We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location very friendly staff”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #112 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We spent five nights at the hotel and were very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was pleasant with a wonderful view over the bay. Unfortunately the mattress had a plastic cover which made the bed hot and sweaty. The bathroom had a bad smell due I understand to faulty plumbing it disappeared if the tap in the hand basin was run for long enough. Breakfast was plentiful tasty and freshly cooked and served with a smile. We enjoyed our stay and thought it was good value for money and you could always remove the incontinence sheet from the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemagowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Knew it was a mistake as soon as I opened the door - a badly fitting door at that which looked like it had been kicked in by previous occupants. I can only use the phrase 'time warp' as the decor was from the fifties. A triple room with room for just the double, a vanity unit/ chest of drawers with a completely inaccessible stool (no room to move it as the bed was in the way) and a wardrobe. No chair and a very compact shower room / toilet. There was a new sky box and very small TV but unfortunately they used the only two existing sockets so to use the kettle or charge up the phone had to unplug the TV and then had to make sure it was the TV not the Sky Box that was unplugged because it was impossible to get them working again. Can't say we were impressed with the meal we had in the evening and breakfast was OK if you like very salty bacon.I would have rated the hotel as terrible but the staff were very good and the room was clean.

Room Tip: Not room 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandmaJan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We just returned from two nights at the Heritage Hotel. After a bad start because we arrived and they had our room booking wrong, fortunately I had taken a copy of the email confirmation with me to prove we had booked and receive confirmation of a triple room and not the double room they had us down for, Otherwise our child would not have had a bed. Disappointing really as the fact that they do triple rooms etc was the main reason we chose this hotel. However, the manager sorted it out and we were very happy with our triple room with sea view in the end. There was plenty of room and the beds were clean and comfortable. The hotel is located above Appleby's which is a bar serving pub food. The sea views from the terrace at the front of the hotel make this a great location. It is within easy reach of both ends of Torbay, a few mins walk from the town and beach. Staff in the bar were helpful and friendly and the cooked breakfast was very nice. They served cereals but I would have liked to have had the option of a continental breakfast, Was disappointed to find that there was an additional charge for use of the pool and spa facilities. We had just been staying in a lovely hotel in Newquay, which charged us less and the use of pool and spa was included. I did not see anything on the website which mentioned an additional charge for this facility or the fact that it was not open all day for use at your leisure, must have missed that, so read carefully! I feel this was a bit of a cheek not to have the pool open at all times when they expect you to pay extra for the privilage, therefore we did not get the opportunity to use these facilities as it was open during the time we were having breakfast, out exploring or at tea time. Who wants to swim after a meal. Our room was nice and quiet, the nearby fair seemed to go quiet around 11pm and the room was on the rear side of the hotel so not above the bar (room 16). A nice place to stay however I would not recommend trusting their website for bookings and make sure you take confirmation of your booking with you when you go.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear on the side which had a sea view and was nice and quiet. very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezzav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This review is based on the restaurant only...
We celebrated a birthday with a night out at Appleby's bar as they had advertised 'PIG RACING' yes that's right pig racing,which was really good fun. We had decided to eat there mainly out of ease but wished we hadn't. I always knew it wasn't going to be much other than the usual frozen food everything deep fried and / or covered with either cheese, BBQ sauce or in this case both. I won't go into the details of everything we ordered but it was pretty basic stuff plates piled high with frozen chips,along with a token side salad and the obligatory coleslaw! Avoid the chicken wings as they are awful, microwave re- heated junk that taste extremely old and frozen. The burgers aren't great either we saw some one else send theirs back and lots got left over. I suppose the most annoying thing about this food is that its not only frozen garbage but its EXPENSIVE frozen garbage. For a starter and main or in our case a main and side as everyone was hungry it was around £15 to £20 head with drinks. The staff were very good, however it's order at the bar routine so not hard to get right.
Good night out thanks to the pigs (not the ones at the table I may add!)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank davidmlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Thank you to all he staff at the Heritage Hotel for making my stay in Torquay comfortable while my wife was in Torbay Hospital,great location and lovely views. Well within walking distance of the town centre and harbour along the sea front.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Originally booked a room for single use through Booking.com for £120 for 3 nights in a room with a double and single bed. When I amended the booking and asked for my friend to share the room the cost was doubled by the hotel to £240 for 3 nights which I thought was excessive, however I agreed. Should have booked a B and B instead of this hotel as for the price the room was pretty ordinary, and the complimentary shampoo's etc were absolutely minimal. Only one chair in the room, yet the room was a double. Location was good as was breakfast I must say. Staff were friendly. Wouldn't go there again. Torquay is a good place to visit, however if you want a sandy beach then go to nearby Paignton where there are many B and B's. The train goes there, as well as an every 10 minute local bus service from Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked two double rooms overlooking the bay, under £30 per night, large rooms with a single and double bed, spotless bathrooms and lovely breakfast included.

Reception was very friendly and helpful.

Parking can be an issue but there is a cheap car park next door so don't let it put you off.

The bar and terrace is busy but did not disturb us at all. We chose not to eat or drink there in the evening because it was n't our scene and there are much classier places nearby. If you are a pint a' lager / burger & chips type you'll probably love it.

Great location, very close to town, nice walk along the front.

Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay, not the one over the bar area unless you want to see and hear fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nice-n-cozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing