebody else to check the outdoor pool and if we can try and make it warmer. I was really pleased to read that you felt our waiting team were impressive and that they really looked after you. Finaly we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at THL leisure resort Victoria Hotel for a dance weekend and to be honest expectations were low. This turned out to be far from correct,the hotel,food,room were all good,but the staff were awesome,nothing too much trouble and always seemed to have a smile on their faces

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tapstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your extremely positive review of your recent visit to the Victoria, I was pleased to read that we had surpassed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay, I have passed on your comments to the team as they really do appreciate reading that their efforts are recognised and finaly may I add that we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned home from spending last week at The Victoria Hotel with my wife and daughter. As myself being a Hotel Maintenance Manager and my wife a Head Housekeeper, we can be critical of where we stay. However our stay was faultless in every way. Room (330} was spotless and decor was in very good order. Food was excellent, good choices and plentiful. The staff were very good, always greeted us with a smile, helpful in every way. The restaurant manager even chased after us to say goodbye as he saw we were leaving. Its nice touches like this that makes the difference. The General Manager should be very proud of the team he has and the way the hotel runs. The hotel complex is huge and caters for all ages and different tastes.

We were so impressed we have already booked 3 rooms for next year !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your glowing endorsement of your recent stay at the Victoria, it is always pleasing to read such a review from people who are in the business and who understand how much work goes into getting it right. I have passed on your comments to the rest of the team as they all take great pleasure in reading that our guests have enjoyed their stay and in answer to your question yes I am proud of the team at the Victoria. Finaly we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I went to torquay to visit my daugters and we all stayed in a family room. Staff are really friendly. Food was amazing. Didn't take full advantage of all the amenities as only there for the weekend. Am definitely going back to have a spa break.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juprew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your very positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Victoria, I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed all aspects of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Property: TLH Victoria Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing