We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #111 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Again!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the 18th-22nd August. We were given room 7 which (we suggest you do not book) at £90.00 per night. It was constantly noisey coming from the attached bar, hen night parties, banging above us, and it was impossible to have a good night's sleep. You could hear people in neighbouring rooms and constant noise from 4 extractor fans attached to the walls below our window.
Overall, this was a terrible experience and utterly spoiled our holiday. I would say, that the breakfast was good.
We told the receptionist , on leaving, all this who just said "sorry"!!!

Room Tip: Don't book any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    94
    41
    30
    26
See reviews for
31
96
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A group of us stayed here while on a stag do, good value and a great bar with a good outside seating area. Nice location but a bit of a walk into town. Would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluepoppybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Heritage at the beginning of August 2014. From the start the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were above average and excellent value. The inclusive breakfast was big and very welcome. All in all we were very pleased and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at The Heritage for 3 nights in August on a lads weekend and was very impressed considering the price. The staff were fantastic, very helpful and very friendly. The rooms are big and spacious and clean. The bar area is excellent and the outside seating was great when the sun was shining, the view is awesome. Also enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi to relax. All in all very pleased and def better than I was expecting.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirbsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel now quite a lot in the past two weeks and I will be staying there quite a lot at the end of the month as we have just opened a new restaurant just down the road from the hotel, and I must say I had the best nights sleep ever and cannot find one thing wrong with the heritage. The staff are very friendly and very helpful also outgoing in every way. The small but quint leisure facility is very nice to have a swim,jacuzzi or a sauna after a long day in the kitchen and would not hesitate to always stay there when I visit Torquay.
Thank you staff see you end of the month

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbillybob766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

All the staff were very courteous and engaged, with all requests, location is A1, only a brisk five minute walk into Torquay, my room was very spacious and clean as was the bathroom. The full English breakfast was spot on, good quality and I asked for warm toast and I got warm toast, excellent. All round I rate the Heritage, great value, great service and good location. Will definitely be staying there when I visit Torquay next.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I did a surprise break for the wife at the Heritage hotel and what a mistake that was. The room was right over the bar and it was filthy. this is a two star hotel but it was in need of an urgent clean and paint job. We are not normally fussy but under the beds in our room was confetti open packets of soap and thick dust. The management said they had a hen party in at the week end but it must have been months ago with the amount of dust that was under there. Fair play to the management as he went and looked and apologized and the room was gleaming when we got back from our walk. The Management need to do more spot checks on the cleaners.
With the room being over the bar we did not get any sleep until after midnight with the amount of noise coming from the bar area.
The food was not up to scratch, i had the Codfather and the batter was burnt and all mushy inside. The wife had Nachos and there was not much taste and very dry. Shame really cos we were starving. The cider helped it go down. The breakfast we had the next morning was very greasy and not very appetizing. and on the second day we had to wait over 25 minutes for the breakfast to arrive and when the waitress brought it she might as well have thrown it at us with the force she put the plates down. We were eating our breakfast when the waitress asked us if we had finished and want to take our stuff away. Not very happy on this.
Not our sort of hotel and we will not stay there again. Shame really cos it is in a great location and some of the staff were really pleasant. Others let it down.
People need to be warned if staying in rooms 19 & 20 as they are right over the bar and during nice weather it is very noisy.
Torquay is a lovely area and we will be returning but i am afraid to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, Avoid rooms 19 & 20 unless you like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigers7446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing