We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YMCA not a hotel”
Review of Travelodge Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Torquay
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was the 3rd Travelodge we have stayed in and have now decided they are all as poor as each other - so never again, Location is not too bad with rail and bus services right outside. The rooms are basic and furniture has been so pared down it would be hard to see what else could be reduced, There is one hanging rail with hangers a small desk and plastic chair, The bedside table consists of a cup sized recess in the headboard. The headboard only reaches half way up your back so uncomfortable to sit to watch TV. The bathroom is tiny and the bath is child sized. The very small window to the room makes the place feel dark - more like a prison cell. On the plus side the bathroom was bright.
There is inadequate parking which they charge £3 a day for, Once you have a space don't take the car out during the day or you will not get back on the car park. As we left we spotted a couple of cars blocked in by other cars which couldn't find a space. The problem would be the hotel parking is run by a private company so the hotel wont be able to find who was blocking you in.
We looked in the little onsite cafe and decided to go to Sainsbury's for breakfast and the Premier Inn on the sea front for our evening meal.
If you were really on a budget I would suggest the Premier inn or one of the hundreds of local guest houses in the area

Room Tip: I think a good room probably does not exist
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derbymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Torquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

great hotel great staff would stay here again really good for public transport quiet and well maintained torquay was great rooms really well kept clean and everything you need for a comfortable stay thanks to all the staff



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

a good clean convenient place to stay, well situated being a short walk from town and most other places in the immediate area, and good staff at the time of our stay, if we visit Torbay again we'd certainly stay here for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Allsort7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed one night, room was small and very basic but the bed was comfy which was a plus. Had to pay £3 to park in their car park, and there was a very limited amount of spaces. Had our evening meal in the dining room, but the food was not very nice. Small plates, soggy chips and dry fish and all the while a TV blasting out music videos. Only good thing was the glass of Australian Shiraz wine we had which was very nice. I skipped breakfast based on our experience the night before, but my husband had it and it was just passable and cost him £8. Will not be staying again.
Oh and the other thing, I needed to "Amend" our booking before we travelled, and spent 2 days trying to do it online, gave up in the end and had to call their 10p a minute phone line. They need to sort out their web site, it was very frustrating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Service at Travelodge Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

It’s great to hear you found our new pocket sprung beds to be comfortable Sue D. It is however regrettable to learn of your disappointment in our Bar Café, our café staff are trained on preparing food to high quality standards so we are sorry to learn you were disappointed in the food provided. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Travel Lodge have obviously upped their game, clean room and bathroom=pleasant stay.
Travel Lodge have obviously upped their game, clean room and bathroom=pleasant stay. Travel Lodge have obviously upped their game, clean room and bathroom=pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Decent Travelodge offering in Torquay. The hotel is a good 15-20 minute walk to the harbour and seafront but is nicely presented an there is plenty of parking. Note, you have to pay for parking and 24 hours costs £3. I had a decent night's sleep and drink at the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mk1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I found this Travelodge to be of a high standard to some of the previous places I have been to. There was a lot of parking spaces as long as you were aware of the parking to the back of the hotel. The only problem that I did have is with our dog, we were put on the first floor and I was worried that any of his pacing would affect the quality of the experience for any of the residents under us. My dog tends to pace a room if it is somewhere new at night and I was worried about this for the other residents but other than that concern I was very pleased with our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful which is always a plus for any hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may need to ask for a room facing the back of the hotel as the front...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resa-Renai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#51 of 87 in Torquay
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Torquay

Address: Newton Rd, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £39 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Torquay 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge has over 460 hotels across the UK and Ireland. We can offer you great value and everything you need for a good night’s sleep wherever you want to go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing