We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Templestowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Templestowe Hotel
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just returned from four night break. Hotel is clean and comfortable, although in need of a little tlc here and there with regard to decoration. Our rooms were spotless, as were the bathrooms which had obviously just been renovated. As we left and doors to other bedrooms were left open, we realised just how lucky we had been. So, obviously some rooms/bathrooms still to be renovated. Food was really good, with a good choice. It was a shame that our waitress spent most of her time talking to one couple at the end of our table who we noticed were always served before us and often had double portions!!! In the end, we helped ourself to another coffee at breakfast as it was never offered, as we noticed it was on other tables. But, having said that, she was very pleasant and helpful when she did serve us.
The entertainment was superb! In fact the entertainment team belonging to the hotel itself was far superior to outside entertainers on the Thursday night. Paul Copley on the Wednesday evening was brilliant. Tickets to Babbacombe Theatre on the Tuesday evening were included and that was a very good evening.
We were disappointed to find the swimming pool closed at 5pm, when we were looking forward to a swim before dinner when we returned from a day out. It was advertised as being open from 7am till 7pm.
We enjoyed our stay and we would recommend this hotel to some people, but it is definitely for over 60's. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
One matter - out of control of hotel - but we hardly slept because of the noise of the seagulls! I think this was worse at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a good holiday with us enjoying the abundance of entertainment we provide. The show team will be ecstatic to hear your comments as well as the rest of the Templestowe Team, whom all work extremely hard meeting all our guests’ needs.
The swimming pool is open May to September and is open from 7.00 am until 7.00 pm only closed for cleaning during these hours. Had you brought the pools closure to one of the staffs attention, they would have happily opened the pool for you if cleaning had been completed.
By the end of the year we will have completed the refurbishment of all our eighty-seven bedrooms and the rest of the hotel is heavily being invested in which I am sure will enhance your next visit with us. Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    120
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
81
189
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Four of us stayed hear for a long weekend and had a great time. The rooms were nice ours was clean and tidy lots of hot water for baths and washing , tea making facility TV only had 5 chanels but I didn't go to watch TV . The food was excelent and so were all the staff and the entertainment was brilliant, couldn't fault any of it had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Linda
Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and will pass on your comments to all of the Templestowe team. We have lots of brand new shows and menus lined up over the next couple of months so I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Just got back, thank God! After reading the other reviews I was really looking forward to this break. How wrong can you be! The Hotel is "Nice" rooms spotlessly clean and well serviced. Spotless bathroom and daily maid service, what more could you ask. But the food! well, if you like luke warm/cold food you are in luck. Menu choices were reasonable, always with a fish/vegitarian option, but it was very much "School dinners" Over cooked cabbage, concrete carrots, soggy leek, swede, - need I say more. The starters were very good, though portion size and description of what you actually got, was somewhat misleading. I am sure they have never even heard of "Hot coffee"!
Our coach driver, Esmond, was wonderful, even though he had bronchitis, he did his job without fault, always helpful, polite and well presented.
As for the "In house" entertainment - well, the comedian was good, but the singers were too loud and one poor lady sat near us, with hearing aids, switched them off and then plugged her ears with tissue to block out the noise! Even people in the foyer area were complaining!
Will never do Majestic tours again to Torquay or this hotel. What a let down, glad to get home!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best, if you are on the front of the hotel, you are roadside at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.
At the Templestowe we always strive to provide customers with an enjoyable stay and I am happy to hear that you found our premier rooms comfortable and clean and will pass on your comments to the housekeeping department.
I apologise that on this occasion you found the food below our usual high standards, but be assured that this has been investigated to ensure it does not happen again. We have new menus for next month which again offer high-quality produce will lots of choice for all our guests.
Our entertainment programme offers quality entertainment, our host would have been happy to have adjusted the acts volume if it had been brought to their attention.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay so thank you again for your review; we sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Templestowe Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

me and my family r going here monday we have gone here now for years we wont go to any other hotel as this hotel allways manages to put on great shows great food in hotel in face everything i had to pick the year on here 4 reviewing as drop down menu wouldent go back to last year. seen some great shows here over the years stagedoor johhnies steve laister dean winters barri b chris chaplin vic morgan really looking 4 ward 2 it the managresss is fantastic and does everything possible to ensure ur catered for looking so 4 ward to monday now cant wait to get back here. the only 1 bug bear i have is going home end of week as i dont want to leave but now its round again im over the moon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Templestowe. We have some great shows lined for the week and I am sure you will have another great holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgwater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel was one of the best we have stayed at (June 8th to June 11th) The Staff were so friendly and helpful (all of them) The food was good and always hot with quite a good choice. The room we had was large with a good shower room (as the wife is disabled) this was a god send and as for the Entertainment (that was mostly STAFF) it was top rate and well worth seeing.The prices at the bar was not a rip off. My only complaint was sunday lunch time they had no brown bread to make a sandwich.As for coming back it is on the top of our list so will BE BACK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your brilliant review, I am so please that you had a wonderful holiday and really look forward to welcoming you back. I apologise for the lack of brown bread, I have spoken to our Head Chef who will be increasing our supplies. The majority of our bedrooms now have spacious walk in showers and we always suggest that guests telephone the hotel in advance with any special requests. I hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over the Jubillee weekend. The room was spacious with a view over Torbay. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was soooooo good with such a choice. Dinner was good too. I am a "fussy eater" but found d something I liked from the given choice. I was expecting the entertainment to be a bit "naff" but was surprised at the professionalism of the various acts. They were very entertaining. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveladdict054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Templestowe Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and will be passing your comments on to the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here for the "Summer Sizzler Weekenders" June 8th to June 11th .It was my wife and my first visit but it will not be the last. The entertainment put on each night was possible the best there is in Devon. There are hotel workers that put on a far better show than a lot of professionals that we have seen. Are room was very clean with a great bathroom with walk in shower. The food at every meal was excellent with the waiting staff going the extra mile to satisfy your needs. The bar is well stocked with reasonable prices The stall through out the hotel are so friendly and helpful. I would say that you will not find a better value week-end with better entertainment and food anywhere in the south west. Will be back very soon. Thank you for a unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simannegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizHotel, General Manager at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday with us. Our entertainment team work extremely hard and enjoy every minute performing, so will be delighted to hear your comments. I will also pass on your comments to the rest of the hotel team and we will look forward to welcoming you back for another entertainment packed break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templestowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Property: Templestowe Hotel
Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing