We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tinsel and turkey 14th january rita c”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just come back from a very enjoyable weekend. Cannot fault this hotel ,staff, food ,entertainment all excellent. Met lots of great people who were all very pleased
with the hotel and quite a few had been several times before. Looking forward to going back
in march for the forties weekend with our coach party

Many Thanks

Room Tip: sea facing rooms are quiet plus lovely views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rita156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you . And great to see you returning. We really try to make the hotel better each time, so looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

we have been befor and had a great time the staff can not be faulted they go out of there way to make sure you are happy the food is great the hotel is warm and clean i can not recomend them highy enough this time was turkey and tinsel what great decorations
great entertainment our coach driver was great i must say i had an upset nothing to do with the hotel but they all did all they could to help me any one that says they had a bad stay do not know what they are talking about all in all great hotel great staff great food great entertainment and great value what more do you wont

Room Tip: all the rooms are good but i loved room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Glad you had a great time. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Have just returned from 4 days and everything has been fantastic Clean,warm rooms,modern spotless bathroom.Food excellent,entertainment very good especially the dancing girls in their spectacular costumes.The staff were hard working and even joined in with the entertainers..It was also very good value Thanks .

Room Tip: cannot say-the rooms we were given were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Happy to say all the rooms are now refurbished. Thank you for your review and we will make every effort to ensure a great stay when you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Just returned from the hotel and had a nice time. Good trips out on the coach while we were there. Food was really nice and the waiting staff were really freindly. Entertainment was excellent and Chris Chaplin was so funny.
Our bedroom was nicely decorated and big also the bathroom was large. The staff are all freindly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel looking over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank afternoonrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you for the great review. The team were really chuffed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Went to the Templestone Sat night 19th Novem 2011 for our local club dinner and dance.I cannot comment on the rooms as it was a dinner only. For anyone who is looking for a venue this christmas with a large party you cannot go wrong with this hotel.Our party was approx 150 people and considering the ammount the food and service was excellent.Choice of three starters/three main meals/three sweets.The entertainment was very good but it must be impossible to cater for everyones individual taste. as some of our party found the entertainment not to their liking.


John and Sue Torquay

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank suej0hnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you for coming for our pre-Christmas meal. We love our Turkey Tinsel themeing and try to make it something special. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have just had another enjoyable hoilday. This was our 6th visit back over the last couple of years. It caters for thoes who like a good time. Staff cannot be faulted food very good our room again was spotlessly clean. Entertainment was very good we look forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2015

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

the hotel is so dated, our party has just spent the weekend there.the first night (friday) some people were still waiting at the bar to be served a hour after the free bar was opened,there was only one person tending the bar,no wonder they offer a free bar when the service is so slow.it seems a deliberate ploy to save their money, service in the dining room was very lax and the food mediocre, our sunday night meal of roast beef was served with of all things pickled cabbage with gravy whoever thought of that idea it was revolting the entertainment was exactly the same as last year the same acts,saturday night's singer keith brown was dire, the sunday night show was exactly the same format so old fashioned it was like being stuck in a time warp.it is not a cheap weekend by any means, so if you do not want to be stuck in a hotel that needs dragging into the 21st century i suggest you try another hotel,our party will not be going there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am sorry that the Templestowe did not meet your expectations. We have been running free bar holidays for some time now and have never had guests waiting for a long length of time in order to be served. We always have plenty of bar staff on duty to enable us to serve 150 guests in house comfortably.
We are renowned for our fantastic entertainment with guests returning just to see our acts perform. I am surprised that you did not enjoy the acts as they are all very popular and vary each break.
In regards to the food, our Head Chef and his team work very hard to ensure that the food is of a very high standard and the red cabbage you are referring to is a popular side dish. I wish you had brought your concerns to the Restaurant Manager who would have been happy to try and rectify any issues for you.
I hope that you to continue to travel with Majestic Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing