We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”

Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips
Ranked #10 of 340 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hanbury's was recommended to us so my husband and I booked a table for the last evening of our holiday in the area. The restaurant has oak beams, stone fireplaces and quirky features such as an original Dartmoor prison door, stained glass windows, Tiffany lights and original artworks, The fish and chip supper was delicious and the service excellent from the welcoming staff. Highly recommended in return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank morgaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    256
    89
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smoked haddock bliss”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A party of eight three children, we arrived with the place about to close. The staff were brilliant we were not rushed excellent and attentive service. The smoked haddock in batter was delicious the childrens meals substantial and nutritious the chips golden and obviously hand chipped. Elise loved the curry sauce and dawn the mushy peas.
All in all a great lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great quality”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Went after reading a publicity leaflet, walked in after reading the takeaway was closing in 5 minutes time. Food freshly prepared to order. Medium fish, chips and mushy peas was enough to fill. So tasty, best eaten at the end of the road over looking the sea. Would defiantly go again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silverCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fish not keen on the chips”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a takeaway from Hanburys lastweek , decided on take away as it was a lovely nightand we wanted to sit on the downs
There was quite a wait but I understand everything is cooked to order so that wasnt a problem , The fish was delicious but the chips were a bit undercooked for my taste and we didnt eat many of them , Having said thatthe quality of the fish would be the reason I would return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your mainly positive review. The chips were obviously undercooked. We do cook thousands of portions of chips over a week and unfortunately these mistakes occasionally happen. We do apologise for this. However, we were disappointed you wasted your time posting a review on Trip Advisor when we would have gladly replaced the chips and resolved this problem at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We have visited Hanbury's on a number of occasions. We have always enjoyed our meal and today was no exception. The food was delicious and the atmosphere lovely. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Thank you for a lovely finish to our holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Hanbury’s Famous Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing