We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning for a 3rd time!”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #121 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. One as a couple and once as part of a 25 group hen party. Both times we were treated just as well. The staff couldn't do enough for us and even took us out to show us around the town! Friendly staff, clean rooms and a great restaurant! We will defiantly be back again!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for The Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I won't lie, this isn't the Ritz, but neither is the price. The beds are of a good quality as is the linen, and the shower and bathroom adequate. Breakfast in the morning is more than ample and great value. 10/10 for value. Within easy walking distance of the sea and generally with sea views and parking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Hattiehooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Firstly this is not the ritz and does not try to be but it has many great features. I recently stayed there for the first time and was amazed at the value for money. Rooms have everything you need and are large and very clean. I had a great sea view from my window. Car parking is plentiful and the main town is a short walk away. The bathroom had recently been re-furbished to a very high standard. Would say the staff particularly Paul and Dominique were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel as it had been recommended to me and I wasn't disappointed.

The room was on the second floor and had a lovely sea view from the windows. The room was a bit dated but was a good size and well equipped. The bathroom was clean and modern.

The breakfast was very nice and the bar attached to the hotel had a lively atmosphere and good food. People have mentioned it being quite noisy from the rooms but I didn't notice this. The hotel/bar staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

Parking can be a problem as there are limited spaces but luckily we got parked straight away and left the car where it was during the stay. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and shops.

The hotel was slightly more expensive than some others however I'd definitely choose to stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LB8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stay here pretty regularly and always enjoy it. Brilliant location and excellent sea views.

Staff are fantastic and give a very warm, personal service.

Room decor is a bit dated and tired, but this gives the whole place a bit of character. the rooms are very clean and the en-suites are much more modern.

Lively bar attached to the hotel.

Very good value and good fun.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glennjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have been visiting Torquay for the past 19 years and love the location. For the past three years we have stayed at the Heritage Hotel at the end of October. Lee the Manager has always given us a warm welcome and last year we met the Owner as Lee was on holiday, he too was a nice chap. Staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfy and clean, the new on-suits are a very smart. Both food and drinks prices are excellent with a great choice. Breakfast has a variety of cereal, fruit and option of a full english, great to start the day. Over all this is the best all round Hotel we have stayed at over the years and for us it ticks all the boxes. We are planning to return this October as a group but I will be staying in September with my partner. I would say this Hotel is suitable for couples, groups and families.
Keep up the good work.
Thanks
James.

Room Tip: Appleby's Bar can get fairly busy at weekends so if you are worried about noise you could ask fo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J1DDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Parking is always a problem would be nice if staying at the hotel you could get a reserved spot as it has a lot of people who are only there for a short time then move on,when using only the pub.Hotel has a lively bar but not to much noise, only the staff emptying the bottles into the bins outside at some unearthly hour.But in there defense have stayed here several times before and will stay again food good service always good, staff friendly,rooms clean great deals

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,133 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#18 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £64 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing