We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Templestowe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Richwood(Torquay)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elmington Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$95
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
436
133
37
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
436
133
37
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barfirst classsteve laistermajestic toursexcellent entertainmentsummer sizzlerrock n rollself drivecoach driverturkey and tinselentertainment managerthemed weekendbrilliant weekendour waitersea viewweekend breakevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I have now stayed here about six times, each time self drive. This time, weekend of the 1st June, most unusually, it was mainly self drive and for the first time the large car park was full. There is however, if you are lucky free car parking about 100 metres away or a 24hrs car park at £2.50 for 24hrs.
As usual,the accommodation was scrupulously clean and although one cannot vouch the 'decorative' standard of every room we have never had one that was less than expectation. The meals are always excellent and although meal times are restricted to two alternate proscribed meal times they are so arranged to allow flexible seating for the always excellent entertainment.
ALL of the staff go out of their way to be friendly, helpful and efficient. It says something for management that the staff rarely seem to change and it does very much gives the appearance that they really do wish to do the very best for the customer.

Room Tip: It is likely that rooms with a sea view are superior.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekender60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your delightful review. So many of our guests return time after time, which is so, satisfying, for all the Templestowe team. The majority of the staff have been with the Templestowe for many years and all of us are happy to receive your comments.
All our rooms should be fully refurbished by the end of the year, in order for them all to be of the same high standard.
As self-drive holidays are becoming more popular, parking spots at the Templestowe are limited however we are lucky as you mentioned to have free street parking close to the hotel along with the excellent value car park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another entertainment packed holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

3 nights for £99.00. What a bargain! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The food was good and the entertainment was first class. Stagedoor Johnnies - what a performance. The most I have ever laughed! Have no hesitation in returning to the Templestowe hotel. In fact I have already booked.

Room Tip: corner rooms are large and sunny - if the sun is shining
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Many thanks for your review and I am thrilled to hear that you have already booked your return visit. I look forward to seeing you soon for another entertainment packed break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Have just returned from the 5 dayDiamond Jubilee Special. Well looked after from the time we stepped off the coach. Lovely clean room, excellent food, great entertainment, topped off with a 99p. bar! Little disappointed at lack of hot food at lunchtime, especially as the weather was so bad, but overall, an excellent 5 days. Have also been to the "We'll meet again" and Turkey& Tinsel and will certainly be going again!

Linda & Derek Hine, Southampton

Room Tip: If limited mobility, try to stay on ground floor as there is only one lift which is sometimes very busy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday with us. To enable the kitchen staff to have a little more time with their families we do not offer hot food on specific days when the coaches are on full day excursions, however sandwiches are available. We have added extra dates for our “Well Meet Again” break and have some fantastic entertainment lined up. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just on our 6th time at the Templestowe, as always good entertainment, great food, staff very friendly & helpful ( nothing too much trouble). The rooms are very comfortable & always clean ( as they are cleaned daily) . The Jubilee themed street party is great , buffet dinner was good (lots of food ). Would recommend anybody to go for relaxing, stress free holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hem1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Many thanks for your complimentary review. I will pass on your comments on to the Housekeeping team who work extremely hard along with the other staff, to ensure all our guests are satisfied. I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Templestowe for your 7th time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Enjoyed my recent stay at the templestowe Hotel. Rooms were clean & bright.
Was caught out by the single six o'clock eveing meal setting, expecting there to be a couple of hours available to guests.
Weekend package included a 'free bar', consisting of beers, lagers, wine & spirits. Splits & bottled soft drinks were extra, but all ok when you know what is and isn't included.
Decor is a bit dated, but position for access to the town is ideal. Some rooms to the rear of the hotel have distant sea view.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Many thanks for your recent review; I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are investing a further half a million pounds into the hotel which will enhance the public areas along with the on-going room refurbishment.
To allow time for our fantastic nightly entertainment programme, early dinner sittings are favourable, we have two sittings in order to serve all our guests to a high standard.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Templestowe Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews