We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheena A friendly run hotel”
Review of Seabury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seabury Hotel
Ranked #75 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sheena A friendly run hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed for two nights at a very cheap rate so I was not expecting much, I was pleasantly surprised. The family that run this hotel are very friendly. The breakfast was excellent.
The room was clean and comfy, with no noise from outside.
The beautiful beach of Babbacombe is just a 10 minute walk away and good for a winter's evening a local indoor pool is also very close.
I would use this hotel again either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    49
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
58
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed 2 midweek nights in January 2014. Staff very friendly and helpful and agree totally with other reviews that nothing was too much trouble for them.
Accomodation was excellent and hotel being refurbished as well, so will be even better for season.
Loads of space in hotel car park for about 10 cars.
Thoroughly recommend breakfast .
Location was also very good as supermarkets, pubs, cafes, restaurants etc all within 5-10 minutes easy walking with loads of car parks nearby shops etc as well.
Don't usually review hotels but this one is different and thoroughly recommend it to everyone.
Will definitely be staying again when in area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

we went on a turkey and tinsel week at this fantastic hotel very very good service they did more for us than any other hotel ive stayed at nothing was to much trouble for them they got my favourite breakfast pieclips you carnt do better than that can you also the entertainment was very good i carnt wait to return it is home from home

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Only stayed for 3 days but excellent hotel would be even nicer im the summer im sure.very friendly and helpfull.i took my 15month old and they were very nice and accomadating to our needs.lovely family run business x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angharad-wyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As a coach driver, we visit many different types of hotel. On 30 sept 2013 i arrived at the Seabury hotel in Babbacombe for 5 days. The welcome was very warming and friendly. This is a well run family owned hotel. Food was always piping hot and wholesome. Lovely rooms. Great helpful staff. and an outdoor pool !!!
(especially Daniel my personal traffic cop) . Sue, Denise and family were always on hand to give help and advice to the guests. The entertainment we had on the middle evening was fantastic. Peter Baffles is a top class entertainer not to be missed.
If any tour companies are looking for a cozy, friendly one coach hotel then visit the Seabury.
Keep up the good work gang.. Hope to see you again in 2014.
Dave

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaina,s.wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

stayed aug.23 to 26 2013 . Arrived very early and called in mainly for a comfort brake ,as expected the room was not ready but this was not a problem as we expected this. Then went for lunch and returned at the advertised book in time , long wait for door to be answered( this was a theme we noticed for all new arrivels). shown to our room only to find it was a twin not the double we booked when we informed staff of this they showed us their booking list in which our double had been changed to twin ,just glad that we brought our own copy so there was no argument.was told that there had been a staff fight and one had left and they were a bit disorganised because of this and a double was not available.In the spirit of this we agreed to take the twin and push the beds together.What upset us was that during our stay at least 2 doubles were unused for two of the nights and we were not even offered a token of recompence(pint or bottle of wine ,evening meal would have been nice).the room itself was basic, the flush was broken with the lid lifting when flushed,the chrome fittings in the shower were starting to rust and the hot cold directions were written in felt pen.towel left in shower tray to be changed was just hung back on the shower curtain,and no replacement soap during our stay.Attended the bar on the first evening and had to call the lady from her private quarters to serve us each time we went to the bar as she was more interested in her stitching than us ,did not go to the bar again.Over all a lot of little hiccups that spoiled our time with them.hope that this review will push them to correct these issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denisejf, Owner at Seabury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
So sorry that you have felt the need to make this response,we in fact offered you a king sized bed as the twin that you had zip and linked .(making the king size) you said that it was no problem and to leave it. so that was your choice.The unused beds that you saw had been booked and their stay run into yours so we could not use them.
Arrival time is after 2.30 pm and to gain entry and book in guest must ring the bell, sometimes our guests will have to wait a short time ,if we are dealing with other guests or seeing guests to rooms we cannot be in two places at once ,so 20/30 seconds wait is not out off the ordinary , we will not have our front door open thus letting anybody free entry ) there have been many robberies in hotels where strangers have gained access without anybody knowing, so we consider this a small inconvenience
for safety reasons..once booked in you have a key for your use while staying with us.
I explained at breakfast on one morning THAT breakfast would be a bit slow as the waitress had left with no notice.
All of our showers and rooms have refurbs on a regular basis and this room is on our list in the next couple of weeks, soaps are only given on the first night we are a two star hotel and do not charge for the extras that bigger more expensive hotels do .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel with my brother in law and his wife recently at the end of august.This hotel was used as part of a coaching package.Our overall view of this hotel was good, this was taking into account the small amount of money they must have been getting from the coach operator.There was a choice at breakfast and evening dinner,both served by waitress service.The rooms were adequate in size,kept clean,tidy and replenished with tea and coffee.The showers were small,just fitted in,mira controls for showers were good.they had a bar until eleven,outside pool,heated and refurbished.Last and most importantly the staff were very customer friendly and helpfull with any problems or enquires. I would stay here again,as for the reasons mentioned.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Abbey Lawn Hotel
#63 of 87 in Torquay
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#69 of 150 in Torquay
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#43 of 150 in Torquay
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabury Hotel

Property: Seabury Hotel
Address: 11 Manor Road, Torquay TQ1 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seabury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabury Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing