We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, recommended”
Review of Seabury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seabury Hotel
Ranked #75 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good value, recommended”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were looking for a last minute booking, having decided on the spur of the moment to have a night away. We booked at 6.30pm and arrived at 8pm. A friendly welcome, shown to our room which was very clean, with everything we needed. The breakfast next morning was excellent, as was the service. All the staff we met were very friendly and we weren't made to feel rushed to leave. Good location for everything we wanted to do as we know the area well. Hopefully we will go back soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    49
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
58
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This summer yet again we chose Torbay and the Seabury Hotel for our main holiday and yet again we had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Seabury.

The hotel really is like home from home the owners who all work in the hotel are really helpful and welcoming. The hotel is in a great location in Babbacombe close to St Marychurch village, Babbacombe Downs and Oddicombe Beach (Use the Cliff Railway!). It is close to an excellent bus route so dump the car and use public transport (Recommend buying a weekly saver which is great value).

The hotel itself is excellent value, some of the rooms and bathrooms are quite small but they are well decorated and very clean, the beds are really comfy and the rooms contain all you need such as digital T.V, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has an excellent bar with reasonably priced drinks and when we stayed in the main season regular entertainment. The hotel has a lovely pool area and garden which is a real sun trap and great for sitting and relaxing and having a quiet beer in the afternoon. The breakfasts are good and the full English can be modified to your choice, just ask the waitress, but if I could make one improvement it would be to have fruit juice and cereal etc. rather than a choice of one or the other. The evening meals are good value, well cooked and enjoyable although some of the vegetable choices were quite strange and for some traditionalists may not be to their taste but the portion sizes are good. The deserts are fantastic and I enjoyed gaining a few pounds during my stay.

We had a great holiday at a hotel which boasts a five star welcome and it certainly does not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shabba3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just back from a week at the Seabury Hotel, on a coach Holiday.
The family who own the Hotel were very helpful and made you feel at home
The rooms are good as are all the staff
The food was very good most of it home made
I would recomend it for anyone looking for a small welcoming hotel

Joy & Geoff Luton, Beds

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Following our late arrival at the Seabury, our fellow coach passengers were told to go straight into the dining room as the staff were waiting to go home. No time to wash our hands or use the toilet. The food served was a very watery soup OR fruit juice, followed by a tasteless cottage pie. The meals hardly improved all week with Salad or White fish Provencale (not as tasty as it sounds) being constants throughout the week with one other choice. Breakfasts consisted of Fruit Juice OR Cereal OR Porridge, English breakfast was ok but contained Beans OR Tomatoes ( not both). What made us feel like second class citizens was the fact that a family sharing our dining room who had booked privately had Beans, Tomatoes and Hash browns with their breakfast and a choice of soups with their evening meal. Many of our fellow guests were of the same opinion, and like us, had to buy meals at lunchtime and snacks in the evening to supplement the poor meals and small portions served. Definitely won't be going again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denisejf, Front Office Manager at Seabury Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
We try to give GOOD value for money to all guests that visit us, we have good reviews on our food that we serve both for quality and quantity I am sorry that these guests felt like a second class citizens , may be the next time they go to a hotel they should go as private guests
and recieve the extras that private guests pay for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

just spent 3 days here with my partner, lovely room, clean and very friendly, the bar area was lovely and the drinks were well priced, the food was what we wanted, well priced and generous portions.if we could complain anything was they shut the bar early, i mean 1230 on a weds far to early.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our 12th year at this hotel and truly overwhelmed by the exceptional service- made to feel like a valued friend as opposed to a paying guest.Nothing was too much trouble. This family run hotel-3 generations of women-caters for all ages,our party ranging in age from 8 to 65 years and unlike some hotels/businesses is truly relaxing & not centered around the bar and the maximising of profits by selling extorborant priced drinks.My 8 year old granddaughter was in tears on leaving as she had such a good time with the owners daughter making time to do some craft work with her.Where else would you get such service? We all felt the food was excellent and more than abundant,and considering we had decided that this would be our last time in Torquay within 2 days we had booked up again for next year such was the quality of our vacation.Would highly recommend this hotel for a truly welcoming,relaxing holiday . Lang may your lum reek,Beti,Denise,Sue,Michael & Daniel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

my partner and i stayed in the seabury in july for the weekend,lovely friendly family run hotel,very helpful at all times, our suitcases were taken to our room by the time we signed in, breakfast was lovely, mark was impressed with the meal times 8.30am breakfast 6.00pm evening meal and each course was served with in minutes of each other, which he thought was excellent,the rooms are cosy and to a high standard we would both recommend the seabury hotel to anyone, and we would definitely go back next time we are in torbay. mark and janine from swansea

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Abbey Lawn Hotel
#62 of 87 in Torquay
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#69 of 150 in Torquay
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#43 of 150 in Torquay
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabury Hotel

Property: Seabury Hotel
Address: 11 Manor Road, Torquay TQ1 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seabury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabury Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing