We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gainsborough - CLOSED

The Gainsborough
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
English Riviera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have had many Sunday Lunches at the Grand Hotel. The food is excellent, menu varied, served by staff who know their 'stuff' in beautiful surroundings. It is excellent value for money = why eat at home when its this good? .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brixham
Level Contributor
380 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“New menu in Compass cafe bar...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We enjoyed lunch in the Compass Cafe Bar today Monday 4th Feb. It was a lovely sunny day and Loyd suggested a corner table with excellent sea views across the bay. He also advised us of a promotion on a bottle of Australian Shiraz (£12). It was full of fruity flavours and went well with our food order.
We have previously enjoyed the Grand Club sandwich and so had 2 of them today and as before they were excellent and a full portion size with salad garnish and crisps. We did have room for a dessert and we were very pleased with the Nursery pudding which was a plum frangipan with custard. We had 2 Americano coffees with hot milk to finish. Good menu choice and new menu. We were served by a number of staff during the meal and must say that everyone is always very friendly and efficient. We will certainly return and this is the ideal place to relax and take in the view and enjoy a very pleasant meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level Contributor
380 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Post New Year lunch in the Compass Cafe Bar...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We started off the new year with a trip to the Grand Hotel on the Seafront of Torquay and their Compass Cafe Bar where we had great service and tasty and substantial starters and salad mains. The homemade chicken terrine was the best we have had in ages and the fresh warm bread delicious. Our main courses were a Brixham crab salad and a smoked salmon salad and these were full of flavour and the crab in particular was so fresh and super. We had a bottle of Merlot and a bottle sparkling water and found that we we had to passion dessert because we were fully satisfied. the service and surroundings make this venue an ideal place for lunch and on all our visits we have been very pleased with our meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level Contributor
380 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lunch time in the Compass Cafe Bar at The Grand Hotel, Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We popped into the Grand's Compass Cafe Bar today 17th December 2012 and just like last time (September) were very impressed with the service and the food and drinks on offer. The Compass BLT is impressive and full of flavour a real winner and the Salmon and cream cheese sandwich a delight. A bottle of house wine and a large bottle of sparkling water all made for a brilliant lunch in the equally brilliant sunshine that was pouring through the windows that look out to sea. We will definitely be back and by the looks of things the Compass is very popular and there was hardly a seat to be had which cannot be bad. Give it a try when you are next on the seafront.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
Level Contributor
380 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“When the Gainsborough Restaurant is closed at lunchtime try the hotels Compass Cafe Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were looking for lunch before a theatre trip and went to The Grand because we saw the banner advertising their cafe bar. All went very well and we were greeted by a very helpful member of staff Viktorija who gave us a lovely table with stunning view of the sea opposite the hotel. We ordered a pot of tea which was the best tasting we have had in a long while. We were told about the soup of the day and specials etc. We opted for West Country Fish Chowder that was full of fish and flavour and came with a basket of breads. Our main it being a lunchtime was The Grand Club sandwich which was excellent and of substantial size. The wine list is extensive and we had a Jack Rabbit Merlot which was so smooth. A large bottle of sparkling mineral water was also ordered. We felt very comfortable and the staff looked after us very well. We will return again as our first visit to the cafe bar went so well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gainsborough also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing