We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, very clean, very friendly - recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #111 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value, very clean, very friendly - recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Booked very late (2 hours before arriving) yesterday, and found a great, clean and airy room. The price of £40 includes breakfast, which was excellent and was served by the most courteous and friendly staff outside of the US hotels I normally visit...... absolutely outstanding.

I have stayed here before, and see no reason to try anywhere else for a 'bed and breakfast' visit to Torquay. You wll not go wrong with this one!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Very nice words, very much appreciated. hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    94
    41
    30
    26
See reviews for
31
96
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Bit of a dilemma here. Really low cost hotel, friendly staff, really nicely furnished rooms, but they are having to work with a building that seems to have been built on the cheap (thin walls, wooden floors).

I had to sleep with ear plugs due to all the noise everywhere (cars outside, man walking backwards and forwards in room above, TV in next room, someone singing in corridor).

I would say that if you are young and on a tight budget this is a really good place to stay but if an oldie like me, spend a bit more and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go on top floor to avoid the noise of people who seem to like walking backwards and forwards on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbocruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for noticing our pleasant bedrooms and good staff something we work hard on, we would like to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

What a lovely visit to this quaint hotel, everything was perfect , staff couldnt be more helpful, excellent food and drink bargains, would definitely stay again. Unfortunately all around the hotel there was building work going on, so whatever window you looked out you saw rubbish everywhere or a crane and scaffolding.
Oh and if you do stay here make sure that UKIP arnt holding there conference in town, as the lot that stayed here spoilt it for everyone .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank munchmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
I'm glad the building work around us on other sites didn't affect your opinion of your stay. its nice to hear that everything was perfect for you and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Lovely hotel we had a sea view wonderful. in need of lick of paint but spotlessly clean but staff cannot do enough for you. Hearty breakfast full English plus plenty more on offer would recommend this hotel to anyone Barbara Dunn

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed February 2014, on arrival found car park full, it seems that the leisure centre attached to the hotel shares the moderately sized car park and I had to double park until a space became available (about 6pm) No one on reception for 15 minutes,it turns out she (the duty mangeress) was helpng a guest set up a tv, however when she did appear she was extremely helpful and apologetic.Room 8 was of a good standard, quite big with a very modern bathroom,sadly the sea view was partiall obscured by an ongoing building project. food choice and quality was good in a very lively restaurant. Staff were pretty much faultless, would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a double and single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for being understanding and patient whilst you had a short wait upon check-in. We're glad this didn't spoil your stay with us, we would like to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We have had the most wonderful stay at the quaint Heritage Hotel. A little Narnia hotel full of upstairs, downstairs and little doors here and there, just fantastic!

Staff are very friendly with nothing they won't do for you, from the chef to the housekeeping girls who ask if you need anything every day.

We used the pool once in our four day stay and unfortunately there weren't any spare towels and it would have been nice if it were a free facility but I believe it's not actually owned by the hotel and they clearly say there's a charge for the facilities so it's fair enough.

The food was gorgeous, the first night we ate out but after having breakfast the next day we decided to stay for our evening meal which didn't disappoint. A lovely lively bar, full of young adults and funky music, we thoroughly enjoyed the pool table and cold beer. We didn't even notice the noise once we returned to our room.

The sea view was stunning, such a shame about the building work in front if the hotel only because it's a blot on the landscape.

The room (15) was comfy, cosy and welcoming. Very clean with a beautiful bathroom and good facilities. Unfortunately the shower was little more than a dribble and very disappointing.
The window opened very wide and I think had I had children with me I would have appreciated a way of locking it as we were very high up.

As said before, parking is a bit of a struggle at times but apart from that we have had a great time. The hotel itself is a little dated but the things that matter are there. Thank you for a wonderful time x

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your fair review of our hotel, we are glad you had a wonderful time. Thank you for your points made, we will do our best to ensure these are resolved for you and our other guests in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at The Heritage Hotel on 5th February 2014 with my daughter and was very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel and the room. Bed was very comfortable with crisp good quality bedding and plenty of pillows, room smelled nice and was very clean. Bathroom was immaculately clean with new shower and cubicle. We had a view over the bay which I'm sure is stunning in the summer! There was a nice selection of teas, coffees and hot chocolate on a tray in the room with full-sized kettle. A flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi.

Breakfast was lovely with a selection of fruit and cereals to choose from, buffet style. Our waitress offered us tea, coffee and toast which arrived quickly, toast was hot! We could choose our cooked breakfast from the menu and we had a Full English which was cooked to perfection and generous.

There is a swimming pool, sauna & jacuzzi at the hotel but we didn't have time to use these.
The menu looked fantastic and very reasonable but we had already booked a table elsewhere so unfortunately didn't get to use the restaurant in the evening.

Easy to find, short walk from bus stop but also with good car park. Stones throw from sea front.

I can't think why this lovely hotel only has 2 stars! Don't be put off by that, I would definitely go back and would recommend it. The owners were very attentive, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, nice and appreciative reviews make doing our job all the more worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing