We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“self drive week-end”
Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
GreenLeadersSilver level
bridgwater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“self drive week-end”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel was one of the best we have stayed at (June 8th to June 11th) The Staff were so friendly and helpful (all of them) The food was good and always hot with quite a good choice. The room we had was large with a good shower room (as the wife is disabled) this was a god send and as for the Entertainment (that was mostly STAFF) it was top rate and well worth seeing.The prices at the bar was not a rip off. My only complaint was sunday lunch time they had no brown bread to make a sandwich.As for coming back it is on the top of our list so will BE BACK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your brilliant review, I am so please that you had a wonderful holiday and really look forward to welcoming you back. I apologise for the lack of brown bread, I have spoken to our Head Chef who will be increasing our supplies. The majority of our bedrooms now have spacious walk in showers and we always suggest that guests telephone the hotel in advance with any special requests. I hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    122
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
84
194
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over the Jubillee weekend. The room was spacious with a view over Torbay. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was soooooo good with such a choice. Dinner was good too. I am a "fussy eater" but found d something I liked from the given choice. I was expecting the entertainment to be a bit "naff" but was surprised at the professionalism of the various acts. They were very entertaining. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveladdict054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Templestowe Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and will be passing your comments on to the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here for the "Summer Sizzler Weekenders" June 8th to June 11th .It was my wife and my first visit but it will not be the last. The entertainment put on each night was possible the best there is in Devon. There are hotel workers that put on a far better show than a lot of professionals that we have seen. Are room was very clean with a great bathroom with walk in shower. The food at every meal was excellent with the waiting staff going the extra mile to satisfy your needs. The bar is well stocked with reasonable prices The stall through out the hotel are so friendly and helpful. I would say that you will not find a better value week-end with better entertainment and food anywhere in the south west. Will be back very soon. Thank you for a unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simannegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday with us. Our entertainment team work extremely hard and enjoy every minute performing, so will be delighted to hear your comments. I will also pass on your comments to the rest of the hotel team and we will look forward to welcoming you back for another entertainment packed break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just got back from yet another brilliant holiday at the Templestow. As usual the rooms were spotless.The food was excellent.The staff were there usual helpful and friendy selves. The Jubilee street party was way be on expectations. Once again thanks to Liz and her team for another wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Many thanks for your review; I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Jubilee celebrations. All the staff will be pleased with your comments and I looked forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We just got back from a Majestic coach trip to the Templestowe hotel. The rooms are large, very clean, bathroom spotless, food was fairly good throughout the whole stay, and all staff is exceptionally friendly. The hotel is just walking distance from the centre of Torquay, and there currently is a massive discount on ferry trips to Brixham, for £2 return. It takes half an hour each way. Brixham is a very pretty fishing village, lovely shops and fresh crab sandwiches galore! We also enjoyed a walk to Cockington village just outside Torquay, lovely thatched cottages nestled in massive woodlands and surrounded by lakes. The place to enjoy a Devon cream tea!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and were able to see many of the sites Torbay has to offer including sampling the scrumptious Devon cream teas. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I have now stayed here about six times, each time self drive. This time, weekend of the 1st June, most unusually, it was mainly self drive and for the first time the large car park was full. There is however, if you are lucky free car parking about 100 metres away or a 24hrs car park at £2.50 for 24hrs.
As usual,the accommodation was scrupulously clean and although one cannot vouch the 'decorative' standard of every room we have never had one that was less than expectation. The meals are always excellent and although meal times are restricted to two alternate proscribed meal times they are so arranged to allow flexible seating for the always excellent entertainment.
ALL of the staff go out of their way to be friendly, helpful and efficient. It says something for management that the staff rarely seem to change and it does very much gives the appearance that they really do wish to do the very best for the customer.

Room Tip: It is likely that rooms with a sea view are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekender60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your delightful review. So many of our guests return time after time, which is so, satisfying, for all the Templestowe team. The majority of the staff have been with the Templestowe for many years and all of us are happy to receive your comments.
All our rooms should be fully refurbished by the end of the year, in order for them all to be of the same high standard.
As self-drive holidays are becoming more popular, parking spots at the Templestowe are limited however we are lucky as you mentioned to have free street parking close to the hotel along with the excellent value car park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another entertainment packed holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

3 nights for £99.00. What a bargain! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The food was good and the entertainment was first class. Stagedoor Johnnies - what a performance. The most I have ever laughed! Have no hesitation in returning to the Templestowe hotel. In fact I have already booked.

Room Tip: corner rooms are large and sunny - if the sun is shining
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Many thanks for your review and I am thrilled to hear that you have already booked your return visit. I look forward to seeing you soon for another entertainment packed break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Property: Templestowe Hotel
Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Family Hotel in Torquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing