We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #115 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice clean,comfortable and friendly Hotel very close to town ,near the harbour ... Lively bar .
Newly refurbished bathrooms ....I stay here regularly .. And have no hesitation with regards coming back .well done to all!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    94
    44
    30
    26
See reviews for
31
97
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient. The breakfast was excellent and the service was again friendly. There were one or two parts of the building that could do with a bit of a touch up but the room was very spacious, clean and tidy. Our kettle was faulty but reporting it it was replaced immediately. We were slightly worried that it may have been noisy due to the bar being busy and so close but we needn't have been because although we were next to the bar we heard nothing ( except the inconsiderate guests banging the doors when they arrived back in the early hours). All in all the hotel is in a great position and I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your fair review of us here at The Heritage Hotel, We work hard to provide good customer service, we apologise for the faulty kettle but unfortunately these things happen but we will do our very best to resolve any problems as a matter of priority. If you are thinking of coming to torquay again have a look at our website www.heritagehoteltorquay.co.uk, where you will find a number of specials offers and packages breaks ideal for that out of season getaway, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A perfectly adequate hotel for what they charge.

The lack of a lift could be a problem for some guests and having to go through fiddly security doors to reach the room was a pain. The room had a lovely sea view - yes there was a crane getting in the way of the view but that is hardly the hotels fault.

The car park is inadequately small but there is a municipal car park next door which only charges £2.20 for overnight parking (you can stay until 10:00am) - just make sure you press the orange "overnight stay" button on the parking meter before inserting your coins - i.e. read the instructions!!!

I have to admit Applebys, their bar / restaurant, isn't really my cup of tea, nothing wrong with it per-se but not the sort of bar I would normally go to. If you like lively bars with pool tables then you'll be in your element.

The food is adequate and what you would expect for the prices they charge, again not really the type of food I would normally go for but I was tired and it was off season and didn't fancy going out to look for somewhere else to eat.

Breakfast on the other hand, was excellent and could not be faulted, plenty of food and enough to set you up for the day, served by very friendly staff.

I'm not sure I would want to stay here for several days but for an overnight stop it is perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your fair review of our hotel, but may I add we do have a lift to all floors and I apologise this was not pointed out on check-in, If you are ever visiting Torquay again we would love to see you at The Heritage hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Five of us arrived on motorcycles from Cornwall on a lads jolly weekend,well hardly lads as we were all in our forties,we were met by our very friendly and most helpful receptionist who checked us in with speed and a smile,always a good start.all our rooms were spotless and clean and very spacious,great parking for our motorcycles,..
We had a lovely lunch and a good priced beer or two.
The full English was fab and plenty of it.
All the staff were most helpful.
All in all a great place to stay overlooking the sea,and a short walk to town.
Will definitely stay again.thankyou.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee B, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words we work hard at The Heritage to make everybody's stay with us enjoyable, we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Unlike some reviews this was one of the worst hotels I have stayed at. We were promised a sea view instead we were given an annex room. There was a sea view but also views fifty yards away of a 100 foot crane. Also the annex was four foot away from the car park which by the way was full and we were directed to a municipal cat park. Cost £9 a day and £2.20 overnight. The room was small and only one small window. I had to have the electric fan on during the night because of the heat. The showers was full on mildew. The TV was small and the seat provided were bistro chairs . As to breakfast the choice and layout of the cereals were limited. The juice consisted of cartons as did the milk. One of the other visitors complained she waited 40 minutes to be served. The tables appeared to be cleared only once and on two days I had the remains of the previous occupant on my table. The waitress appeared to have only one pace . Dead slow!! A third visitor also complained that her husband had special dietary requirements and these were ignored. When we complained about the annex room we were moved but into what was the old part of the hotel. The furniture had seen better days and had large parts broken. In fact there was still a sticker from a previous occupant advertising his business . We did not put our clothes in the wardrobe as it was so dirty I could go on further but wish to forget this visit. Sorry Heritage you are the original Faulty Towers of Torquay!!I do not know how it could be considered one of the better hotels in Torquay!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask not to be put into the old part of hotel which needs decorating and certainly not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
After reading your review I was left utterly speechless. Firstly we have no control over building work occurring in front of us and therefore seem it very unfair for you to comment on the crane they have on site.
We apologise for our car park being full but again when the hotel, bar, restaurant and leisure facilities are busy it becomes out of our control. I am sorry you were given a garden room, we would love for you to have had a sea-view room but as stated above we were very busy and these were all sold out. The Heritage Hotel never promises sea views unless they are sea views but you will find all our rooms are still very clean and comfortable and all now have brand new bathroom suites fitted.
Thank you for you comments regarding our breakfast and it's service. We have taken these on board and now offer a much better and varied breakfast which we feel is more suitable to all.
I'm sorry you left The Heritage Hotel disappointed as we try to please everybody, however if you did wish to give us another chance please visit our website www.heritagehoteltorquay.co.uk where you will find monthly specials and package breaks for all the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This Hotel is in a good location overlooking the beach and Marina. Our room was on the top floor on the corner of the Hotel so we had lovely views across the bay. Room was large with a couple of wicker chairs and table in front of the window. Bathroom was modern with a great shower. All very clean.
We had dinner in the hotel first night - not impressed. Fortunately we met a local on our travels who recommended two fabulous pubs/restaurants which met our needs perfectly.
Selection for breakfast was very limited and we stuck to toast and cereals. Think a continental breakfast would be better with a greater selection of cereals, fresh fruit and maybe muffins, croissants etc.
Staff friendly and helpful with local information

Room Tip: Room on top floor in the corner - Balmoral Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms and the fantastic views across Torbay. We are disappointed that your meals were not to your liking. With regards to breakfast, we have taken on board yours and others comments and now have a fuller more varied selection for breakfast including fresh fruit, croissants and a larger selection of cereals, as well as the cooked breakfast options that are already available.
We appreciate your custom and would love to see you again here at the Heritage Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just returned from our 5 day break and we were really pleased with our choice of hotel. The staff there are really friendly and very helpful .Maid service every day & everything is kept very clean. The room & bathroom was top class and modern. Tea & coffee making facilities replenished every day. They even supply the towels. The breakfast was excellant , as was the restaurant Applebys, choice and quality of food very good and value for money.
The hotel is situated very near to the beach area but it is only a short stroll to the marina and harbour shops & restaurants and the town centre is close by too.
Would certainly go back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Preferably a corner suite, but definitely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamandglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello, I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We appreciate the support from all of our customers, and we hope to see you again in the future,
Many thanks from myself and all of the staff at The Heritage Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing