We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bute Court(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kistor(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
85
102
46
31
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
102
46
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastsky tvstag weekendfree car parkfull englishtown centreswimming poolshort staygood sizelick of paintroom was largedouble beddefinitely stay here againbar pricesrooms were very cleansea frontstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2010

All the staff were very welcoming, friendly and informative. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with lovely sea view and in a good location being close to all amenities. The added bonus was the indoor pool which was most welcome after plenty of walking. There was some disturbance from other guests due to the age of the building but this did not detract from a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phylcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We needed a Hotel On the seafront, with sea views, and an indoor swimming pool and that is what we got. The bedroom was large and very comfortable.My Husband enjoyed the spa bath very much. I was able to swim every day and the pool was warm,the sauna hot and the jacuzzi spacious. Granted Appleby's (bar) got a bit hectic at weekends but we were warned when we booked but quite frankly everything was organised beautifully the music stopped at 11pm and as we are both nearer 80 than 70 we enjoyed watching the youngsters partying.The breakfasts were adequate,perhaps some fruit would have been nice.The food served during the day and evenings was well presented and delicious. all in all we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

if you want to be kept up most of the night and pay through the nose for the pleasure this is the hotel for you,room very very dated needs total refurbisment.bathroom dirty bath plug hole filled with hair.downstairs pub has extremely loud music until midnight, then stragglers shouting and talking for another couple of hours.breakfast was the worst ive experienced in the last 30 years.all this and they have the cheek to charge you £80 they should have paid me.this experience has put me off torquay for life,wont be going back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icemannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

2 Night stay in September 2010.
Start with positive - Location is very good and the view from the room was lovely. Breakfast was served fresh and tasty.

Odd Bit - On arrival you have to pay in full for your stay. They have had many issues with none paying clients.

We didnt use the pool so I am unable to comment on this.

Room - Paid £80 per night (inc breakfast) The room itself is OK,, tea and coffee in room, TV & Hairdryer -but it was falling apart! we couldnt close the window fully in our 'suite' as it was broken, but great view. The bathroom was dated and fittings slightly rusted. Shower - hose over bath, was hot or cold with little pressure. I think the price of the room is excessive for the quality of the room & hotel.

Our main issue - Applebys Bar - Hen and Stag parties meant the bar was extremely full.
On one evening there was a huge fight with glasses being thrown which spread out to the car park and a mass of policecars, not quite what I had expected when I was booking a romantic weekend!

We wont be visiting this hotel again, this hotel has potential but the bar is only for those wanting a lively, boozy time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanburyCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Location is perfect & views from the Balmoral Suite stunning! 5 minutes walk from both railway station & town centre. However 'the suite' has passed it's best! The bed, furniture & carpets were dated & tired looking. The bathroom suite is a lovely 70's avocado green shade with a shower curtain!! The bar staff despite also being hotel reception staff too didn't recognise we were hotel residents & ignored us at the bar as she was too busy chatting to locals! Applebys is a bar attached to the hotel which seems to ignore under age drinkers unless I'm just getting old! On the plus all music/karaoke ends at 11pm.Breakfast good & staff friendly. I couldn't wait to move on to our next B&B as it was 5* & £5 per night cheaper than the Heritage?! Pool ok, but sauna only big enough for two so you have to wait your turn! Spa changing area also tired & shabby - I wouldn't pay a membership fee here.
In short if you're looking for somewhwer to lay your head with some of the best views then stay here but I'd say 3 nights max!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquis4831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews