We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB!!”
Review of Cary Arms & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cary Arms & Spa
Ranked #23 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Yet another de Savary triumph! After a stay at Minster Lovell last summer and hearing about the Cary Arms - a place I used to visit when I was a child - we knew it had to be on our list of places to try! We were not disappointed!!
Babbacombe Bay is divine, so quiet and secluded, you would never know that Torquay is near by! The hotel is right on the waters edge, and our suite 'Captains' was just perfect - large balcony overlooking the bay, and enough room for more than just the two of us!!
Delicious food, and friendly staff too! We shall return as soon as we possibly can!

Room Tip: if you want a real treat - book 'Captains'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is very special: nestled into the rock on the English Riviera coast, it almost feels you are being hugged by the sea. I loved it, it felt like going back to the holidays of my childhood.
The staff at the hotel are wonderful, the food delightful, the spa treatment room a must. I would imagine this hotel is as equally lovely in the winter as in the summer. It is very easy to relax here and I will forever remember it for being the venue for my very first game of chess with a large glass of red wine. I hope to repeat the experience with a glass of sherry in front of the fire in the colder months. We will be back, thanks for a wonderful wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Our room was the 'Captain' room, expensive as there were only 2 of us and the room accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Chose the Beach Cottage at Cary Arms for a special birthday celebration to bring the family together for a week by the sea and it proved to be an almost ideal venue. Accommodation, food, facilities and stunning views are all excellent and the staff were attentive, very friendly and caring. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had friends over for the bank holiday from America and we took them here for lunch .Such a lovely venue.Staff polite and attentive , food well presented ,good fish menu (Hake)and lots more fish dishs ,excellent menu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I got married at the Cary Arms in April and it was perfect for the small family wedding we were after. The staff were wonderful and went out of there way to make us feel at home and welcome. This included beds for the dogs and buckets, spades and fishing nets for the kids. The residents area is lovely for relaxing and the pub has a fantastic atmosphere. the views simply speak for themselves, stunning. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cosy wedding venue by the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was lucky enough to be invited by a friend to spend a night at the Cary Arms. Little did I know what a treat we had in store! The Cary Arms just happens to be in one of the most superb locations possible. It's nestled in a bay with ever-changing sea views, beautiful gardens and terraces with wonderful walks which start at the front door. Our room was perfect in every way with those great views across the bay. And we loved having that perfect private terrace.
Add wonderful food to this, then charming, helpful and cheerful staff, and you have the Cary Arms.
We followed breakfast with a massage with hot stones before reluctantly departing. I just can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with the rooms here. Perhaps the ground floor with terraces would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and found the comfort and restfulness of this hotel to be first class. The food is described as "gourmet pub" and it certainly goes beyond that. The many fish options are superb. If you want a break from the hurly burly life this is the hotel to stay at. It is a dog friendly hotel so be prepared to enjoy the company of dog loving folks.

Room Tip: A must is a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,072 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,495 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
907 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Arms & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Arms & Spa

Address: Beach Road, Torquay TQ1 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £147 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cary Arms & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic, boutique 5 star inn privately owned and managed by the de Savary family in the unrivalled location of Babbacombe Bay. There are 10 contemporary, New-England style bedrooms and suites with outstanding sea-view, 6 newly launched Beach Huts and 2 Beach Suites plus 3 restored fisherman's cottages for rental.All have excellent sea views with outdoor decks, balconies or gardens. The atmosphere is luxuriously relaxing and friendly. Head Chef, Ben Kingdon and his team serve the very best of creative, English heritage dishes focusing on local, seasonal ingredients in an informal and relaxed setting. Hearty breakfasts, long lunches and lazy suppers indoors or out on the sun-terraces. Sheltering in its own unsung part of the South Devon Coast, the English Riviera, the inn is accessible by water and has its own moorings. A new Spa with indoor pool and hydrotherapy, experience showers, sauna and treatment rooms will supplement the existing treatment room from October 2016. (check for opening dates). Dog and family friendly. The inn is perfect for those looking for a luxurious and private getaway. It will blow the cobwebs away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Cary Arms & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cary Arms Hotel Torquay
Cary Arms & Spa Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing