We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and in need of T.L.C.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oddicombe Hall Hotel
Ranked #141 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of T.L.C.”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Yes, the seaviews are amazing BUT if you want a clean modern hotel this is not for you !!!! The friendly staff mentioned on previous reviews were absent on our visit !!!!! The shower broke and was apparently fixed and we were reassured once the water had re heated all would be well but it wasn't.

Yes, the breakfast was good - my elderly mothers accommodation did have wheelchair access and a walk in shower but it was dated and in need of some TLC.

The gardens could be lovely if only someone took care and time to tidy up.

Room Tip: Try elsewhere !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woodycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

You could pay many times more than we did for the stunnng view - £60 a night for a sea view room - so can't complian at all about that. Nice breakfast and pleasant staff too. Hotel was rather basic though and there was a worrying lack of fire instructions/exits in our room. Also only a couple of small opening windows so this room is likely to get very hot in summer (if we ever have a summer!).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here with my partner for two days. The hotel is in a lovely tranquil location on Babbacombe Downs with sea views out over to Exmouth and Brixham. Excellent value for money at £25.00 each as every room has a view of the sea. Something you won't find in many hotels inTorquay! Good breakfast and friendly staff. Don't expect luxury but shabby chic in the main hotel rooms. Book it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My family of 16, ages ranging from 17 to 70, one of whom is a wheelchair user, have just had a lovely weekend in Oddicombe hall. Owner John, and staff were very accomodating, rearranging and adding beds to suit our needs. We were allowed to use dining/sitting room for our family get together and party. Rooms were clean, bedding spotless and pure white. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order, and plenty of it. The only thing missing was the lack of fresh fruit, or any fruit. But this is a basic B&B and reasonably priced, so not really a complaint. All bedrooms have a sea view, and its a beautiful view. The hotel DOES accept credit cards. Would recommend staying here to any age group, and also those with a disability, as some rooms have wet rooms and grab rails. Cliff railway two minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel is in an excellent position with outstanding views and very near to bus stops for ease access to Torquay, Teignmouth etc.
The room was fine and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent, nicely cooked and nicely presented thanks to Keith.
The only downside would be that this hotel does not accept Credit Cards but cheques and cash but we found it personally no problem so long as you are made aware of it in advance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed here for one night. it was meant to be 2 but fortunately we didn't have the cash on the first night. They do not take cards.
The room was spacious and not too bad apart from plentiful cobwebs on the chandelier. The view was great.
The whole place in its entirety looked a bit shabby and in need of a thorough clean.
We were glad to escape the next day as the noise from outside (mopeds tearing up and down , peoples voices carrying, the binmen at 5am and then some obnoxious man who was litter picking shouting at a dog walker as well as having his car radio blaring at 7.30am) I think some double glazing would go some way to counteracting this problem.
The room in which breakfast was served is used throughout the day as a tearoom and the heat rings from cups etc. were still imprinted on the semi -plastic tablecloths. Breakfast was very nice however and plenty of it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shropsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#103 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#102 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddicombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddicombe Hall Hotel

Property: Oddicombe Hall Hotel
Address: Oddicombe Hall Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Oddicombe Hall Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing