We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay - Paignton School Class of 82 - 30 Year Reunion Alec Bohannan www.sportingpasttimes.co.uk”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #116 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Around 60 of us had a party in Applebys Bar so I stayed the night in hotel which I found to be excellent, great views over the Bay, good room,very good service and excellent breakfast.. Would stay again... Car Parking was fine.. Fully reccommended as nothing was an issue...
B&B £40.00 Five Star ***** Will see you again in the future

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Excellent location and to have dinner & breakfast over looking the bay was magnificent.
Food nad drink was really very good with ample portions.Staff were most helpful and i will certainly return. At the time of my stay the Halloween decorations were top drawer!

Room Tip: the front corner bays have a superb view of the Riviera. great way to wake up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have stayed here various times ideal hotel location is brilliant views are amazing of torbay price is good value and the food in applebys bar is great. The hotel as a gym and a pool which I have not had chance to use. It is close to the seafront town centre and not far away from the rest of torbay I recommend this hotel and all ways stay here when out with work

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbeth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I stay at the Heritage for 1-2 nights every fortnight and have been doing so for the past 5-6 years.
Having tried other hotels in the surrounding area I found the Heritage to offer the best all round service and facilities at a very reasonable price.
In summer the location is second to none with stunning views across the bay.
Most rooms have been refurbished to a high standard recently and all have ample space.
Wi Fi is available throughout the hotel free of charge and prices for food and drink are always reasonable with many offers available on different days

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at the Heritage on a B + B basis for 3 nights while attending a conference. It consists of a large bar, small dinning area and large outdoor drinking patio overlooking the sea. Downstairs is the swimming pool and sports area. (small extra charge)
There are 24 room of various sizes on three levels. Mine was on the ground floor and had a sea view. The decoration was a little tired but it was well furnished, the bed was clean and it had a brand new bathroom.
The breakfast was self service cereal and fruit, and waiter service 'Full English', tea, coffee and toast which was freshly cooked and well presented. (Bacon, sausage, beans, mushrooms, tomato and eggs anyway) The nice thing was that if you didn't want any item the quantity was made up with more of what you had ordered. I asked for bacon and eggs and got three large rashers and two eggs. We didn't eat there in the evenings.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. A big bonus was the free car park.
The only downside was the noise from the bar in the evenings which was popular with 18 to 25 year olds. It did however close at 12.00 and clear very quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the heritage hotel this weekend with our 8 yr old son, we have never been made so welcome from hotel staff to bar staff waitresses and even the cleaner. The food is amazing and we had an outstanding view from our room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if you decide not to stay there then you must sample the food! Thank you to all the staff for making our stay hassle free

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelic a B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent seafront location. It's under 10 minutes walk from the train station and has fantastic views across the bay from the rooms, as well as the conservatory where breakfast is served and from the al fresco dining area. The room was a triple one and, although on my own, I was just charged the single rate. The room was clean and bright, with a large floor to ceiling window, and the bathroom very modern. The only slight downer was that service at breakfast time was a little slow, but that's probably only from my London perspective! I think the room rates were very reasonable and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
1 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 85 in Torquay
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing