We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #116 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rooms very clean but could do with updating, really nice shower room though. Stayed on a Saturday and it was a bit noisy with late night returning guests. Easy access to theatre, town centre and beach.

Room Tip: Most have sea view but ask to make sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    94
    44
    30
    26
See reviews for
31
97
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. One as a couple and once as part of a 25 group hen party. Both times we were treated just as well. The staff couldn't do enough for us and even took us out to show us around the town! Friendly staff, clean rooms and a great restaurant! We will defiantly be back again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I won't lie, this isn't the Ritz, but neither is the price. The beds are of a good quality as is the linen, and the shower and bathroom adequate. Breakfast in the morning is more than ample and great value. 10/10 for value. Within easy walking distance of the sea and generally with sea views and parking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hattiehooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Firstly this is not the ritz and does not try to be but it has many great features. I recently stayed there for the first time and was amazed at the value for money. Rooms have everything you need and are large and very clean. I had a great sea view from my window. Car parking is plentiful and the main town is a short walk away. The bathroom had recently been re-furbished to a very high standard. Would say the staff particularly Paul and Dominique were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel as it had been recommended to me and I wasn't disappointed.

The room was on the second floor and had a lovely sea view from the windows. The room was a bit dated but was a good size and well equipped. The bathroom was clean and modern.

The breakfast was very nice and the bar attached to the hotel had a lively atmosphere and good food. People have mentioned it being quite noisy from the rooms but I didn't notice this. The hotel/bar staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

Parking can be a problem as there are limited spaces but luckily we got parked straight away and left the car where it was during the stay. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and shops.

The hotel was slightly more expensive than some others however I'd definitely choose to stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LB8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stay here pretty regularly and always enjoy it. Brilliant location and excellent sea views.

Staff are fantastic and give a very warm, personal service.

Room decor is a bit dated and tired, but this gives the whole place a bit of character. the rooms are very clean and the en-suites are much more modern.

Lively bar attached to the hotel.

Very good value and good fun.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have been visiting Torquay for the past 19 years and love the location. For the past three years we have stayed at the Heritage Hotel at the end of October. Lee the Manager has always given us a warm welcome and last year we met the Owner as Lee was on holiday, he too was a nice chap. Staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfy and clean, the new on-suits are a very smart. Both food and drinks prices are excellent with a great choice. Breakfast has a variety of cereal, fruit and option of a full english, great to start the day. Over all this is the best all round Hotel we have stayed at over the years and for us it ticks all the boxes. We are planning to return this October as a group but I will be staying in September with my partner. I would say this Hotel is suitable for couples, groups and families.
Keep up the good work.
Thanks
James.

Room Tip: Appleby's Bar can get fairly busy at weekends so if you are worried about noise you could ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J1DDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#52 of 87 in Torquay
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing